Help finding a Name Brand region free DVD player - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Where Can I buy and general buying discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2007-01-31, 01:59 PM   #1
xtrawidth
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 52
Default Help finding a Name Brand region free DVD player

I am currently in the market for a new dvd player, as my current JVC just gave up the ghost this week...

Trouble is, being an british ex-pat, I need something that will happily play all region discs, PAL or NTSC.

I bought the JVC from somewhere in Chicago, mail-order - though I don't particularly want to go that route again having been stung by UPS charges one too many times.

So I set about trying to find one in Canada. Seems nigh on impossible to get a reputable name brand...

Was looking for a Cambridge Audio player, as I'd read they were region free out of the box. No dealer can seem to agree on a price, or which models are current etc.

I called Bay Bloor Radio in Toronto, as they carry NAD's which I've also read are hackable or whatever. They certainly are all dual standard as in PAL & NTSC... When I asked the guy if they sold any players that could be region free, he told me to go to Yonge and Dundas... When I suggested the NADs they sell might be, he went away, came back, and told me they used to be, but now they're R1 only. I think he's a liar... It seemed like he was just like the sales assistants in Future Shop - the kind that resort to a product's manual for the answer to your question...

Finding these players is not that hard in the UK... Why is it proving so tough over here!?
xtrawidth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2007-01-31, 03:09 PM   #2
eljay
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa (Orleans), ON
Posts: 8,598
Default

Numerous brand-name players can be made region-free with a simple "hack" that usually involves nothing more complicated than pressing a few buttons on the remote. (I have personally "liberated" my OPPO, a Yamaha, a Toshiba and a LG.)

Search this site for "region free hack", or visit VideoHelp.com/DVDhacks.
__________________
MY HT SET-UP (PICS & GEAR LIST)
eljay is offline  
Old 2007-01-31, 03:11 PM   #3
xtrawidth
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 52
Default

teh only issue with that is praying that the manufacturer hasn't updated their firmware to stop the hack...
xtrawidth is offline  
Old 2007-01-31, 03:21 PM   #4
Cyclism
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
Default

If you get the "hack" to work, then why would you then download and install the updated firmware if you are afraid it would stop it?
Cyclism is offline  
Old 2007-01-31, 03:23 PM   #5
xtrawidth
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 52
Default

No you misunderstand...

Say a hack is posted on the web in Nov 2006, and the player is manufacturered in Jan 2007, there's a chance the firmware on the player already won't allow the hack anymore. right?
xtrawidth is offline  
Old 2007-01-31, 03:26 PM   #6
eljay
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa (Orleans), ON
Posts: 8,598
Default

Depending on the player you're eyeing, you may be able to get confirmation of the viability of a posted hack from another owner or from a discussion board. If you're planning to buy a player from a big-box store, you can simply return it if the hack doesn't work.
__________________
MY HT SET-UP (PICS & GEAR LIST)
eljay is offline  
Old 2007-01-31, 03:27 PM   #7
Cyclism
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
Default

True, but you can always check the firmware update site to see if they've implemented the Region free suppression or not and take the risk that the one you're buying was manufactured before the update.
Cyclism is offline  
Old 2007-01-31, 03:29 PM   #8
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 51,828
Default

Do a web search for a place called 220giftcenter for options...

If you decide you may wish to import, do NOT use UPS - they do ding you with lots of charges. Use USPS (the postal service). See the following thread.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=19564
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-02-01, 07:54 AM   #9
sleemo
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,781
Default

Go to videohelp.com, click on "dvd hacks". You'll find what you need in there.
sleemo is offline  
Old 2007-02-03, 02:10 PM   #10
luch
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 35
Default

I import a lot of dvds from the UK and Europe as well... so after a bit of research, ...I found this player:

Philips Progressive Scan 1-Disc DVD Player With DivX Ultra (DVP5140)

I picked it up at BB.

You can set the player to any region you want without any hacks. Perfect.

Cheers.

Last edited by Cyclism; 2007-02-03 at 04:08 PM. Reason: Retail link and discount pricing.
luch is offline  
Old 2007-02-03, 03:33 PM   #11
luch
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 35
Default

^ Well, I guess technically it's a hack, but it works nicely...

How to convert your Philips DVP5140
into a Multi Region DVD Player

Power Up the unit with NO Disc in the tray.
Open the tray
Press the SETUP Button on the remote control
Navigate to the PREFERENCES page using the Right Arrow Key
Press the DOWN ARROW one time to select
Press the 1 button on your remote control
Press the 3 button on your remote control
Press the 8 button on your remote control
Press the 9 button on your remote control
Press the 3 button on your remote control
Press the 1 button on your remote control
The current Region Code Setting will display
Use the UP/DOWN Arrow Keys to select the region required or '0' for All Regions
Press the PLAY Button on the remote control
NOTE - The 0 (zero) in the above sequence represents the Region Code 0 - Region Free. If you want to set to a specific region, just replace the 0 with the region number that you want.
luch is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.