Reset an IRC 550 remote control to default config? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Direct (formerly Star Choice)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-01-16, 11:53 PM   #1
Eyefly
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: White Rock, BC
Posts: 19
Default Reset an IRC 550 remote control to default config?

I am a happy new *c customer for one week and a digital home newbie. I am wanting to erase and reset the remote control (Model IRC550 for the DSR 317) to its default configuration. When the installer set up the remote control he must have thought he was doing me a favour by programming all my electronic devices (VCR, DVD, Audio receiver) codes into the remote control. The problem is when I press the master power switch ALL the devices then come on simultaneously. Most of the time all I want to do is watch TV and don't want to have to turn off each unused device individually. I've talked to a *c CSR and was told to reverse the polarity of the batteries in the remote control for two minutes to erase stored codes but that didn't work. If anyone can please tell me how to reset the remote control or else erase the equipment codes once they are programmed into the remote I sure would appreciate it.
Thanks.
Eyefly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-01-17, 12:03 AM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 51,837
Default

If you read the operating manual for the remote control, there is probably a section on "master power" or something similar. You should be able to set the remote to only turn on the STB. This will allow you to still select all the other devices manually and use the remote on those if you wish, while not having them turn on with the power button.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2008-01-17, 12:11 AM   #3
dennism3
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 531
Default

From the 551 remote manual(online).

To get rid of the master power feature (page 18)

Press and hold the specific device key (eg DVD) until it blinks twice.

Press 9 9 5. The last selected key blinks twice.

Press and release the master power key.

Do this for each device (key) that you want to eliminate and you will then only be controlling the devices individually by pressing the device key.
PS didn't see 57's response when I started.
Same as what I do.

Hope this helps.
Do the above.
Don't clear everything because you will have to re-set up your TV code etc.

If this isn't the same for the remote, then you should be able to find "master power" in your manual.
dennism3 is offline  
Old 2008-01-17, 03:18 AM   #4
Eyefly
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: White Rock, BC
Posts: 19
Default

Wow. This is a great forum.
I appreciate your quick responses and advice, both 57 and Dennism3.
I neglected to mention that, yes, I've read the manual that came with the remote control but it didn't provide any information on resetting the remote. Neither could *C tech support.
So, I'll take your advice and disable the Master Power On feature.
Thanks for all your help.
Eyefly is offline  
Old 2008-04-18, 11:16 PM   #5
bevco22
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default

can anyone out there help me? My kids removed the batteries from our irc550 remote, and replaced them, and now when you hit any buttons, the SAT button blinks twice and does nothing. thanx.
bevco22 is offline  
Old 2008-04-18, 11:27 PM   #6
painter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Regina
Posts: 711
Default

Mine was doing this also lately and all I did was put in new batteries,now it just works fine.Maybe the batteries your kids put in were already dead.
painter is offline  
Old 2009-06-28, 05:04 PM   #7
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 358
Default

I have a related question. I was away for many months and my house-sitter has made the remote that controls the TV no longer control the sat converter (315). Is there a simple way to make it do so?

I came home and found both *C remotes in the LR, one to control just the TV and the other from the bedroom that controls both the bedroom TV and 315 there as well as the 315 in the LR. IRC 450
kcowan is offline  
Old 2009-06-29, 03:10 AM   #8
ShawDirectEmp
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hi All,

In regards to the master power, you should just remove the batteries in its entirety for 2 minutes and then put them back in... if that does not do it give us a quick call and we'll be happy to help you.

For the person whose kids took the batteries out, use the front panel of your receiver to go to the receiver address portion, when you get there you should hit enter on your remote and the 2 should sink back up.

Its always hard to answer these questions without knowing the specific model of receiver, but as i said before give us a call we'll help.

Calling earlier in the day or later in the evening if your in a rush ( aren't we all) to avoid annoying hold times!!!

Sorry your having trouble
ShawDirectEmp is offline  
Old 2009-06-29, 08:23 AM   #9
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 358
Default

I tried removing the batteries, and after 5 minutes reinserted them. Still had the TV codes in and had not reset the satellite code (I assume to 000)? IRC450

Last edited by 57; 2009-06-29 at 10:24 AM. Reason: Unnecessary quote removed.
kcowan is offline  
Old 2009-07-03, 01:58 PM   #10
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 358
Default

I left the batteries out for 2 hours. It lost the settings for the TV. Still no action on the Sat receiver: IRC 450, DSR315. Thanks.
kcowan is offline  
Old 2009-07-10, 11:51 AM   #11
Eyefly
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: White Rock, BC
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcowan View Post
I left the batteries out for 2 hours. It lost the settings for the TV. Still no action on the Sat receiver: IRC 450, DSR315. Thanks.
You can check the code number readback for each of the programmed buttons to see if the remote is properly identifying the 3-digit SAT code. The instructions on this procedure are found in the "Programming and Operating Instructions" booklet that came with the remote. Look for "Code Number Readback". It is Item #9 on the instruction booklet that came with my remote.
Eyefly is offline  
Old 2009-07-14, 01:48 PM   #12
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 358
Default

Thanks. I went through the procedure to reset the Sat button to device code 0000 and it now works again. So simple.
kcowan is offline  
Old 2010-01-18, 12:35 PM   #13
kcowan
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Direct 505-530-630, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Panasonic Viera 50", HTPC-HDMI
Posts: 358
Default

IRC550 when I press and hold the TV button so I can enter the code for the new flat panel, it does not initiate the flashing sequence. Is there an alternate way to initiate the programming?
kcowan is offline  
Old 2010-01-18, 02:12 PM   #14
dguthrie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 39
Default

The sequence for the 550 starts by holding the mute and enter buttons down.
The full manual is on their web page.
dguthrie is offline  
Old 2010-01-20, 03:02 AM   #15
oksat
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 186
Default

Post #11 in here should work for you: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=106839
oksat is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.