Between-channel feeds on Eastlink (Clear QAM) - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > EastLink

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-02-11, 10:31 AM   #16
smallmj
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 564
Default

jmac, This list doesn't seem very useful to me.

The channel maps that you describe will be different depending on what town/city you are in. For example, since my cable system (Eastlink in Oxford/Collingwood/River Philip) only has analog up to 32, the digital channels start at 33.X and maxes out at 60.X with gaps in the high 50s. Completely different from what you see, even though we are both on Eastlink.

Maybe you should at least say where you are...

Mark
smallmj is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-02-12, 12:40 AM   #17
Northcountry
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sudbury-Ontario EastLink
Posts: 162
Default

Are all of those channels in the clear and watchable without a cable box?
Northcountry is offline  
Old 2008-02-12, 09:11 AM   #18
smallmj
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 564
Default

In Oxford, no they are not in the clear. The only unencrypted ones are 70-105, which are things like Treehouse, Newsworld, and other stuff that the civilised world gets on analog. Also the music stations. Everything else is encrypted.

Mark
smallmj is online now  
Old 2008-02-17, 08:37 PM   #19
jmac698
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default

It's for Halifax. It was surveyed during freeview Jan.
Mostly the music and analog channels are clearqam with only analog subscription. What you subscribe to becomes clear, except the HD channels.
jmac698 is offline  
Old 2008-02-18, 11:22 AM   #20
Northcountry
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sudbury-Ontario EastLink
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac698 View Post
What you subscribe to becomes clear, except the HD channels.
I believe everything stays encrypted until the DCT un-encrypts the channels that you subscribe to, so you won't see the channels you subscribe to as "clear-QAM". You can only see the channels that EastLink chooses to send out un-encrypted.
Northcountry is offline  
Old 2008-02-19, 08:41 AM   #21
homerr
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default Is there a way...

Hello all,

Is there a way to convert the QAM numbers (XX.X) to Eastlink cable numbers? My listing is also different for my 'extra' digital channels in Mt. Uniacke. I just got a Samsung 50" Plasma and it display the numbers with a dash instead of a period.

Homerr
homerr is offline  
Old 2008-02-19, 09:41 AM   #22
smallmj
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 564
Default

Unfortunately there is no easy way to do this.

There are two ways to identify a clear QAM feed.

(1) Watch it until you see a station ID
(2) Tune to a channel with your digital cable box, then check the service menus to see what frequency/pid you are tuned to.

I don't think that there is any way create a virtual channel map for a TV tuner, IE channel 67.4 -> 435

Mark
smallmj is online now  
Old 2008-02-20, 11:59 AM   #23
homerr
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Ok thanks smallmj. Have been surfing and could not find anything either.
homerr is offline  
Old 2008-04-07, 08:11 AM   #24
homerr
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default QAM channels

Does any one know of the QAM channels for the HD channels on Eastlink in the HRM or Mt. Uniacke area??

Thanks,
Homerr
homerr is offline  
Old 2008-04-07, 08:46 AM   #25
smallmj
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 564
Default

Here in Oxford, all of the HD channels are encrypted. I imagine it is the same for you in Mt Uniacke. Somebody local might be able to find out for sure, and figure out the channel map.

Mark
smallmj is online now  
Old 2008-05-19, 10:11 AM   #26
ph00p
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Here In Newfoundland where Eastlink just took over they've added a slew of new between-channel feeds. But most of them are SPORTS *sigh* AND Teletoon FRENCH! *sigh* What a cruel cruel joke! ah well we've still got all the other channels we used to have with persona in-between. But anyone into sports will love this garbage thats for sure.
ph00p is offline  
Old 2008-05-20, 08:58 PM   #27
leaffan1967
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nova Scotia *Eastlink HD DVR (Motorola 6416 III)
Posts: 922
Default

Hey guys, this channel map is from Eastlink Amherst: As ph00p said, mostly sports and Teletoon French, also has all the Galaxie/Maxtrax channels

Amherst (QAM) Channel Lineup - May 20/2008

25.xx - MaxTrax - Galaxie
26.2 - Sportsnet Ontario
26.3 - Sportsnet West
26.4 - Sportsnet Pacific
26.6 - Star!
26.10 - Sportsnet East
26.17 - Voiceprint
26.20 - Voiceprint
41.2 - NFL Network
41.3 - CPAC French
57.10 - LTV (Nova Scotia)
59.11 - MSVU TV
69.1 - BNN
71.10 - CLT
96.12 - Teletoon French
97.4 - MaxTrax - Galaxie

As smallmj said, all the HD channels are encrypted, the channels are really blocky on my 26" Lcd model.

Last edited by leaffan1967; 2008-05-20 at 09:00 PM. Reason: More info.
leaffan1967 is online now  
Old 2008-06-26, 10:47 AM   #28
ph00p
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Default

Just an update, yesterday they nerfed(scrambled probably):

OLN
Bravo
Golf

And some other crap that was in the 71 range.
This really sucks I'm still pissed that we only have MONO on our regular cable stations.
ph00p is offline  
Old 2008-07-23, 02:02 PM   #29
Miles
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 259
Question

What? Eastlink down-mixes stations to mono?
Miles is offline  
Old 2008-07-29, 08:14 PM   #30
ph00p
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 17
Default

The cheap Persona morons always HAVE downmixed to Mono, probably never bothered to use Stereo so yea ALL of our analog stations are in dirty old mono.

Also what Digital cable type do you think Eastlink uses STD HRC IRC ? I don't think they'd know if I phoned and asked, maybe somone here knows?

Edit: Also LOST some more crappy in-between radio channels today, they were only radio ones but still SUCKS looks like they're only trying channels or something? They're taking more than giving that is for sure! THANKS EASTLINK!
ph00p is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.