Signal Amplifiers (Amps, Preamps, Distro Amps) - See Chart in Post #1 - Page 145 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-10-06, 04:55 PM   #2161
intravino
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beloeil
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
What do you mean by that - you "reboot" the Kitz once a week?
It's connected to a Sanyo 19'' LCD, the Kitz power injector is plugged on a power bar. I turn-on the TV once a week.


Quote:
Also - how does this senstivity to static appear? I've never noticed an issue with my Kitz, then again, not sure what I'd be looking for.
For me, it's was lost of gain but big time lost of gain. You only get the strong channels. At the end you get nothing.
intravino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-10-06, 08:48 PM   #2162
byebye_cable
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 502
Default

And then how do you fix it - just unplug & plug back in?
byebye_cable is offline  
Old 2010-10-07, 11:27 AM   #2163
intravino
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Beloeil
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
And then how do you fix it - just unplug & plug back in?

Yes, but after while it's does not fix the problem. I guess a FET or something get toasted.

It was sent to Kitz for warranty repair. Quick turnaround to get the new one.
intravino is offline  
Old 2010-10-08, 12:56 AM   #2164
frontpl8
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Strathmore, Ab
Posts: 214
Default Tin Lee Pre Amp

Has any one tried the Tin Lee pre amps? If so how are they?
frontpl8 is offline  
Old 2010-10-08, 11:27 AM   #2165
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default

Yep, see Post #2130. Unfortunately our site's search tool doesn't work well with short terms like Tin and Lee.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 12:13 AM   #2166
FiguredMaple
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 13
Default CM-0747 power consumption

Hello everyone
I am using a 7777 and was wondering how much power its power supply (CM-0747) would draw when my TV is off?

Thanks!

Last edited by stampeder; 2010-10-11 at 12:53 AM. Reason: split here
FiguredMaple is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 12:42 AM   #2167
ota_canuck
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,409
Default

The CM7777 Model 0747power supply uses 6watts while plugged in. The usage doesn't change whether the tv is on or off.
__________________
3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital
ota_canuck is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 09:05 PM   #2168
FiguredMaple
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 13
Default

Perfect, thanks for the prompt response!!
FiguredMaple is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 09:43 PM   #2169
Schmerpy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 273
Default Appropriate pre-amp for my setup?

I have an attic mount of a Clearstream2 C2 in the Yonge/Finch area. It is connected directly to my television with a 50 foot run of RG6 and the antenna is pointed towards buffalo. I live in a four storey townhome, so the elevation of the attic is fair.

Reception is good with some buffalo stations dropping out from day to day. Results vary depending on placement of the antenna.

I'm thinking of trying a pre-amp. Do I need to care about analog station power or just the digital station powers in determining if overload will be an issue?

TV fools says my most powerful digital stations is 5.1 at -34.6 DBm followed by 9.1 at -39 DBm. The most powerful analog station is 5 at -14.5 DBm.

Will a Channel Master 7777 cause problems? Keep in mind this is an attic mount, so the actual received power would be less than indicated.

What level of gain should I be looking for in a pre-amp?
Schmerpy is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 09:53 PM   #2170
DdDave
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oak Ridges, On
Posts: 405
Default

Schmerpy, the rule of thumb is 10dB over your losses. If you only have 50 ft of cable with no splitters, then you will only have about 3db of loss, so 13dB would be sufficient. Let me be the first to suggest that you move the antenna out of the attic before trying the pre-amp, you will get much better results with minimal cost and may find a pre-amp is not required.
DdDave is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 09:57 PM   #2171
Schmerpy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 273
Default

Indeed, I would love to put it outdoors. But this is a townhome development and people are picky and are in close proximity.

As it is, I only need to clear up some intermittent blockiness on 4.1 and 29.1 and bring it 7.1, which has been lost in my current antenna position (although, overall, this seems to be the best and most consistent position for the antenna). Weird thing is, this is the first position that lost 7.1.

If I can clear up those three stations, I'm a happy man. 2.1 comes in with 5 bars and all Toronto stations are rock solid. 17.1 is also reliable in this position.

EDIT: just checked, and 7.1 is back with 4/5 bars. WEIRD.

So, does everyone else think that a 13dB amp is more than enough?
Schmerpy is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 10:36 PM   #2172
ota_canuck
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,409
Default

Schmerpy;

Before you invest in a $100 preamp, go to canadian tire a get a $30 signal booster amp to try out first. It may be all you need to avhieve your goal. It simply connects at the bottom end of your 50ft downlead cable and then use a short cable from the booster to the TV's antenna input. If that is not enough, then return the booster amp to Canadian Tire within 2 weeks and then look into a 13-17db preamp. You don't want a preamp too strong being that you're in the powerhouse area under the CN tower broadcasts. With any amplification, you may find that your antenna aim will have to be a little more to the westerly direction to avoid tuner overload from the Toronto stations. Aiming more west with an amp may also pull in CHCH from Hamilton. Again, if you do try a preamp, make sure the store has a return policy just in case it creates more problems than it solves.
__________________
3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital
ota_canuck is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 10:42 PM   #2173
Schmerpy
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 273
Default

Thanks. I tried one from The Source and it did absolutely nothing - no increase in signal quality whatsoever on any channel.

I have gotten the Hamilton channels depending on antenna placement.
Schmerpy is offline  
Old 2010-10-11, 10:49 PM   #2174
ota_canuck
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schmerpy View Post
Thanks. I tried one from The Source and it did absolutely nothing - no increase in signal quality whatsoever on any channel.

I have gotten the Hamilton channels depending on antenna placement.
I have a feeling that a preamp will do more harm than good, but there's nothing to lose by trying one and then returning it if it doesn't work for your situation. The C2 already has a strong 10db UHF and some local VHF capability, so those very local Toronto signals could be giving you problems even without amplification. If the preamp doesn't work, then maybe using a big 4ftx4ft deflector placed near the Toronto side of the antenna to reduce the strength of the Toronto signals might help.
__________________
3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital
ota_canuck is offline  
Old 2010-10-12, 11:03 AM   #2175
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default

Also pick up some inexpensive coax-type attenuators from The Source or an electronics supply outfit as cheap overload insurance. If you pick up three 3dB attenuators you can test with 3, 6, or 9 dB to see which level works best, and if there is no joy you still have them around for the future while returning the amp.
stampeder is offline  
Reply

Tags
amplifier, dtv, ota, preamp, signal strength

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 AM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.