linear pcm or dolby digital?? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Entertainment > What's On Blu-ray, DVD and in the theatres.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2007-03-26, 07:19 PM   #16
Chevalde3
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sept-Îles,Qc
Posts: 76
Default

Ham.Clan,
Again the only way to get lossless (5.1 or 7.1) LPCM from PS3 is through HDMI with an 5.1 or 7.1 LPCM HDMI input enabled receiver which you do not have. Toslink/bitstream is lossy 5.1 DD (or DTS) only because the available bandwidth of the Fiber Optics circuits (around 2 Mbps) is not enough for full lossless (up to almost 24 Mbps) !
__________________
Panny TH-50PHD8UK, Denon AVR-4306, KEF iQ9/3/6c/PSW3500, Cogeco DCT6416, 880/ PS3 adapter, PS3 320GB, Tritton Axpros
Chevalde3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2007-03-27, 07:21 AM   #17
Ham.Clan
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Highlands
Posts: 773
Default

Thank you Chevalde3.
That's the explanation a simpleton like myself needed.


Ham.Clan
Ham.Clan is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.