TVGOS in Canada - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > HDTV: High Definition Television including LCD and Plasma

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2007-11-29, 09:20 AM   #1
videobruce
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Lightbulb TVGOS in Canada

Anyone know what station is the host channel for TVGuide OnScreen in Ontario??
videobruce is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2007-11-29, 01:00 PM   #2
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,033
Default

It looks like CBC and SRC (CBLFT Toronto) gave back the equipment to Gemstar so I don't think TVGOS works up here. The one thread at DHC that had lots of TVGOS info seems to have died off and nobody responded to your question there, so I assume its gone cold up here.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=29728
stampeder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-11-29, 01:17 PM   #3
magnet
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,252
Default

In Calgary, it still works.. it is the CTV station. You might give CTV a try.
__________________
When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-11-29, 01:26 PM   #4
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,033
Default

magnet, is that through Shaw Cable? Sometimes the cable companies insert TVGOS into a station's VBI signals but I'm not sure if that's what is happening there.
stampeder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-11-29, 02:00 PM   #5
videobruce
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Default

It does work in Ontario.
I am receiving Canadian data and apparently it is from CTV (analog ch. 9) including cable channel listings. I was given four choices in the setup, three cable providers and Bell Express View using a Toronto Postal Code.

Funny, there are program listings for the analog versions of the 'big 3' down here (NBC, CBS & ABC), but for their 'digital' versions, it come up "No listing".

Last edited by videobruce; 2007-11-29 at 02:29 PM.
videobruce is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-11-29, 02:10 PM   #6
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,033
Default

But you're not getting it OTA though, right? There are posts about getting it on Rogers cable, so its possible Rogers is inserting it into the VBI blanking on analogue channels.
stampeder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-01, 12:37 PM   #7
videobruce
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
But you're not getting it OTA though, right?
Yes I am. It surely isn't from cable.

When the Guide IDs' the location you get this screen;


The next page gives you these choices using a Toronto Postal Code (I choosed Rodgers Toronto);


OTA Canadian listings (CFTO & CBC are off the screen and I forgot to include ch 55);

Last edited by videobruce; 2007-12-01 at 01:30 PM.
videobruce is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-01, 01:13 PM   #8
videobruce
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Default

Here are some screen shots from the internal diagnostic menus of TVGOS.

System info (2nd line shows V8 of the guide);


System statistics (notice the "Host channel" and the "VBI channel" are input 1 (which is the 2nd RF input, first is '0' and is on cable) and ch. 9);


Input config (2 RF inputs);


Recording history (I have two AVHDDs');

Last edited by videobruce; 2007-12-01 at 01:32 PM.
videobruce is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-01, 02:26 PM   #9
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 24,033
Default

Yep, I see the Host and VBI channels listed as 1.0:9 so I'm going to go out on a limb and suggest that it refers to CFTO 9 in Toronto's first carrier. I hope that helps, Bruce... (?)
stampeder is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-01, 04:57 PM   #10
videobruce
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Default

The "1" is the input number, in this case the 2nd input and "0:9" is the analog version of ch. 9 (I believe that is the way it goes).
The whole menu is hexadecimal which I don't even try to read.
videobruce is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-03, 08:50 AM   #11
videobruce
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Default

Come on, no one has a device that uses TVGOS??
videobruce is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-11, 02:25 PM   #12
Rideauman
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 278
Default

I am using TVGOS with my Toshiba XS35 DVD player. The only way I am able to get it to work is to have analog cable sent directly to the DVD player before it hits the STB. I could not get it to work from the STB. I am also of the understanding that it is not available from ExpressVu (yes? no?).

It's great when recording analogue signals, but useless when you want to record digital from the STB. Have to create manual recording sessions.

As it can't be used in conjunction with a cable or satellite box, I don't see the value in TVGOS.
Rideauman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-11, 02:34 PM   #13
videobruce
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
I could not get it to work from the STB.
Correct, it won't.
It was designed for a on screen viewing guide to replace the paper edition and to use with AV-HDD devices (which I have two) and D-VHS recorders that have a 1394 connection.
videobruce is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-12, 03:51 AM   #14
Stargazer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rideauman View Post
As it can't be used in conjunction with a cable or satellite box, I don't see the value in TVGOS.
My Panasonic HDD-PVR came with an IR blaster so that it could be used with a cable box. It works fine recording all of the shows displayed in the guide (analog and digital).
Stargazer is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2007-12-12, 01:06 PM   #15
jeneral
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 334
Default

I use TVGOS on Rogers in Mississauga. It is on CBLFT (Cable 12) and it has a complete guide. Some time in the middle of the year, they switched something in the guide and I had a hard time getting it to sync (I switched back to OTA which is CFTO 9). After a few weeks of mucking around, I managed to get it working. I look forward to the day when guide services can be downloaded from the internet (over Wi-Fi if available).
jeneral is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
shaw, tv guide

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.