How can I have Apple Lossless in iTunes, Apple Lossy in iPod - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Portable Electronics: Digital Cameras, Camcorders, ebook Readers, iPods, MP3 Players and GPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-11-14, 01:03 PM   #16
Dog Byte
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 863
Default

iTunes 7 added support for multiple libraries. Then you can have a lossless library for home and a lossy version for iPods. On the Mac hold the Option key when starting iTunes and on the PC hold the Shift key when starting iTunes. You get a dialog to open or create a library.

I have iTunes in my Start menu and <shift> iTunes doesn't do squat but Start -> All Programs -> iTunes -> <shift> iTunes does work. Apparently a desktop icon works too but I don't use those.

A search of "itunes multiple libraries" finds all sorts of stuff. Having lossless and lossy libraries is a common use of this feature.
Dog Byte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-11-14, 01:07 PM   #17
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,584
Default

Dog Byte, I know, see Post #4.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website and have disabled private messaging. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 02:16 PM   #18
blueroomelectro
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 773
Default

This may be helpful http://jonsview.com/2007/10/16/itune...ossless-to-aac
blueroomelectro is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 02:30 PM   #19
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,584
Default

blueroomelectro, thanks, the author's issue is identical to mine and I actually found Doug's scripts the other day in my research but its only for Mac!

Thanks again though!

I have come to the conclusion that there is no way to do this on Windows.

It really is sad because Apple is supposedly praying at the alter of "ease of use" and yet itunes can't do what many WMA/MP3 players and software have been doing for years.

P.S. I'm not trying to Apple Bash, I'm just frustrated!
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website and have disabled private messaging. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 02:35 PM   #20
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,584
Default

FWIW, I essentially have two workarounds:

First, creating two smart playlists - One for lossless and one for lossy and not use the Genius feature.

Second, Create two libraries with all the hassles I mentioned in earlier posts and be able to use the Genius feature
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website and have disabled private messaging. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 02:39 PM   #21
Dog Byte
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 863
Default

Well, it was new to me. Never mind.

I don't understand Apple's lack of support of iTunes. It's an enormous opportunity to show Windows users "the Apple way". Instead it's a half-assed buggy application that actually keeps some people from buying iPods (which is a whole other issue).
Dog Byte is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 07:46 PM   #22
Sugith
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 207
Default Thanks!

blueroomelectro, thanks for posting that link for the Applescript that can do this! Much appreciated.
Sugith is offline  
Old 2008-11-15, 05:37 PM   #23
kingb71
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog Byte View Post
Well, it was new to me. Never mind.

I don't understand Apple's lack of support of iTunes. It's an enormous opportunity to show Windows users "the Apple way". Instead it's a half-assed buggy application that actually keeps some people from buying iPods (which is a whole other issue).
It shouldn't stop people from buying iPod's.
I've had an iPod for over a year now & have never ever once installed iTunes, and plan on never doing so.
I rip my cd's with a properly configured EAC & transfer with Sharepod.
I use VLC to play so don't need iTunes to do that for me.
kingb71 is offline  
Reply

Tags
apple, itunes, lossless, lossy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.