Rogers iPhone 3G Owners discussion and review thread - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Rogers Communications > Rogers, Fido and Chatr Wireless

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-04-14, 08:25 PM   #151
polaris
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,314
Default

More battery life and a more powerful processor would help. The phone chugs along at times with the more demanding web pages and games, but overall its pretty good. I have a 16GB and its plenty enough for my music tastes, which is wide, and I have a big library but I dont care to have it all with me anyway. If you will have movies, even 16GB will be smallish.

The camera is fine, it needs a better lens and software package to give us better quality snap shots.

I would wait personally, as it will likely cost the same and you will benefit from the development improvements for the year.
polaris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-04-14, 10:00 PM   #152
jean luc picard
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: \
Posts: 434
Default

for the love of god they better put the camera lens on the front.
jean luc picard is offline  
Old 2009-04-15, 08:46 AM   #153
whitbyterry
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 526
Default

The faster processor might allow Flash objects in the web browser on the phone, that is one thing I really wish I had but that may not be enabled upon launch.

I have a 16 GB phone and I use about half of my storage. I wouldn't be able to hold many movies / TV shows on it so having a 32 GB or larger would be nice but it is not bad.

The newer version of the phone is likely to cost more if they add storage.

Since it is so close to new model possibly being launched, I'd wait to get the details before deciding. If you can wait, great. Remember it involves a 3 year contract so having the newest phone is not a bad thing.
whitbyterry is online now  
Old 2009-06-19, 04:55 PM   #154
timespace
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 41
Default IPhone signal strength

I presently have a Motorola Razr with Telus as my provider. When I am in my house I have to go outside to make a call because the signal strength is weak (no bars). My contract is up soon and I am thinking of getting an Iphone with Rodgers.
I live in South Windsor; can anyone who has an Iphone or has Rodgers in South Windsor tell me what their signal strenth is indoors. I want to discontinue my landline and go wireless if I can.
timespace is offline  
Old 2009-06-27, 11:50 AM   #155
stationg
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,210
Default jailbreak and contacts etc?

Has anyone jailbroken their 3.0 yet? I just went through all the steps and seem to have it done properly BUT I have lost contacts etc?

Do I need to resynch? I also get this message on itunes about setting up my new phone? or restore?

Sorry I am confused
__________________
Optik PVR, Pioneer 1528-K, 58" Panasonic 3D TV, Xbox360, PS3, Panasonic 3D Bluray Player, Definitive Speakers, SVS Sub
stationg is offline  
Old 2009-06-27, 04:12 PM   #156
polaris
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,314
Default

hmm usually info stays on the phone with a jailbreak, but just resync I guess.
polaris is offline  
Old 2009-06-27, 10:59 PM   #157
Nuje
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: A charted un-desert isle
Posts: 2,465
Default

Anyone notice on a 3g 3.0 with jailbreak that things are a little more sluggish?

Once I'm in an app, things seem to move reasonably well, but there's lots of times when a tap from the home screen doesn't seem to register for up to 10 seconds.

I jailbroke with Pwnage Tool on my Mac, then RESTORED FROM BACKUP of phone (settings, music, mail accounts, etc. etc.).
Nuje is offline  
Old 2009-07-12, 05:46 PM   #158
canabiz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Folks, can you bring your iPhone overseas and continue to use the built-in GPS for maps and points of interest (restaurants, landmarks, attractions etc) without racking exorbitant costs in roaming charges?

I am travelling to Europe towards the end of this year and I have been debating about getting an iPhone and download some neat travelling apps and bring it along. Obviously, if that will result in 3 or 4-digit bills from Rogers/Fido then I guess I will download the European maps onto my Garmin Nuvi 350 then.

Thanks.
canabiz is offline  
Old 2009-07-12, 07:08 PM   #159
Asher
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 136
Default

The Maps app with the iPhone definitely uses data to download the tiles.
Asher is offline  
Old 2009-07-13, 08:06 AM   #160
canabiz
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Thanks, I think it's better for me to load some European maps onto my Garmin and bring it along, don't want to see any surprise bill. I suppose I could rely on Wi-Fi but who knows how widely available (and free?) it is over there.
canabiz is offline  
Reply

Tags
gsm, iphone, owner, review

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.