Tablo For OTA DVR Streaming - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2014-01-06, 02:49 PM   #1
TabloTV
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Lightbulb Tablo For OTA DVR Streaming

Hi guys!

Just wanted to let you all know that Tablo is now available for pre-order at www.TabloTV.com.

All pre-orders include a FREE 1 year subscription to guide data, a $49.99 value.
TabloTV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2014-01-06, 11:55 PM   #2
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,501
Default Tablo Guide vs. Channel Master

^^^^
Admittedly, I'm not a fan of Channel Master. But their upcoming DVR offers free guide data for the life of the device. Free is better than $50/annum...even if Tablo offers the first year free (pre-orders only?).

Realizing that Tablo's product differs from a typical DVR, can you comment on why someone would prefer to pay for guide data vs. the free offering from a competitor such as CM?
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2014-01-07, 12:26 PM   #3
interdit_450
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 389
Default

Hello Jase88,

Also don't forget Tablo is a "hub-style" DVR, it streams your OTA signal to multiple devices on your home network, unlike the CM DVR+ which connects only to one TV (well, unless you're investing in a SlingBox for more $$$ up front).

If you were to buy the Tablo Quad tuner, the subscription guide data would be available for all four devices making a $50 charge once a year probably worth it.

Besides this, I must admit I am a little dissappointed that a basic program guide (like HD HomeRun) isn't available for free and the $50/year guide is a "premium" option. The problem with paying for mandatory guide info is nothing gaurantees the cost won't go up in future years, and then you're kind of stuck as you invested in the hardware.

But besides this small hiccup, Tablo does seem like a cool product, and better yet is Canadian!
interdit_450 is offline  
Old 2014-01-07, 12:53 PM   #4
interdit_450
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 389
Lightbulb Tablo For OTA DVR Streaming

Hello,

has anyone had experience with TabloTV yet? Looks like they started pre-selling this week as they launched the device at CES, got some pretty good reviews from CNET.

It's a home-grown (Canadian, out of Ottawa) OTA tuner that can stream DTV from an antenna to up to four devices on your home network (depending on which model you purchase).

Just wondering how heavy this would be on my home network router ... I would stream via WiFi to a Roku 2 XD using the default Bell Fibe internet WiFi router (2Wire 2701)

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2014-01-07 at 01:59 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread
interdit_450 is offline  
Old 2014-01-07, 01:28 PM   #5
gdkitty
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 693
Default

Sounds very similar to the HDHOMERUN boxes.

Maybe someone who has one of these, might be able to shed some light on how much those devices use (would think it would be similar)
__________________
GDKitty
Rogers 9865, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Onkyo HT-R690.
gdkitty is offline  
Old 2014-01-10, 02:39 PM   #6
North_of_Calgary
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,236
Default

Not sure whether to try the CM DVR+ or the Tablo. The CM DVR+ is nice in the sense that it comes with a remote control, a direct HDMI connection and no monthly guide fees. On the other hand the Tablo supports multiple devices concurrently (including Roku and ATV) without having to purchase a slingbox.

I guess the cost of the slingbox would match the Tablo lifetime subscription price.

I don't know - too bad no-one can make the "ultimate" box. Add free guide info to Tablo and they're pretty close.
North_of_Calgary is online now  
Old 2014-01-10, 05:01 PM   #7
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,501
Default

North_Of_Calgary, if you read further back in the thread, you'll notice that I received confirmation from Channel Master that their new DVR's guide will work in Canada for Canadian and American stations.
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2014-01-10, 10:38 PM   #8
North_of_Calgary
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,236
Default

^ Ok, sorry Jase - I went back prior to the DVR+ release date but I didn't notice that. I didn't go through all 500 threads.

Anyway, as much as there were some nice features with this I decided to order the Tablo instead.
North_of_Calgary is online now  
Old 2014-04-04, 11:25 PM   #9
North_of_Calgary
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,236
Default

Finally received my Tablo. Initial comments:

Pros:
+ PQ is fantastic - playing back on a 65" LED so far - great HD
+ Interface is great on the iPad/browser
+ Native Roku app
+ Easy setup

Cons:
+ Can't install the Android app and hence use it with the Chromecast on my Nexus 5 (requires a tablet with Android 4.2+)
+ No DD5.1 pass-through
+ Roku app is kind of basic (can't erase or create new recordings yet)

Overall it's pretty good though considering that it's only their first week of GA. Certainly has potential if they keep up the development/updates. Particularly if they add some native TV apps for the leading smart TVs.

For day 1 I'll give it a big thumbs up.
North_of_Calgary is online now  
Old 2014-04-05, 12:15 AM   #10
Krydor
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 477
Default

My concern with Tablo (the more I see of it, the more I want it) is commercial skipping. How quick on the Roku and is it adjustable? I like to set up for 1 min per press, 20 seconds back.
Krydor is offline  
Old 2014-04-05, 01:12 AM   #11
North_of_Calgary
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,236
Default

Playback on the roku of recorded content is very snappy. Live TV a little less so.

Roku doesn't have a skip forward at all for anything. Hence not the tablo either. It does have a skip back 10 seconds though.

On the iPad the Tablo had a 30 sec skip forward and a 20 second skip back.
North_of_Calgary is online now  
Old 2014-04-05, 09:45 AM   #12
krusty79
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crabtree,QC (Joliette) CM-3679, Pre-Amp Channel Master Modèle ??? (environ 20 ans)
Posts: 104
Default Tablo in Journal de Montréal

This morning, there's an article in Le Journal de Montréal about Tablo.


Original article in French => CLICK HERE <=

Google translate in English => CLICK HERE <=
__________________
Here's my TVFOOL
krusty79 is offline  
Old 2014-04-06, 08:29 AM   #13
krusty79
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crabtree,QC (Joliette) CM-3679, Pre-Amp Channel Master Modèle ??? (environ 20 ans)
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krusty79 View Post
This morning, there's an article in Le Journal de Montréal about Tablo.


Original article in French => CLICK HERE <=

Google translate in English => CLICK HERE <=
CLICK HERE for the link in English (Google translate).
__________________
Here's my TVFOOL
krusty79 is offline  
Old 2014-04-16, 06:06 PM   #14
Wheelman
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 210
Default

I wish Tablo's site would stop saying HDTV content received thru OTA is uncompressed.
Wheelman is online now  
Old 2014-04-20, 12:04 AM   #15
roger1818
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wheelman View Post
I wish Tablo's site would stop saying HDTV content received thru OTA is uncompressed.
Espicably since the Tablo transcodes everything to H.264 compression.
__________________
Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.