PC boots until the xp logo and then dies - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Computing > Windows Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2006-12-10, 09:32 PM   #1
jch
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Default PC boots until the xp logo and then dies

Hi, I have an Emachine with Windows XP Home version. My problem is when i turn the computer on, it boots until the xp logo and then dies; the monitor with no signal goes black.
1. I like to reformat the hard drive (if that is the problem) but when I boot with the XP CD, there was no option for formating the HD; only Install, Repair or Cancell.
2. I boot the computer in Safe mode, it dies after printing some steps.
Anything I can tried? or Can someone tell me what is the next step in the Windows XP bootup sequence after displaying the Windows Logo on the screen? Thanks in advance.
jch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2006-12-10, 09:50 PM   #2
kgeorge78
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 731
Default

reformat.

Use the install CD. Click new install. It will then ask you to format. Dont to a quick format. Do a low level full format.

Install your drivers when your done and go from there.
kgeorge78 is offline  
Old 2006-12-10, 11:01 PM   #3
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

I had the exact same problem recently with my daughters computer.

I was going to format but decided to try a repair. It did work and the nice thing was I didn't need to re-install a lot of programs.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2006-12-10, 11:06 PM   #4
shawguy
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winnipeg with MTS Ultimate TV, MTS Lightning 10 & VOIP Phone Service.
Posts: 3,280
Default

Yeah I would try a repair first, because you can always do a re-format if that doesn't work, but if it does, it saves you ALOT of time and effort (I learnt the hard way) and also like kgeorge78 states, low level formatting is the best way to go, just don't accidently hit the reset button half way through it....another learnt the hard way experience....I love computers. ha ha ha.

Good luck
__________________
- My Shaw Phone Review *UPDATED*
- User 7825 on the Shaw Community Forums
- I do NOT work for Shaw or have any connections to the company
shawguy is offline  
Old 2006-12-10, 11:40 PM   #5
diogen
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jch View Post
....I boot the computer in Safe mode, it dies after printing some steps.
What is the last line you can read before it dies (last library it is trying to load)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgeorge78 View Post
...Dont to a quick format. Do a low level full format.
Full format is not the same as low level format.
WinXP install CD doesn't do low level formatting, only hard drive utilities from the HD manufacturer do.

Diogen.
diogen is offline  
Old 2006-12-11, 02:28 AM   #6
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,962
Default

Some BIOSes have a low level hard drive format capability too.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2006-12-11, 09:58 AM   #7
diogen
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
Some BIOSes have a low level hard drive format capability too.
True.
But with latest generation 250+GB drives those generic tools better be avoided.

Diogen.
diogen is offline  
Old 2006-12-11, 06:23 PM   #8
kgeorge78
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
I had the exact same problem recently with my daughters computer.

I was going to format but decided to try a repair. It did work and the nice thing was I didn't need to re-install a lot of programs.

Hugh,

When u go to the repair console, how do you do a repair?

Does it reinstall the necessary files.

Thanks
kgeorge78 is offline  
Old 2006-12-11, 11:48 PM   #9
I_Want_My_HDTV
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,297
Default

It's been some time since I did this. IIRC, you will see a prompt that says new installation or repair. Choose repair (not repair console.) You will need an XP installation disk that has the same service pack as the PC. i.e If the PC is at SP2, you will need an SP2 installation disk. Original XP disks can be upgraded to SP1 or SP2. If you need to upgrade your WinXP disk, do an internet search for "slipstreaming Windows XP". If the repair works run Windows update.
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
Old 2006-12-12, 03:03 AM   #10
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diogen View Post
But with latest generation 250+GB drives those generic tools better be avoided.
You didn't say why. I'm referring to recent boards that understand SATA and large disks. What is the catch regarding a non-OS reformat when you cannot boot an OS and have no other recourse?
stampeder is offline  
Old 2006-12-12, 10:59 AM   #11
diogen
.
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
I'm referring to recent boards that understand SATA and large disks.
I understood that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder View Post
What is the catch regarding a non-OS reformat when you cannot boot an OS and have no other recourse?
I think we talk about different things.
A low level reformat utility from hardrive manufacturer does what an OS cannot do.
I've seen some Tyan server boards (at least at the time of PIII) that had the option of low level reformat for hardrives.
With the latest breed of large drives (NCQ, cache algorithms, etc.) generic low-level formatting tools are not recommended.

Diogen.
diogen is offline  
Old 2007-01-15, 03:21 PM   #12
CanucksRock
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 88
Default

Hi - I encountered a PC with this problem on the weekend. It would not load windows - just kept rebooting once it showed the error.

So I searched the Microsoft Support - this was the resolution

Boot with the Windows XP CD - select repair.

When your at the C prompt type - chkdsk /r

Worked like a charm! PC rebooted no problem afterwards.
CanucksRock is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.