Lost GPS...can Garmin find it? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Portable Electronics: Digital Cameras, Camcorders, ebook Readers, iPods, MP3 Players and GPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-11-03, 12:14 PM   #1
asif9t9
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,191
Default Lost GPS...can Garmin find it?

I have not owned a GPS unit, so I don't know if you have to register it or something before you can use it.

Someone I know lost their Garmin GPS while on a trip to Florida. Probably left it in the rental car. I don't know the model number or anything. Actually, I heard this second hand, so I don't have any info.

I'm wondering, would Garmin assist in finding the GPS? When you buy it, are you forced to register like a PIN number? Could Garmin disable it at least? Just curious.
asif9t9 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-11-03, 12:22 PM   #2
jvincent
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,429
Default

Unless something has changed, consumer GPS receivers are entirely passive devices, so there's nothing that can be done to disable them unless they get plugged into a computer for upgrades.
jvincent is online now  
Old 2008-11-03, 12:48 PM   #3
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

What jvincent says. This article may be of interest

Why You Can't Track Your Stolen GPS
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2008-11-03, 03:07 PM   #4
asif9t9
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,191
Default

Perfect. Makes sense, for privacy reasons. I'll send that article to my friend.
asif9t9 is online now  
Old 2008-11-03, 11:43 PM   #5
99gecko
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,571
Default

Some Garmin models have a security lock. If you don't enter the correct PIN on boot, it can only be unlocked when the unit is at it's "home" position, or by Garmin.
I assume other manufacturer's have something similar.

As for it's effectiveness as a deterrent.... I skeptical.
99gecko is offline  
Old 2008-11-04, 08:13 AM   #6
dosborne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON - Sharp Aquos 52" LCD - Bell 9200, 4x5900, 3x3100, E50 DVD-R, Harmony 880, Garmin C550
Posts: 2,814
Default

I'd say it would be worth a call/email to Garmin.

As mentioned by the OP, although they can't track it to get it back to you (receiver, not transmitter), they should at least be able to disable updates and even potentially disable the unit (if they connect for an update). This is of course assuming it was registered on the Garmin site (I'd guess it likely was).

The Garmin lock should prevent it from being usable at least by a novice user/thief if it was enabled, although I too have doubts about the protection it would offer anyone serious enough who really wanted to get into the unit.
dosborne is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.