SW44 switch discussion - Page 18 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV Hardware Installation Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2009-09-02, 03:02 PM   #256
daMaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza View Post
Fine, no problems at all.

You do know that you can install 2 x SW44's with just the 4 lines coming into the house don't you.?

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...06&postcount=1
Yup, but at the moment I only need to feed 3 tuners (possibly 4) so a single SW44 will suffice.

For now I have a 9241 (2 tuners) and a 6131 (1 tuner) and may decide to add a 6131 in a few months. Won't need more than that.

Thanks
__________________
HTPC: ATSC, BluRay, HD-DVD
AVR: Yamaha RX-V1800, SPKRS: JBL S310II, JBL S-CenterII, JBL S36II, 2x HSU VTF-3 MK2
daMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2009-09-09, 09:54 PM   #257
chadurban
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default SW-44 no signal on Sat 83 Input 2 Tuner

I have a Bell 9241 duel tuner receiver and before I moved had everything working perfectly. Now at my new house and hooked everything up the way i had it at the old place with inputs 1 & 2 coming from the SW-44 to the 9241 duel tuners. I am getting both satellites on input 1 (though my signal could be a bit stronger 80 & 92%). Problem is the input 2 on the receiver only picks up Sat 91 (at 78%) and not 82. Did a check switch and every time it says that it found fewer satellites than before.

I am using the dish the old house owners left and not my old one (they are the same dishes though) and I have the 3rd output from the SW-44 going to my 5800 which is working fine. All my cabling is different as well from my old house, but they seem to be fine.

Anyone have any idea what the problem might be here, is my signal not strong enough? Have no idea why I get no signal to my 9241 2nd input for Sat 82? Maybe have to align my dish better or should I start checking all my cables (the wire ends are fairly long coming from the satellite to the SW-44, and are normal from the SW-44 to the receivers). Any ideas?
chadurban is offline  
Old 2009-09-09, 11:04 PM   #258
SJ44
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Québec
Posts: 190
Default

Try to invert the input 1 and 2 on the receiver and see if the problem is the same.
__________________
Sony SXRD KDS-R60XBR1 Yamaha RXV357 Bev 6100
SJ44 is offline  
Old 2009-09-20, 10:52 AM   #259
YorktonSK
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Confused - Problems after dish reinstallation

Hey everyone!

My situation is.

-9242
-SW44
-Signal Cat SC2021 Dual LNB LCD

Year ago I installed my dish with absolutely NO ISSUES, I had 91 locked in about 30 seconds thanks to the amazing Signal Cat.

We decided to install tin on our because well we didnt want the old cedar shakes to leak. I removed the dish and lowered it down to a friend with SW44 still connected.

After the tin is install I reinstalled the dish, Using the Signal cat I got my 91 and 82 back within seconds.

reinstalled everything run a switch check, here is what is showing up

Satellite Input 1
Port 1
Satellite:91
Transponder: X
Status: Reception Error
Switch None

Satellite Input 2
Port: 1
Satellite: 91
Transponder: X
Status: Reception Error
Switch: None

Under details I have this

---Satellite Input 1-----
Missing:Port 1b Sat 91 Even

--Satellite Input 2----
Missing:Port 1b Sat 91 Even

So I went up and check and for fun replaced the RG6 for port 1b to the switch.


WHERE IS MY 82!!!!
When I check on the point dish. I dont even have 82 but my Signalcat says I do

I can still watch some channels on SD, ALL my even transponders are done.

I have installed many 9242 setups without issue.

Its almost like my switch isnt getting power, Nothing has been done to the power inserter inside the house.

Thanks
YorktonSK is offline  
Old 2009-09-20, 12:56 PM   #260
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

Things to check:
1. Dish misaligned. 82 LNB pointing at 91 sat. Mounting post not vertical.
2. LNB outputs going to wrong SW44 inputs. 91 LNB should go to 1a, 1b and 82 to 2a, 2b.
3. Power inserter going to wrong SW44 output. Should go to output 1.
4. Damaged or corroded cables and connectors.
5. Bad LNB or switch.
6. Bad receiver.

First, I would check that the mounting post is vertical at the top. Then, check all coax connections. Then I would run the 91 LNB straight through (no switch) to the receiver. Perform a check switch and align properly. Then, hook up the switch and perform another check switch.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2009-09-20, 03:23 PM   #261
YorktonSK
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default

I have checked all listed except the plumb mast.

thanks
YorktonSK is offline  
Old 2009-09-20, 05:51 PM   #262
YorktonSK
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default

All is good now, I just remembered I had a SW21 from my father inlaws install. I hooked up ran a switch test and low and behold everything is back to normal. I have a SW44 on order from fleebay.

Thanks for the help!
YorktonSK is offline  
Old 2009-09-20, 08:19 PM   #263
Frankim3
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Will this work??

Can a SW44 work with 2 inputs, one from each lnb. With 4 outputs, for 2 dual tuners.
Frankim3 is offline  
Old 2009-09-20, 10:45 PM   #264
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

No. 4 RG6s are required. Please check the installation threads for what will work.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2009-09-21, 03:19 AM   #265
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,649
Default

To run 2 x Dual Tuner receivers with just 2 lines it is possible to acheive by using Dish Pro Plus equipment.

Have a look around the Forum for more info if you are limited to just 2 lines into the house.
Pinza is offline  
Old 2009-09-26, 12:58 AM   #266
giles
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default installation SW 44

sw 44 hooked up through single sat with 2 LMB all hooked up according to instuctions but sat 91 doesnt have a signal is there anybody that can help
giles is offline  
Old 2009-09-26, 05:49 AM   #267
dosborne
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON - Sharp Aquos 52" LCD - Bell 9200, 4x5900, 3x3100, E50 DVD-R, Harmony 880, Garmin C550
Posts: 2,814
Default

What do you mean by "single sat with 2 LMB"??

You use one LNB per satellite. So if you have 2 LNBs then you are trying to hit 91 & 82.

Did you read/follow the directions in the dish alignment thread to setup your dish and align on 91 first without using your switch? Then check 82? Then install the switch? Then run "check switch"?

Sticky: How to properly align your satellite dish - Discussion and Tips
dosborne is offline  
Old 2009-09-28, 01:00 PM   #268
chadurban
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadurban View Post
I have a Bell 9241 duel tuner receiver and before I moved had everything working perfectly. Now at my new house and hooked everything up the way i had it at the old place with inputs 1 & 2 coming from the SW-44 to the 9241 duel tuners. I am getting both satellites on input 1 (though my signal could be a bit stronger 80 & 92%). Problem is the input 2 on the receiver only picks up Sat 91 (at 78%) and not 82. Did a check switch and every time it says that it found fewer satellites than before.

I am using the dish the old house owners left and not my old one (they are the same dishes though) and I have the 3rd output from the SW-44 going to my 5800 which is working fine. All my cabling is different as well from my old house, but they seem to be fine.

Anyone have any idea what the problem might be here, is my signal not strong enough? Have no idea why I get no signal to my 9241 2nd input for Sat 82? Maybe have to align my dish better or should I start checking all my cables (the wire ends are fairly long coming from the satellite to the SW-44, and are normal from the SW-44 to the receivers). Any ideas?
Things are really kinda screwy, the receiver defaults to input 2 on recording (even when the power is off right?) though it would record certain shows every week and others it wouldn't. I had even double checked all my lines to both receiver inputs (with no SW44 connected) and all were good so I Re-connected the SW44 back.

Decided to take my 3rd shot at trying to fix this issue yesterday. Re-aligned the dish a little which increased my signal a bit better (Sat 91 around 89% and Sat 82 was hitting 100%). Then I switched the input cables around on the back of the receiver. When I did that I was getting a signal on both inputs and on both sat's. Looked to be fixed but figured this was weird as now the cable #1 from the SW44 with the power source was hooked to input 2 on the receiver (thought it needed to be on Input 1?). Ran a check switch to finalize, and lost my signal on input 2 again. Gave me an error of "Missing Port 1B Sat 91 Even" Not sure why it did this.

Finally I broke down and changed all the cabling (everywhere) and also replaced the dish which has 2 different dual LNBs. Ensured my cable end pins were long enough to the SW44 as well. Started to re-align the dish but had to stop as it started to rain. 6 hours in yesterday and still where I began.

I really think this has to be a signal issue where its not high enough to push out to the second Input on the receiver? Anyone have any advice or thoughts for my 4th try on this on Wednesday?
chadurban is offline  
Old 2009-09-28, 05:10 PM   #269
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,649
Default

Signal strength is not your problem. I would suspect the SW44 port #2 output.

If you swap the Inputs, does the problem follow the cable or stay on the same Tuner.?

Bell would have done a Free Move for you, you know........
Pinza is offline  
Old 2009-09-28, 06:26 PM   #270
gareauk
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Talking YAY It works!!!

I just wanted to thank everyone in this forum for their posts because without your help I would have no hair left on my head!!!

I thought that I would post my setup and the problems that I had so that maybe it can help someone else out!

My setup includes:
1 - 9241 Bell PVR
1 - Dish
2 - LNBs (pointed at 91 & 82)
1 - SW44

This is how I got my setup to work!
Put on the first LNB on the 91 side of the Y connector. Then find 91 and tweak it to the best possible signal. Unplug 91 and now attach the second LNB to the 82 side of the Y connector. Adjust the skew & elevation a little bit until you get signal from 82 (it does not need to peak at this time). Now plug in the SW44 and run a 'check signal' from the 'Point/Dish' screen. You should now see both 91 & 82 satellites. Tweak the skew & elevation until you have maximum signal from both (I got close to 100% on both).

I found that the manual that comes with the PVR is not very clear and has limited information in it. So to setup the SW44 I ran a coax cable from the PVR (satellite port 1) to the power inserter. Then I ran another coax from the power inserter to port 1 on the SW44. Then I ran 4 coax cables (2 cables from each LNB) to the remaining 4 ports on the SW44. Ports 1a and 1b go to 91. Ports 2a and 2b go to 82.

I had a few bumps in the road such as; bad coax cables and bad amplifiers. So check your equipment, go back to basics. Just when you think you've checked everything, check it again. I spent the better part of two days figuring this thing out and I'm glad forums like this exist.

Cheers!
gareauk is offline  
Reply

Tags
belltv, multiswitch, newbie, sw44

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.