Panasonic PT-53TW54 Doesn't Turn On - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > HDTV: Front and Rear Projection Screens and Televisions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-09-18, 08:36 PM   #1
89lsc4me
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default Panasonic PT-53TW54 Doesn't Turn On

Hello everyone my name is Mike and I am just new to the site. Looks quite busy and informative!! My problem as mentioned is that I turn my tv on as normal and like 10 seconds later I hear it click back off. Then my power button blinks. It blinks 1 time then long pause blinks 1 time then a long pause and so on, so I guess that means 1 blink. I have been told that means somethig but I'll be darned if I can find out what. I have not had a repair guy in cause I want to see if I can get an idea what it could be and a cost so I don't get ripped off!! I appologize to any repair guys here but there are ones out there that try to scam you. Thanks in advance for any and all info.
89lsc4me is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-09-18, 11:38 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,523
Default

Check the operating manual troubleshooting section to see if it says what "one blink" means. Or e-mail panasonic, or call a repair shop.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2008-09-19, 04:08 PM   #3
89lsc4me
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

The manual says nothing, nothing at all. Panasonic told me call a repair guy that they don't offer that kind of info. I was really hoping not to be at the mercy of a repair guy, I at least like to have an idea what I am dealing with. I did call 2 shops and as expected was told bring it in it could be anything!!
89lsc4me is offline  
Old 2008-09-19, 04:54 PM   #4
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,523
Default

Very odd, most shops know what the code means... Perhaps it's such a simple fix that they don't want to tell you, but I really don't know. Perhaps e-mail Panasonic?
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2008-09-19, 10:48 PM   #5
milo
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 139
Default

If you need a reliable Panasonic repair shop (assuming you are in GTA) PM me and I will send you their contact. I used them once for my 36" CRT HDTV and was very happy with service and price. By the way my problem was similar, unit would not turn on at all.
milo is offline  
Old 2008-09-20, 02:27 PM   #6
89lsc4me
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

57 I did e-mail and phone call Panasonic and they don't want to help at all. Milo thanks a bunch but I am in Hamilton/ Stoney Creek, do you remember what your fix was? I think I am going to break down and call a service guy.
89lsc4me is offline  
Old 2008-09-20, 08:09 PM   #7
milo
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 139
Default

My problem was a bad thermistor, the total on site repair came to $225.
The service person came to our house and fixed it in 20 minutes.

I am sure you know but I would talk to them first and try to get an idea how much will it cost.

The tech was an older gentleman and you could see that he new what he was doing.

Now, your issue can be more complicated. The service center by the way is recommended by Panasonic.

It worked for fine at the time me since I paid almost $3000 for this TV back in 2003 (just before plasmas and LCDs started to be affordable).
I still have the TV and I remember tech saying that it should work for many years after this repair (seems like this was a weak point on these TVs).
Good luck!
milo is offline  
Old 2008-09-26, 04:05 PM   #8
89lsc4me
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I have a service person coming to see the tv tonight. I will post results.
89lsc4me is offline  
Old 2009-04-30, 07:53 PM   #9
hockeyforever
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Default 53tw54

Just wondering what the problem was with your tv not turning on?
hockeyforever is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.