Global (Vancouver) Now Testing Digital OTA Channel 22.1 - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-04-12, 08:11 PM   #61
Jeffnoone
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver Area
Posts: 251
Default

The ExpressVu 9200 wont register Global 22 with a channel number, so (at least) I cant watch the channel on the Expressvu HD receiver
Is this because there is no PSIP data?

Both CTV and Global register a reliable 68% or higher on the 9200, CTV "locks" and the 9200 assigns it Channel32 automatically; Global same strength or higher, but wont lock, no channel number automatically assigned by the 9200

I assume this is the same phenomemon where others have reported certain devices or programs wont allow viewing despite signal
Jeffnoone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-04-12, 09:41 PM   #62
zivan56
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 29
Default

Hmm, power jumped to 25.4 dB and ~96%. I couldn't get it to work on Media Center with an HVR-1800 tuner, probably because of PSIP as well.
zivan56 is offline  
Old 2008-04-12, 09:56 PM   #63
danbcman
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,248
Default zivan56

Go and grab easy hdtv it is giving me a great picture with the win1600 same tuner as yours

http://www.enigmaindustries.com/downloads.htm
danbcman is offline  
Old 2008-04-12, 10:31 PM   #64
VBC1
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Downtown, Vancouver, BC
Posts: 175
Default



VBC1 is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 02:35 AM   #65
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,911
Question Not getting a lock on Global CHAN-DT?

For those of you having difficulties getting a lock or any video on CHAN-DT please see Post #21 in this thread.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 04:47 AM   #66
Random Dude
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 156
Default

News is still in SD I see.
Random Dude is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 05:29 AM   #67
coolin
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbcman View Post
Go and grab easy hdtv it is giving me a great picture with the win1600 same tuner as yours

http://www.enigmaindustries.com/downloads.htm
I grabbed that easy hdtv software, I'm using a Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 950 USB stick tuner, and although I am receiving 22 at 85%, it's nothing but a choppy looking mess using this program, same as CBC, and CTV.

When using the bundled software with the tuner they come in beautifully, save for 22. I'll probably just have to wait till they get themselves sorted out over the next little while, then use my regular software.
coolin is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 01:48 PM   #68
danbcman
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,248
Default coolin

Yea your tuner is not the same as the 1600 cards and the info was mainly for the person who got no image. I have two computers two different cards a possibility of 3 congiguration combinations not inc different driver cofigurations and the thing is with all those choices only card and one software gives me 22.2 Chan DT so I am not surprized it worked poorly for you but as in the other persons case a last ditch try. With this new station coming on and having reports from many people it became very clear few very few were getting it on other than a TV? Those that get it on a computer system are I think lucky and as they fine tune the transmisson to the proper configuration more computer based units will again get it just as they get the other stations on thier unit assuming signal reception is strong enough.
danbcman is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 02:08 PM   #69
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,911
Default Global 22.2 at 8.3kw ERP

I refreshed the IC database and it shows 8.3kw as the peak ERP...

BC Vancouver 22 CHAN-DT GTN 492128 1225714 670.0 8300 518.00

http://www.user.dccnet.com/jonleblan...da_TV_Stations
stampeder is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 02:47 PM   #70
danbcman
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 1,248
Default 22.2 dtv

Looks like golf time how long till overlay fades away

Last edited by danbcman; 2008-04-13 at 03:05 PM.
danbcman is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 03:46 PM   #71
levibluewa
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bellingham WA - 1.5 mi. E of I-5; Exit 253 (Lakeway Dr.)
Posts: 287
Default Hmmmmm...

Tuning in 22.2...signal meter sits around 35-38...then for a split second jumped to 98%. Do you guys have a steady picture, or are they playing with the new dt service like KVOS did when they 1st started.
levibluewa is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 03:58 PM   #72
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,911
Default

They're keeping steady today, so it looks like you are beyond the deepest fringe of their contour.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 08:05 PM   #73
TX_GUY_CHAN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Global BC HD

I am responsible for getting the transmitter on the air. The foresight of our VP of Engineering for Canada (John O'Connor) is why it's happened. We have not been doing any tuning at all since I turned it on at 20:30 on Friday. I'm sure there will be issues with getting PSIP correct, and many other things.

Vic
TX_GUY_CHAN is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 08:15 PM   #74
4DTV HD
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Aldergrove, B.C.
Posts: 94
Default

Hi Vic

Thanks for joining the group!
Any idea when the news will be on in HD? At least the studio portions.

Greg

Quote:
I am responsible for getting the transmitter on the air. The foresight of our VP of Engineering for Canada (John O'Connor) is why it's happened. We have not been doing any tuning at all since I turned it on at 20:30 on Friday. I'm sure there will be issues with getting PSIP correct, and many other things.
4DTV HD is offline  
Old 2008-04-13, 08:33 PM   #75
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,911
Default

Vic, welcome here and thanks for all the effort you Global/BCTV folks are taking to get this up and running!
stampeder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.