Bell TV 9242 HD PVR Discussion thread - Page 147 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV PVR, HD PVR and HD Receivers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-01-07, 08:03 PM   #2191
digitalMatt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Default Audio dropouts?

Hi,
I've just received a 9242 pvr to replace my 9200. I've been experiencing audio dropouts every minute or so. It seems to be only on the HD channels. I've searched but the last update was a year ago... Is anyone still expriencing that problem? I'm about to return that receiver. My 9200 never had that issue, I just unplug the old one and plugged in the new one, absolutely no changes to my setup. Good job Bell!

Thanks.
digitalMatt is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-01-07, 09:10 PM   #2192
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,953
Default

Did you run a Check Switch.?
Pinza is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-07, 09:14 PM   #2193
digitalMatt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I did,
Just came of the phone with Bell CSR, apparently the 9242 is very sensitive to the type of HDMI cable used. I have a 40ft in-wall standard speed cable, I would need to upgrade to a high speed v1.4 cable. Monoprice anyone? Seems like sounds is "lagging" behind. I might give it a try.

Thanks.
digitalMatt is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-07, 09:26 PM   #2194
jumpy27
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,259
Default

My new 9242 has a strange problem. When I go to "Daily Schedule" all my future series recordings don't show up, but they can still be found when I select "Timers". Is this a common bug that I can just ignore, or do I need to delete all the timers and redo them? I tried a soft reboot with no difference. Thanks.
jumpy27 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-07, 09:53 PM   #2195
WestCDA
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 846
Default

I use a 3 ft HDMI cable from my 9242 into an AV receiver, then a 6 ft. cable going to an 8 port HDMI splitter, which among other output lines has a 35 ft. Monoprice cable going to an HDMI wall plate, which then has a further 10 ft. HDMI cable going to the TV in that room. No video artifacts or audio dropouts of any kind on that or any set in the house, and all cables are pre 1.4 spec (2007 era HDMI). The 35 ft is tin plated copper 22AWG for in wall installation (CL2 rated), with gold plated contacts - it was around 40 dollars when I bought it. The 3, 6 and 10 ft. cables are 28AWG, and I'm also using 1 ft. port savers on each splitter connection to keep the substantial cable weight off the HDMI ports. Never had a problem with the signal.
WestCDA is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-08, 01:30 AM   #2196
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,647
Default

digitalMatt Don't worry about the speed, but do get the thickest cable you can - 22 ga. and hope that it works. Many people require an HDMI repeater when they go beyond 30', but as noted above, sometimes longer lengths do work. The newer STBs may not be sending as "much" signal, hence the problem. Each device has a different amount of signal.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-08, 11:09 AM   #2197
rogue17
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,096
Default

digitalMatt, please let us know how you make out with a new cable.

57, My brother in law just got his new 9242 replacement and I also noticed audio dropouts. About 1 audio droput per 10 minutes. I really wasn't clocking it. His HDMI cable was bought 6 years ago and it is not very long. Maybe 6 feet.What would you suggest? A newer cable? Or could it be a problem with the 9242.
rogue17 is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-08, 11:13 AM   #2198
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,647
Default

Here's the FAQ on HDMI Issues. Another cable may help if it's the source of the problem.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=71112

If the dropouts are regular, it could be related to a regular handshake (say every 10 minutes) between devices. Try item 4 of the FAQ and read through the rest, as well as the things to check.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-09, 03:26 AM   #2199
jumpy27
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpy27 View Post
My new 9242 has a strange problem. When I go to "Daily Schedule" all my future series recordings don't show up, but they can still be found when I select "Timers". Is this a common bug that I can just ignore, or do I need to delete all the timers and redo them? I tried a soft reboot with no difference. Thanks.
All my timers returned by themselves 24 hours later. I wonder if Bell did something--at least it corrected itself without having me program all the timers again.
jumpy27 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-09, 11:03 AM   #2200
Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 284
Default

The unit probably crashed, did a watchdog reboot in the night, and corrected itself. Used to be stupid common when the 9200 first came out years ago.

I had a similar issue a couple of times with my 9242. Rebooting it with the front panel fixed it.
Wires is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-09, 07:15 PM   #2201
jumpy27
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,259
Default

Mine must have been a different issue because rebooting with the front panel didn't fix it.
jumpy27 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-09, 07:57 PM   #2202
Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 284
Default

I'd try doing the NVRAM reset that's posted on this forum. Mine was having odd tuner two hangs, etc, so I executed the reset, and now it seems fine.

On the 9242, you won't lose your timers (like the instructions say). You'll just lose all the perferences/settings/etc.
Wires is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-12, 02:07 PM   #2203
edv
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 55
Default 9242 Odd Behaviour ?

Just had a strange episode with my wife's 9242.

Woke up in the morning to discover that TV2 had no signal (after 4+ years of working correctly).

Turns out that her 9242 had somehow altered itself in 2 ways:
1) The TRANSPONDER setting for TV2 had somehow reverted to AIR (channel 60) from CABLE (channel 73).
Setting it back to CABLE 73 brought TV2 back to life.
2) Her Channel Guide had totally deleted her preferred channel listing and reverted back to only ALL CHAN, ALL SUB and ALL HD as the available listing choices.

So what happened here? Is this an indicator of troubles to come? A glitch in the nightly update?

Scratching my head here.
__________________
Plasmas:Panny TC60PS34 LG 42PX4D Toshiba 50HPX95 AVR:Yamaha HTR6190B & HTPC
edv is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-12, 04:54 PM   #2204
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,722
Default

Sounds like NVRAM was cleared.
peano is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-01-13, 12:09 PM   #2205
ace66
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 190
Default

Question, how do you change recordings on a 9242 from TV2 to TV1 ? Everything I set to record by default records on TV2 unless I have a second recording at the same time.
ace66 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
bell 9242, caller id, mts, problem

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.