Splitters, Attenuators, Filters, Diplexers, Other Signal Gear - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-04-29, 11:08 AM   #1
HDTV101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,041
Lightbulb Splitters, Attenuators, Filters, Diplexers, Other Signal Gear

Sounds to me like that channel 2 signal is very strong and just overdriving your system. I would add a channel 2 band stop filter http://www.tinlee.com/MATV_Filters.htm

CR7-Series: Semi-Adjacent Bandstop (any channel 5 to 800 MHz)


Tin Lee is a Toronto based company thats the best source around for traps and filters http://www.tinlee.com/
HDTV101 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2005-04-29, 01:07 PM   #2
tigerbangs
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MA and Ottawa
Posts: 42
Default

I have had a similar problem here in Hartford with OTA channel 3, whose transmitter is less than 4 miles from my house, and I have found the a simple attenuator from radio Shack (catalogue #15-623) solves the problem.

PS I just ordered a channel 3 bandstop filter from TinLee Co. I am curious to see how it does...
tigerbangs is offline  
Old 2005-04-30, 12:49 AM   #3
tigerbangs
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MA and Ottawa
Posts: 42
Default

Fortunately, I don't have an adjacency problem with VHF in Hartford, just a very strong channel 3 that seems to overload my analog tuner. The UHF stations here are also very strong, so I don't anticipate much of a problem: I will report back on how well the TinLee channel 3 trap works after it arrives
tigerbangs is offline  
Old 2005-04-30, 09:51 AM   #4
thenewdc
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,630
Default

Is that channel-3 filter a notch filter or does it trap out adjacent channels as well. I know Notch filters are very expensive.
thenewdc is online now  
Old 2005-07-27, 12:39 PM   #5
dvdrat
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 61
Default Combining OTA signal with satellite signal

Hi Folks,

Is there anyway to combine the OTA signal with the satellite signal so that I only need to run one cable into the house?

Here's what I'm suggesting:

(1) Outdoor OTA antenna.
(2) DishPro Plus LNBF (please note that this is DishPro Plus)
(3) Mix OTA Feed and the LNBF Feed into a single RJ6 cable into the house. Call this the Mixed Feed.
(4) Demix the OTA Feed and the LNBF Feed from the Mixed Feed after the cable is in the house.
(5) Take the OTA Feed and connect to the OTA input on my 9200
(6) Take the LNBF Feed and using a DishPro Plus separator, connect into SAT1 and SAT2 inputs on the 9200.

If this is possible, what would I need on the outside to "mix" the OTA and LNBF Feeds in step (3) and what would I need to "de-mix" the two singles into the OTA and LNBF Feeds. The important thing is, is that I'm using DishPro Plus and need to use the DishPro Plus separator to split the signals for my two tuners.

If this isn't possible, then I'll be stuff without an OTA antenna (can't run another cable and no way will she let me keep the "ugly" antenna over the TV).

- dvdrat
dvdrat is offline  
Old 2005-07-27, 12:51 PM   #6
CTVdude
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Agincourt (401-McCowan)
Posts: 202
Default

yes.. you didn't say where you are from... but if you are in Toronto, goto Sayal (on Vic Park) and buy 2 Diplexer. One for combining the SAT and OTA and the other to split the OTA and SAT



found 2 on ebay for you

http://cgi.********/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...791504468&rd=1
CTVdude is offline  
Old 2005-07-27, 01:28 PM   #7
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTVdude
yes.. you didn't say where you are from...
You folks should go into your "User CP" and add your town, city, province to your personal data so it shows up in every post.

Regarding combiners I have no expericence with the DishPro Plus but with other DBS systems this is commonly done so I'm guessing you should have no problems with it.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-07-27, 02:59 PM   #8
Angelfish
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Keele/401
Posts: 450
Default Diplexor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelfish
I have just recently installed a BEV 6100. I would like to hookup an indoor antenna and see what off air channels I can pull in. Unfortunately I can't install an antenna outside (don't want to drill another hole in the wall). And my system is located in my basement. Any suggestions as to which antenna might give me a resonable result?
TIA
I was wondering if I could use a couple of diplexors instead of running another cable into the house and then split the cable at both the dish
side and the receiver side? If so does anyone have any specific suggestions
on how to go about this?
Angelfish is offline  
Old 2005-07-27, 03:05 PM   #9
dvdrat
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 61
Default

Sorry guys, I've updated my location in my profile (more information to follow when I get a chance).

I'll try these diplexers (there's a Sayal close to me in Mississauga). Maybe I'll buy a hobby box as well, so that I can hide the diplexer and DPP separator while I'm there...

Thanks guys!

- dvdrat
dvdrat is offline  
Old 2005-07-30, 01:03 PM   #10
michaelC
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Default

Is there any degradation of signal strength from duplexers ? I am thinking of doing the same thing, but my Sat signal is already marginal to begin with due to a long run.

Also, how sensitive is the OTA signal to long cable runs on RG6s ? If you need to split a OTA UHF signal, what frequency splitter would you need ? I guess a better phase question is, what is the frequency of the UHF signals from OTA ?
michaelC is offline  
Old 2005-07-30, 02:15 PM   #11
Tom.F.1
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,964
Default

UHF TV is 470-806MHz. Sat out of the LNB can be 900-2150 MHz. A plain splitter will lose 3dB, half your signal, every time you split it. With a diplexer that is made for the purpose of splitting or combining TV & sat, it is frequncy selective, so you loose much less than a plain splitter. Normally, you'll loose .5 dB at every connection. Long runs of cable will loose the high freq first.
Tom.F.1 is offline  
Old 2005-07-30, 09:24 PM   #12
michaelC
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Default

Thanks Tom.F.1........

I just realized that I have an 5x8 Perfect Vision multi-switch already, so all I have to do is take my UHF input into that baby and stick couple of duplexer at the other ends and I will have OTA HD on all my Sat connections........Piece of cake.
michaelC is offline  
Old 2005-07-31, 09:04 AM   #13
HDTV101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,041
Default

Diplexers will work fine with Dish pro plus. The only problem you might have is you can not use a mast mount amplifier for the OTA antenna. The reason being is that the one cable can only carry one DC power feed (Up to the roof) and the Diplexers pass DC only on the satellite side of things since the LNB's need DC power. If you must use an OTA amp then you will have to run 2 cables down, one for satellite and one for the OTA, run them into your garage or basement... have the power supply for the OTA amp in the line before the Diplexer then you run the one coax to your homes wiring and up to the TV's and there you have the other Diplexer take the signals apart... one to Satellite and the other to OTA.
HDTV101 is online now  
Old 2005-08-02, 05:00 PM   #14
michaelC
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Mid Town Toronto
Posts: 163
Default

I am going to do this in the next couple of days when the weather gets better. Basically I have a 5x8 multi-switch already, which has a port for OTA antenna signals. My plan is to mount an outside antenna and take it into the multi-switch port, and the have duplexers at the other ends of my Sat dish receivers. Essentially I will have one cable going to all the receivers with both OTA and Sat signals from the multi-switch which also acts as a duplexer, and the a 2x1 duplexers on the other end.

I have gathered that the duplexer will only pass DC power from the Sat Dish receiver only, and as well it does not degrade the Sat Dish frequenct too much (900Mhz-2400Mhz ?!?). Apparently OTA UHF signal is somewhere between 400Mhz to 850Mhz........

The other reason I haven't done it yet is due to the fact that my masked antenna has a built-in power amplifier, which means that somehow I need to feed it DC power with a indoor wall wart before feeding it into my multi-switch which is located outside the house........ It is kinda complicated but I have my game plan already.

If you don't have a multi-switch then you will need a duplexer to combine the signals before sending it inside the house.....

I hope this helps. I will let you know how it work out for me once I have it installed.
michaelC is offline  
Old 2005-08-05, 08:30 AM   #15
Yaamon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Default Splitters 3 way vs 4 way signal loss

I currently have a 2 way splitter and its says 3.5db loss per output.

Iam getting a dish 811 rec that has a built in off air hdtv tuner and looked on a 3 way splitter that I have and noticed one output is 3.5db loss and the other two are 7 db loss.

Is there a 3 way that the loss is only 3.5db on the outputs and it not 4 ways all 3.5db ?

As a test last night I used the 7db output in my bedroom and did not notice any loss on the receiver signal meter, actually I thought the weaker NBC and Toronto one went up one bar. The cable from the power supply to the splitter and to the receiver is no more than 3 feet.

I used the 3.5db output to the family room and terminated the other 7db output.
__________________
CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
Reply

Tags
antenna, dtv

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.