Inside Man on TMNHD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On Television?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2007-04-01, 02:37 PM   #1
otown47
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 3,943
Default Inside Man on TMNHD

This turned out to be quite a good movie. There's some action and lots of twists and turns in the plot. The PQ and audio are a treat.....2 thumbs up....
otown47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2007-04-01, 03:26 PM   #2
smegger2000
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 678
Default

Was it shown in the OAR of 2.35:1? I was wondering since it doesn't show up out west on MC-HD till April 13th. Thx.
smegger2000 is offline  
Old 2007-04-01, 04:24 PM   #3
otown47
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 3,943
Default

Yes, OAR of 2.35:1....big black bars on the top and bottom.
otown47 is offline  
Old 2007-04-01, 05:39 PM   #4
smegger2000
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 678
Default

Great to hear, thanks for the info. Will definitely be checking it out.
smegger2000 is offline  
Old 2007-04-01, 08:11 PM   #5
james99
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,792
Default

Thread moved from Movies forum to here.
james99 is offline  
Old 2007-04-01, 11:40 PM   #6
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,313
Default

OAR, but not DD5.1. My take on the movie is it was trying to be too clever by half. I didn't have a lot of stuff on the DVR, so I watched it. If my DVR had been full of material, probably wouldn't have. Not bad, just not great and it should have been better with all those actors.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-04-01, 11:53 PM   #7
riceman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 366
Default

"i bet you can get a cab whenever you want though"
riceman is offline  
Old 2007-04-03, 12:04 AM   #8
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,313
Default

One thing I forgot to ask. When watching the movie, the audio went weird a couple of times and the scene seemed to jump to the "next scene" at that time. Almost like a reel change (people remember those?) had occurred too early. Never noticed anything like it before... I don't think a major segment was missed, but it was weird.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-04-03, 07:52 AM   #9
otown47
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 3,943
Default

Yes TMN really needs to hire better help for those reel changes.
otown47 is offline  
Old 2007-04-03, 09:05 PM   #10
riceman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 366
Default

yes, i got it too. i thought maybe it was a signal blip but the picture never pixelated. maybe it's just an audio dropout?
riceman is offline  
Old 2007-04-04, 06:20 PM   #11
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,313
Default

Does anyone remember roughly when the two "blips" happened?
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-04-06, 01:19 PM   #12
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,313
Default

I found one of the blips (about 1 hr 37 minutes into the movie, just before Jodie is about to walk into the "barber shop"). I discussed the issue with my contact at Astral. They are aware of this situation and it's caused by a hardware limitation. They are working on a fix with their hardware supplier and thanked us for the feedback.

My analogy of a "reel change" was apparently very accurate because not all movies fit onto a single tape for encoding onto the server.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-04-06, 09:16 PM   #13
Danster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 465,123
Posts: 5,719
Default

The other one is near the place where the Albanian lady is let go for her translation of the voices or very close to it.
__________________
Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.