Best price for Rogers 8300 PVR - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Digital Forum Help and Administration > Archives > 2006

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2006-04-15, 10:16 AM   #1
PakMan
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Question Best price for Rogers 8300 PVR

Hi,
Where can I get a good price to buy the Rogers PVR?
Future Shop has it for $399

Are there any other deals out there? or is it pretty much a set price?
PakMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2006-04-15, 01:28 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,517
Default

You may wish to consider the SA8300HD. Yes it's a little costlier, however,it has 160GB HDD instead of 80 and it also has HD capabilities, so you can watch the HD channels. With the HD, you'll also be able to get DD5.1 sound from those channels (even if watching on an SDTV).

See the Digital Home FAQs "What's available in DD5.1" "Rogers HD offering", etc.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-04-25, 10:23 PM   #3
gordonb
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ottawa (Skyline)
Posts: 520
Default

Dan,

Rogers sets the price so unless they are offering a promotion that's pretty much it.

I bought the 8300 then returned it 29 days later for the 8300HD (they will let you do this). I wanted it primarily for the TOSlink optical output to go to my HT-in-a-box for the DD5.1 sound but the extra hard disk space also came in handy.

Be warned though. It set off a chain reaction of upgrade "itis". I started watching more and more HD content on the enhanced widescreen mode on my 27" Sony SD TV and eventually HAD to buy a 32" widescreen LCD. Lately I've been recording so much HD I've been running out of disk space so I installed an external drive. And I've been building a Home Theater PC for archiving content.

The wife mentioned the other day when we were watching a show live that she hadn't actually had to watch a commercial in months. Having two small kids this box has changed our evenings from "what's on tv" to "what have we got recorded?" so we end up watching what we want to see rather than settling for what's on.

Our 6 year old can get up on Saturday mornings and turn on the system and it goes automatically to Treehouse!

Regards,

Bruce
gordonb is offline  
Old 2006-04-28, 12:00 AM   #4
PakMan
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Thumbs up

Thanks for the info Bruce...it's like a whole new world I discovered since I got the box.
I think I'll try renting it and see what happens.
I'll have to compare notes with you at work.
D
PakMan is offline  
Old 2006-04-29, 01:52 PM   #5
Skidz
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 6o4
Posts: 452
Default

Apperently if you tell your CSR that bell offered you a HD PVR for free for 2 years,rogers will match and give you one check out this post by nepean19 @ RFDhave fun lucky rogers bastards
__________________
The Older I Get,The Better I Was
Skidz is offline  
Old 2006-05-16, 12:03 AM   #6
audioNeil
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default My 8300HD only has 80GB

Quote:
Originally Posted by 57
You may wish to consider the SA8300HD. Yes it's a little costlier, however,it has 160GB HDD instead of 80 and it also has HD capabilities, so you can watch the HD channels.
I have been renting an 8300HD for a couple of years (as soon as they first appeared at Rogers), and it only has 80GB of HD space. Does this mean that if I trade it in, they will give me a 160GB one? Or does that only come with bought units?

Thanks,
Neil
audioNeil is offline  
Old 2006-05-16, 10:14 AM   #7
gordonb
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ottawa (Skyline)
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioNeil
I have been renting an 8300HD for a couple of years (as soon as they first appeared at Rogers), and it only has 80GB of HD space. Does this mean that if I trade it in, they will give me a 160GB one? Or does that only come with bought units?

Thanks,
Neil
Neil,

If it has a 80GB HDD then it's the 8300 which is a Standard Definition (SD) unit not the 8300HD which is the high definition unit. If, by some weird chance you do have a 8300HD and it really does only have a 80GB HDD then I would try to exchange it.
gordonb is offline  
Old 2006-05-16, 12:01 PM   #8
gordonb
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ottawa (Skyline)
Posts: 520
Default Correction - Some 8000HDs had 80GB Disks

Quote:
Originally Posted by gordonb
Neil,

If it has a 80GB HDD then it's the 8300 which is a Standard Definition (SD) unit not the 8300HD which is the high definition unit. If, by some weird chance you do have a 8300HD and it really does only have a 80GB HDD then I would try to exchange it.
Neil,

If you've had it for years then, perhaps it is a really early 8000HD some of which had 80GB drives
gordonb is offline  
Old 2006-05-16, 01:02 PM   #9
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,517
Default

I was in on the first day, and Rogers didn't offer any of those early 80 GB HD models produced by SA mostly for testing. If anyone has one of those early units, they probably didn't get it through "regular channels".

I don't believe any service providers offered HD SA DVRs with less than the 160 GB HDD. 160 GB provides for about 20 hours of HD. An 80 GB HDD would provide less than 10 hours.

See the Digital Home FAQ "tips for SA STBs". In the diagnostics you can see the type/size of the HDD.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-05-22, 02:02 AM   #10
schteevie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 27
Default

I am signed up to get HD from ROGERS, (Toronto Area)
I have begun doing research about settings for my Pioneer 4360.

I didn't think to ask Rogers what model the PVR was, but based on my browsing forums, it seems the 8300 is a model number that comes up a lot - is that the unit?
anyone have info on it in terms of specs like size and input/outputs?

I specifically need to know the size to see how I will fit it into my components shelf...

thnx
schteevie is offline  
Old 2006-05-22, 09:59 AM   #11
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,517
Default

There are two models - the SA8300HD, which is the latest (and slightly smaller) unit and the SA8000HD, which is older and slightly larger (the size of typical components. Try to get the 8300.

The unit has all the outputs (DVI on the 8000, HDMI on the 8300). See the sticky at the top of this forum for the "official" post on the 8300.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-07-08, 03:36 PM   #12
AK47
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

so the price is 600$ for 8300HD PVR?
anywhere we can get it for cheaper?
AK47 is offline  
Old 2006-07-08, 03:46 PM   #13
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,517
Default

Look in the Digital deals section. It's often on for about $500 at Future Shop or Best Buy.

http://digitalhomecanada.com/forum/f...splay.php?f=70

The price is currently back up to $600, but it's been on for around $500...
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-07-08, 07:31 PM   #14
AK47
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

do you think rogers would match this offer from Bell?

http://www.bell.ca/shopping/62129.details?tab=PRICING

they're giving out $315 credits on two year contract

so it's basically one year free rental ($25 * 12 months = $300)

i'm thinking about calling rogers and make them match a one year free rental for SA8300HD
AK47 is offline  
Old 2006-07-08, 07:48 PM   #15
jayme1009
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nepean
Posts: 660
Default

They may match it on a 2 year contract like bell.
jayme1009 is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.