Bell TV 9242 HD PVR Discussion thread - Page 22 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV PVR, HD PVR and HD Receivers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2008-02-10, 05:34 PM   #316
EDark
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: 9242 no signal

Yes, I did that Friday night and it made no difference to the receiver.
EDark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2008-02-13, 09:21 AM   #317
Tom.F.1
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,964
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canadaman111 View Post
Last night i tried watching a movie I PVR'ed. It played until it was 2/3 done or so and then it just goes back to the menu. It still says there is an hour or so left but it just stops. So i tried fast forwarding through the whole movie and it always stops at the same part. I tried another movie and it worked fine. It seems like there may be a issue with that particuler recording. Does anyone have any ideas??
I had the same issue trying to playback American Gladiators. 3/4 of the way thru it quit. tried eveything to skip to the new part.

As I posted earlier, thats not the only issue. I had been complaining loudly for over a month. Last friday they promised to ship me a replacement on Monday and it would take 3-4 days. It showed up tuesday. Picked it up from Purolator no problem. Thats pretty good service once they finally did decide to replace it.

Anyway, I got it all hooked up and working, authorized with the automated phone in.
Took 2 hours of setting up settings and preferences, adding and naming OTA channels.

Then I recorded and played back a couple shows just to test. It works good so far. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

When I first booted it up, it had a Bell logo and it was looking for only 1 sat, 119. Does that mean they test it on an echostar bird, or maybe it was a demo or maybe dish repairs them or what? Anybody really know where re-furbished units come from?
__________________
Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)

Last edited by Tom.F.1; 2008-02-13 at 09:36 AM.
Tom.F.1 is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 09:29 AM   #318
Archangel
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 50
Default

I'e only ever experienced that issue once. It happened with recording the season finale of The Amazing Race 12. Hopefully it doesn't happen again because it is truly annoying.
Archangel is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 10:37 AM   #319
Machz800
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Cool New 9242 PVR

Hello all, newbie here. I just wanted to mention that I am a new owner of the 9242 PVR, since last weekend. I have a Sony 52" LCD, AVR Yamaha RX-V1800, with Def Tech surround...anyhow I have been reading about the audio dropouts and I have the same, HDMI and component hook ups with digital optical audio has audio dropouts. Very annoying especially with all the new equipment I have recently purchased, I am returning my PVR for an exchange, bought it at FS, does anyone have an opinion on that? Will I have the same problems? I currently have it hooked up with the RCA cables for audio, will I get the same surrond sound effect? Let me know your thoughts guys...

Thanks,
Machz800 is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 02:46 PM   #320
gtpalmer
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default

I'm on my 4th 9242. Bell has agreed to reverse the purchase and switch to the rental option,(after some fighting). I've given up on the HDMI and switched to component hookups to my TV. Digital optical to my AVR seems to be OK. No audio drops. The 9242 did require 2 reboots the other day after I deleted 20+ hours of HD material. Do not buy this machine! A 2 year rental contract should tide us over until the next generation arrives...
gtpalmer is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 03:30 PM   #321
Machz800
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Question Anybody's working properly

Okay, let me ask this question...does anybody have a 9242 that is connected with HDMI to their AV receiver and is not getting any audio dropouts?
Machz800 is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 03:51 PM   #322
scrooloose
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,137
Default

I've had my 9242 connected via HDMI to my AVR, and via Digital Audio cable to my old receiver (that didn't have HDMI) and both scenarios have had audio dropouts. However, I was experiencing the audio dropouts with my 9200 previously, so I don't think this is strictly a receiver issue. Replacing the receiver is not likely to change anything.

-Mike
__________________
Pioneer PRO-110FD | Pioneer VSX-92TXH | BELL 9242 | Panasonic DMP-BD35 | XBOX 360 |WD TV Live Hub
scrooloose is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 07:22 PM   #323
sixer
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 310
Default

I'm getting my 9242 this weekend and I'll report back. I've had my 9200 for 2 years with no huge issues.
sixer is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 07:41 PM   #324
kandkt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Do not buy this machine! A 2 year rental contract should tide us over until the next generation arrives...
I wouldn't go that far. It seems that all the audio dropout problems are HDMI related. Why not just use the optical port for now until the next software release where hopefully the HDMI issue will be resolved? If you rent one for 2 years, that is $480 and you have nothing to show for it???

I have mine connected via HDMI to DVI to my TV and I am using the optical port to my audio receiver. I do not have any issues at all.
kandkt is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 08:14 PM   #325
x64Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Okay, let me ask this question...does anybody have a 9242 that is connected with HDMI to their AV receiver and is not getting any audio dropouts?
I have had mine for a couple of weeks now and I have only noticed audio dropouts on Showcase HD.
x64Man is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 08:26 PM   #326
gtpalmer
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kandkt View Post
I wouldn't go that far. It seems that all the audio dropout problems are HDMI related. Why not just use the optical port for now until the next software release where hopefully the HDMI issue will be resolved? If you rent one for 2 years, that is $480 and you have nothing to show for it???

I have mine connected via HDMI to DVI to my TV and I am using the optical port to my audio receiver. I do not have any issues at all.
Purchasing only gives a year warranty. 4 machines in a month tells me the chances of having "something to show for" are unlikely. I bought my 5900, and it still is going strong, which led me to buying the 9242 without hesitation. I've never been one to rent anything, but recent experience has changed that.
gtpalmer is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 09:19 PM   #327
mot_guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Maple, ON
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kandkt View Post
It seems that all the audio dropout problems are HDMI related. Why not just use the optical port for now until the next software release where hopefully the HDMI issue will be resolved?
Optical output is also affected by the audio dropouts. You're fortunate if yours is working without any problems.
mot_guy is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 09:44 PM   #328
kandkt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alberta
Posts: 507
Default

Quote:
Purchasing only gives a year warranty. 4 machines in a month tells me the chances of having "something to show for" are unlikely. I bought my 5900, and it still is going strong, which led me to buying the 9242 without hesitation. I've never been one to rent anything, but recent experience has changed that.
Bought my 9242 at Futureshop for $499 and paid $99 for a 4 year, over the counter extended warranty. I am covered for 4 years if anything goes wrong with the unit. Much better than renting for 4 years at $20/month ($960).
kandkt is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 10:15 PM   #329
gtpalmer
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default

In 2 years, I hope to be able to buy something that actually works. I am aware of the math. I'm happy with my decision, as I am sure you are with yours. Let's leave it at that. My issue is that the 9242 is unreliable. Mine had to be rebooted twice tonight alone.
gtpalmer is offline  
Old 2008-02-13, 10:59 PM   #330
scrooloose
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,137
Default

Audio issues aside, my 9242 has been rock solid. I haven't had one crash or reboot since I got it.

-Mike
__________________
Pioneer PRO-110FD | Pioneer VSX-92TXH | BELL 9242 | Panasonic DMP-BD35 | XBOX 360 |WD TV Live Hub
scrooloose is offline  
Reply

Tags
bell 9242, caller id, mts, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.