The DPP44 switch - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV Hardware Installation Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-11-01, 06:48 PM   #31
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

BC BEAN,

The DPP twin by itself carries both satellites however as indicated in the very first post "Just like the DP34 it only requires two lines into the switch to get 82 and 91"

Once a twin or quad is hooked up to any switch it deactivates the lnb's internal switch.
Q is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-11-01, 06:49 PM   #32
scrooloose
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,142
Default

The compatible LNBF's are listed in post number one, but it sounds like you need another one at least, or get a DPP twin.

-Mike
__________________
Pioneer PRO-110FD | Pioneer VSX-92TXH | BELL 9242 | Panasonic DMP-BD35 | XBOX 360 |WD TV Live Hub
scrooloose is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 06:53 PM   #33
BC BEAN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VI, BC
Posts: 9
Default

Q,

so are you saying that I cannot use the DPP44 to run 2 receivers off my one dish?
BC BEAN is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 07:04 PM   #34
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

not at all. I am saying you need to run TWO wires. One for 91 and one for 82. If you have only two receivers you don't even need the DPP44 switch but you would still have to run a wire to each one.
Q is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 07:12 PM   #35
BC BEAN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VI, BC
Posts: 9
Default

Q,

I hope I don't sound too stupid, but I am new at this, so I would sure appreciate your help. Could you please look at the equipment and hookup I have described above and tell me what I need and where everything is connected. I thought the point of the DPP technology was to run a single wire that carries 2 sat signals.

Thanks,
BC
BC BEAN is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 07:20 PM   #36
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

BC BEAN,

I have read what you wrote and I have already told you what is wrong. DP and DPP lnbs do carry two satellites on one line HOWEVER if you hook up a switch then it disconnects the internal switch of the lnb and you need to run two wires into the switch.
Q is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 08:08 PM   #37
BC BEAN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VI, BC
Posts: 9
Default

Q,

If I put the DPP separator before the DPP44, would that work?
BC BEAN is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 08:11 PM   #38
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

Absolutely NOT!!
Q is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 09:27 PM   #39
BC BEAN
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: VI, BC
Posts: 9
Default

So I guess I'm pretty much hooped, eh!
BC BEAN is offline  
Old 2008-11-01, 10:38 PM   #40
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

Don't use the switch and your setup will work for one receiver.
Q is offline  
Old 2008-11-02, 02:36 PM   #41
HDMark
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 181
Default Thanks!!

Thanks to Pinza and others on this forum for the help with the DPP lnb and DPP sw44.

I've installed everything and after doing the check switch tests its all working great.

Don't have to run extra wires ever again!!! Plus my equipment area in the utility room looks alot cleaner as I don't have 2 sw44's anymore

I'm just suprised Bell isn't offering DPP equipment as an installation option.
HDMark is offline  
Old 2009-01-03, 07:15 PM   #42
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,715
Default Anyone using a DPP44 with a 6100 successfully?

I tried to add a 6100 to my setup (DP Twin feeding a DPP44) and it completes check switch ok but shows a weird matrix. (Can't remember exactly- but all odds and evens are there for 91 and 82).

All 91 channels work great but 82 channels show loss of signal. Other receivers tested on the same RG6 work perfectly. And I set a dish up on a tripod with legacy lnbs and an SW-21 and the 6100 worked fine.

So, can I assume the 6100 doesn't like the DPP44?
peano is offline  
Old 2009-01-04, 11:02 AM   #43
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,859
Default

There should be no reason it will not work with DPP equipment at all.

I have done several custom installations with 6100's on DPP.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2009-01-04, 11:23 AM   #44
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

I agree it should work with no problems.

Try another output from switch.
Q is offline  
Old 2009-01-04, 01:19 PM   #45
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,715
Default

Ok, I tried it on another port with a shorter run and it works fine. I guess the 6100 doesn't have the same output voltage as the newer receivers which all worked fine on the longer run.

Thanks for the tip.
peano is offline  
Reply

Tags
dpp, dpp44, separator

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.