Free TS Video Stream Editor? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Digital Forum Help and Administration > Archives > 2006

Old 2006-01-25, 05:59 PM   #1
James Nickerson

Default Free TS Video Stream Editor?

I've been recording shows from my DCT 6412 cable box to my PC using CAPDVHS and converting the .ts file to DVD using HDTV2DVD. Almost every time I capture the .ts file it comes out unreadable by the HDTV2DVD software. I have been using another software package caled VideoRedoPlus to fix the file and to edit out the commercials. The VideoRedoPlus software is only a 15 day trial and I was wondering if there were any free options for editing software out there? I'm pretty new at this so any help/advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
James Nickerson is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 2006-01-25, 08:24 PM   #2
zancid1

Are you saying that you're trying to convert to DVD format? All HDTV2MPEG does is convert from transport stream to MPEG native. Ironically it doesn't do that that well. That program is best used to do commercial scans and cuts as well as breaking the TS steam into DVD sized bits.

Everyting I've read indicates that yes you can make awesome DVD's from HDTV source but the effort and time is significant w.r.t. to re-encoding and most say why.....

Personally I cap the TS file.

Run it through mpeg2repair then use HDTV2MPEG latest version for very nice commerical detect and cut.

c
zancid1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2006-01-26, 07:14 PM   #3
James Nickerson