How can I have Apple Lossless in iTunes, Apple Lossy in iPod - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Portable Electronics: Digital Cameras, Camcorders, ebook Readers, iPods, MP3 Players and GPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-11-12, 12:47 PM   #1
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default How can I have Apple Lossless in iTunes, Apple Lossy in iPod

My situation:

I have all my CDs ripped to WMA lossless format. This year I got an iPod Touch and Apple TV so now I am using iTunes. The result is I am now in the process of ripping all the CD's again to Apple Lossless.

I prefer lossless because I am playing these songs over my stereo and want the best possible sound.

So my question is:

How can I create a library of Lossy versions for transfer to my iPod touch or can I somehow have a lossy version automatically created when I transfer songs to my touch?
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-11-12, 12:58 PM   #2
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

Okay so from my research it seems I am out of luck. It sounds like I will essentially have to take every song in the library and then re encode in say AAC 128k or 256k by doing the following:
  • Goto edit preferences.
  • Click on the General Tab
  • Click on the import settings
  • Set the import dropdown to AAC encoder and the preferred bitrate
  • Highlight all my Lossless song in itunes and righmouse click
  • Click on Create _________ Version where ________ is the bitrate I set in the encoder.

The result would be duplicates of every song: one in lossless and one in lossy format.

This seems really ridiculous because now it screws up my library and presumably would screw up genius.

Help!
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-12, 01:30 PM   #3
QuickSilver
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,197
Default

Would having 2 libraries be a problem? I have 4 personally.
QuickSilver is online now  
Old 2008-11-12, 01:48 PM   #4
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

With multiple libraries, I guess I would put all my lossless music in one library and lossy music in another. I guess I would stuff all the podcasts and applications in the lossy library because they are for use on the iPod

But what about Video. I want my video available to Apple TV, iPod and iTunes so I would want it available to both libraries.

The other thing is when I rip a new CD, wouldn't I have to rip it into each library? I want to rip a bunch of CD's into lossless and then mass convert them to lossy using the right mouse button.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-12, 02:40 PM   #5
QuickSilver
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,197
Default

Well for the ATV it can only sync to 1 library but can stream from up to 5(?) I think.

I do not know a way for you to rip a cd to 2 formats and then have them show up in each library. When i read your 1st post I thought you were going to re-rip all your cd's to Apple Lossless?

I assumed you just wanted that 1 library for transferring to your touch the lossless rips.
QuickSilver is online now  
Old 2008-11-12, 03:25 PM   #6
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

I am ripping all my cds to lossless which I will then convert to lossy in the one library. In future though (when I had 2 libraries) I would have to rip once in each library - correct?


Quote:
I assumed you just wanted that 1 library for transferring to your touch the lossless rips.
As I noted, if it was only music then okay but the podcasts and and video need to be in both which makes in all very complicated.

Ideally, Apple iTunes would be much better if it could create one instance of a song in the library but multiple files suporting it (lossless and lossy). Then you could just say which version to use when. lossless in itunes and lossy when moving to a disc.

I understand the shuffle used to have software that would convert lossless to lossy. I think this should be an option for all iPods then you wouldn't need to worry.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-12, 11:24 PM   #7
e268
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Rogers 8300HD,Sony KDE42XBR950,
Posts: 1,061
Default

My music library is all in FLAC. I also have a mp3 library in my Walkman phone.

Yesterday, I needed to encode an album in mp3 for my walkman phone. Instead of ripping that album again, I imported the FLAC album into itune, which restored it to wave format, and then encoded it to mp3. My point is that may be you can do the same with wma?

BTW, a more direct way for me is foobar2000, from flac to mp3 in one step.
__________________
Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, i7-920@3.8Ghz
e268 is offline  
Old 2008-11-13, 07:46 AM   #8
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

The last thing I want to do in more encoding. I want all my songs encoded in Apple Lossless and Apple 128. The problem is how to best serve it up.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-13, 10:13 AM   #9
e268
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto, Rogers 8300HD,Sony KDE42XBR950,
Posts: 1,061
Default

Hugh: may be my message is not clear, or I mis understand your problem. What I was trying to get at is that you do not have to rip your cd's again into itune. Just import or drag your wma albums into itune and it will convert to itune lossless.

Mind you, I have not done it myself, I just read about this in internet.
__________________
Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, i7-920@3.8Ghz
e268 is offline  
Old 2008-11-13, 10:31 AM   #10
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

e268, I know all that but that is not my problem!
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 12:57 AM   #11
blueroomelectro
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 792
Default

I've been ripping my CDs using AAC 160K VBR and (make sure error checking is on to get perfect rips)
Quality wise and size wise it's a happy medium for me. Sounds fantastic IMO.
http://www.kenrockwell.com/apple/itunes.htm
blueroomelectro is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 07:33 AM   #12
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

I guess that is interesting but that isn't my problem.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 09:25 AM   #13
hdtvvan
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 335
Default

Hugh.. this is what I do.

I have one library. In that library I have a Playlist called Lossless and one called iPod. So lossless format in one and other formats in the iPod playlist.

Basically you will have 2 versions of each song in the entire library but your playlist is what will differentiate the 2.

When I sync the ipod... it only syncs to the ipod playlist. With ATV you can select whatever you want.

Don't know if that will help you out.
hdtvvan is online now  
Old 2008-11-14, 09:48 AM   #14
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

hdtvvan, that is what I have now. I have multiple playlists for multiple iPods.

The problem is that your library has two entries for every song so it makes searching a pain and presumably scews up Genius.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-14, 12:17 PM   #15
hdtvvan
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 335
Default

"How can I create a library of Lossy versions for transfer to my iPod touch or can I somehow have a lossy version automatically created when I transfer songs to my touch?"

As far as I know there is now way to convert from one format to another during the transfer to the iTouch. With iTunes you need to have the mutliple copies to do what you want to do. Smart Playlists can help in keeping the formats separated and then syncing the various playlists with the various devices but you will always have to have multiple copies.
hdtvvan is online now  
Reply

Tags
apple, itunes, lossless, lossy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.