SW21, SW42 SW24 and SW34 Switches - Page 22 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV Hardware Installation Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-01-07, 08:00 PM   #316
Bobjones294
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Smile Job done, Thank You

Got two SW21 and installed and got 100% on one and 89% on the other. Seeing I intended to just have one receiver this SW21 method sure beats the clutter and expense of the SW44 way.
Thanks for the advice
Bobjones294
Bobjones294 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-01-11, 01:20 PM   #317
bta44
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default 2 HD recievers and 1 SD reciever

Hey,

I'm also new to the satellite installation, so please be gentle.

Currently I have 2 HD 6131 recievers hooked up with the two lines running into the house. I would like to add a SD reciever to my house and I am wondering what switch to add to make it the easiest possible.
Both cables come through the basement and are hooked up with cables to the rest of the house through the basement.

Thank you very much in advance,
bta44 is offline  
Old 2012-01-11, 02:34 PM   #318
jdevlin
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 738
Default

You need to tell us what you have at the dish now.
Could be a sw44 and you only need to add line.
Could be two sw21 and you need to add sw44 and a line.
jdevlin is online now  
Old 2012-01-11, 03:10 PM   #319
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,697
Default

Could be a DPP Twin LNBF.....
Pinza is offline  
Old 2012-01-12, 08:26 AM   #320
bta44
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I dont have any switches in the system yet, the 2 cables are connected directly to the LNB.
And I just googled DPP twin LNBF, and yes that is what I have. The DPP twin LNBF i have only has 2 ports (so there are no open ones right now)
bta44 is offline  
Old 2012-01-12, 09:07 AM   #321
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,697
Default

Then I would suggest connecting a DPP44 to those 2 lines. This will give you 4 outputs.
Pinza is offline  
Old 2012-01-12, 12:59 PM   #322
bta44
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Perfect! Thanks a lot!
I'll let you know how it works out.
bta44 is offline  
Old 2012-07-10, 03:14 PM   #323
courtenay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default sw 44 to sw21

I have moved my 6131 receiver from my house to my RV. My house set up has the 6131 attached to a SW44 switch. The RV dish uses a SW21 Switch.
In the RV, when I go to the Installation - check switch screen, it shows the connection to the SW44, when, in fact it is connected to the SW21. I can get a great signal on 82, but nothing on 91. I have reset the receiver and ran the "test switch" procedure. The check switch screen still comes up with the 44 rather than the 21.
I need help!
courtenay is offline  
Old 2012-07-10, 06:06 PM   #324
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,697
Default

Remove ALL inputs on the 6131, Run a "Check Switch", when it fails (and it will), connect the feed from the SW21, run it again and that should be it.
Pinza is offline  
Old 2012-07-10, 08:17 PM   #325
courtenay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Ok, I disconnected the input to the receiver. Ran a check switch, and the thing still indicates it is connected to a SW44 and both 82 and 91 are OK. Did a reset - check switch when disconnected - same result. Reconnected, checked switch - same result.
Interestingly, I have an 80% signal strength on 82, but nothing on 91. I had another 6131 plugged into this setup a few months ago, and it worked fine.
I could go back to the other 6131 that worked before, but the one I am using now has a hard drive connected and I'm not sure whether I can connect this hard drive to the other 6131 without losing the programming on the hard drive.
courtenay is offline  
Old 2012-07-10, 09:33 PM   #326
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,697
Default

If a Check Switch show OK and you have no Sat Feed connected there is something either seriously wrong.

An EHD can be swapped around on all 6131's on the same account.
Pinza is offline  
Old 2012-07-11, 12:27 AM   #327
courtenay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks, Pinza. I have a couple of other 6131's. This one seems to work OK in my house so I'll try one of the others.
courtenay is offline  
Old 2012-07-11, 10:59 AM   #328
46FD04
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ajax
Posts: 752
Default

Courtenay,

Switching receivers doesn't correct the problem. Sounds to me like the one 6131 is faulty.

Try this with it;

1. Check the software version, found under System Information. It must be at V170. If not, make sure it is connected to satellite and turn it off for 30 minutes to allow an update.

2. At home, disconnect it from the power, disconnect sat cable. Wait 1 minute

3. plug 6131 back into power, turn 6131 back on, wait for it to reboot LEAVE SATELLITE CABLE DISCONNECTED

4. Go into signal strength meter (Menu, 6, 1, 1), go to Check Switch and select Test. LET THE RECEIVER GO THROUGH ALL 38 TESTS, THIS MAY TAKE 15 MINUTES. DO NOT CANCEL.

5. Test should fail, indicated by all X's

6. At conclusion of test, if it still indicates SW44 with 91 and 82 as OK, that receiver is faulty and requires replacement.

7. If test did fail, indicated by all X's, then take it back to RV and run a Check Switch again using the RV dish and SW21.

Also, very important, be sure your home SW44 has the 91 satellite connected to 1A and 1B, and 82 satellite connected to 2A and 2B.

At RV, 91 connected to Dish 1, 82 connected to Dish on the SW21.

Very important due to switching voltages, correct Pinza???
46FD04 is offline  
Old 2012-07-11, 08:15 PM   #329
courtenay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

This is a real mystery. I put the receiver back in the house and it works just fine. Still shows an sw44 installed, but all channels and both satellites are coming in fine. Took another, relatively new, 6131 out to the RV and had the same experience as with the other one. I checked the software version and both are V170. The systems screen does show, however, an x under 91 indicating it is not viewable. I think the dish my RV is connected to may have shifted a bit and isn't picking up 91. Interestingly, though, I'm getting about 80% signal strength on 82. Oh well, I'm off tomorrow and will hopefully get everything lined up and working with my dish on a tripod at the RV Park.
I'm picking up a Winegard Carryout dish in a few weeks which is supposed to automatically pick up both satellites - hope it works.
courtenay is offline  
Old 2012-07-11, 08:42 PM   #330
jdevlin
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 738
Default

Bad SW21 possibly? Bad 91 LNB?
jdevlin is online now  
Reply

Tags
multiswitch, sw21, sw24, sw34, sw42

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.