SW44 switch discussion - Page 49 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV Hardware Installation Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-12-29, 10:22 PM   #721
TEL27
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Default

ok. so at this point I hooked up the 9241 with only the one line. It works fine receiving both 82 and 91, however if you record and then try to watch another channel it will not so obviously I need the other sat in hooked up in order to record and watch the second tuner. I also hooked up one of the other lines from downstairs to my 6131 upstairs and it is recieving 82 and 91 and working fine. So I understand that the simplest solution is to run another line from downstairs up to the 9241 to hook into the other sat input in order to have use of both tuners. My question is, Is there any way to put in a splitter or other switch etc. in order to split the signal uptairs just before the satellite in order to not have to drill a hole through my floor to bring up the second line? Any help appreciated, thanks.
TEL27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-12-30, 07:26 AM   #722
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,772
Default

Nope, you need another line, or you need to swap out the LNBF and get a DPP Separator, Do a search for DPP Twin.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2011-12-30, 09:16 AM   #723
TEL27
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks Pinza. Now just have to choose which will work best for me at this point.
TEL27 is offline  
Old 2012-02-18, 05:13 PM   #724
zarrell
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
I have the sw44 on the dish which is currently only running 2 lines into my house into a central location. From there one line goes into the pvr and the other goes into a power inserter and then into the pvr. For my second pvr I have all the coax run to the same central location. What do I need to get the second one hooked up properly. Is there a way to do it without running 2 more lines to the dish?
I'm quoting myself because I am having issues understanding how to hook everything up. I mentioned I have an sw44 and now I am reading that the sw44 and dpp twin lnbf are not compatible? I know that pinza knows what he's doing so either I didn't explain my situation well enough or am misinterpreting something. Right now I have the same setup that m3repair posted in post #705 and I want to be able to run 2 9241's on one dish. I picked up a DPP dual lnbf and 2 dpp separators. Do I need something else?
zarrell is online now  
Old 2012-02-18, 05:24 PM   #725
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,772
Default

I guess I should have added that you no longer use the SW44.

Just run a line from each output of the DPP LNBF to the rear of each receiver, then add a DPP Separator so you can feed both Tuners.

You need no switch's or Power Inserters as the DPP LNBF has them already built in.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-02-26, 05:44 PM   #726
zarrell
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default

So I finally got around to hooking it all up and my main PVR works fine - dual tuner function works just like before. However my second PVR does not get a signal. Actually I had it working for a while but it only got 5 channels - the rest were blocked.
zarrell is online now  
Old 2012-02-26, 06:25 PM   #727
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,772
Default

What equipment did you install.?
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-02-26, 07:28 PM   #728
zarrell
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default

I installed 2 9241's. Seems to be working now, but I'm missing TSN2 on one of my PVRs.
zarrell is online now  
Old 2012-04-17, 09:57 AM   #729
ineedinfo
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Default sw44 to sw34

hi guys, just wondering if you guys could help me out with something.

My current bell setup is 91, 82
82 goes into sw44
91 goes into a sw34 - 2 outputs go into the sw44 and the other two go to receivers

what i want to do is flip the setup so 91 and 82 both go into the sw44, and then 2 outputs go into the sw34

would i then have a total of 6 outputs available ( 2 remaining from sw44 and 4 from sw34) that each carry both signals?
ineedinfo is offline  
Old 2012-04-17, 11:12 AM   #730
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,772
Default

No that will not work, to achieve that you need 2 x 3x4's and 2 x SW44's.

See this thread;

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=79134
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-04-17, 04:31 PM   #731
Armby
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Default Problem with adapter plug on power inserter

I am having a problem with the power adapter plug on the power inserter for my SW44. I was doing some rearranging of my cabling and noticed that I had lost signal at my receivers. After some fiddling I figured that the problem is at the plug that connects the power supply to the power inserter. I can wiggle it and restore the signal but its pretty flaky. That plug is a real PoS.

I don't want to pay for a new power inserter if I can avoid it. It doesn't look like it would be easy to open the inserter to allow me to solder the 24 volts directly. However, my switch is indoors and I am only using 2 of the 4 output ports on it. Can a just connect the 24 V power line directly to port 1 (using a coax stub) run my receivers off port 2 and 3 and not use the power inserter or would this be a no-no.
Armby is offline  
Old 2012-04-17, 05:54 PM   #732
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,772
Default

Not a good idea.

The plug should push in, then half a turn to the right and it should lock. Well sort of. Yes it is a terrible design.

If you are only using 2 lines, why not get a pair of SW21's, that would mean no more power Supply/Inserter.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-04-17, 06:40 PM   #733
Armby
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Care to expand on why that wouldn't be a good idea. To me it looks like the inserter is just putting 24 volts on port 1 while passing signals to/from a receiver if connected. If not connected to a receiver its only function is putting the 24 V on port 1. Why wouldn't it be OK to just do that without the inserter.
Armby is offline  
Old 2012-04-17, 06:53 PM   #734
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,772
Default

Nope....
Pinza is online now  
Old 2012-04-17, 08:17 PM   #735
Armby
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Default

OK...But now I can answer the question after actually measuring the voltage the inverter puts out. Its stepped up to close to 40 volts... so thats why it wouldn't work, at least not directly with the 24V adapter.

Anyways its all beside the point, because it wasn't the power plug that was the problem. It was actually the f-connector on the short piece of coax from the inserter to the SW44. I guess the centre conductor wasn't long enough to make a reliable connection. When I was playing with the power plug I was actually making and breaking the f connector connection. Replaced that cable and everything is good now.
Armby is offline  
Reply

Tags
belltv, multiswitch, newbie, sw44

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.