ATSC Tuners in Satellite or Cable Receivers - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2003-10-20, 03:02 AM   #1
tvman
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: saskatchewan
Posts: 312
Lightbulb ATSC Tuners in Satellite or Cable Receivers

i read on another forum that we will need one or both of these modules to receive certain or all hd channels in the future, can someone enlighten me on what these actually are, is it something that plugs into the back of the receiver?
tvman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2003-10-20, 08:40 AM   #2
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

8vsb refers to a module that is an add-on to the 6000 receiver. It's required if you wish to receiver HD signals OTA (over the air).
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2003-10-20, 02:04 PM   #3
tvman
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: saskatchewan
Posts: 312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by human
8vsb refers to a module that is an add-on to the 6000 receiver. It's required if you wish to receiver HD signals OTA (over the air).
ok, thanks for the info, thats nothing i'll need out here in the boonies, any idea about 8psk, thanks again.
tvman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2003-10-20, 06:50 PM   #4
jurassicjockey
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 218
Default

Dish is gradually going to shift their programming over to 8psk. Right now I thing only Discovery HD is 8psk on Dish. No idea when Bell will start this.
jurassicjockey is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2003-10-20, 09:37 PM   #5
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Their HD programming that is, there are too many regular non 8PSK receivers out there to replace to switch the rest over. If they were to do only HDTV in 8PSK, they would
only have to replace their first gen HDTV receiver, the 5000. To change everything, they'd have to lanch 8PSK capable normal receivers, an wait for the exising ones to die out.
  Quick reply to this message
Old 2003-10-21, 02:44 AM   #6
tvman
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: saskatchewan
Posts: 312
Default

and the reason for going to 8psk is? Better picture quality i hope, cause alot of the hd quality to me right now isn't as good as i had hoped for.
tvman is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2003-10-21, 08:10 AM   #7
jurassicjockey
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 218
Default

The reason for 8psk is more channels/transponder, and thanks ClassicSat, the HD programing ops:
jurassicjockey is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 12:48 PM   #8
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default Finally bought a 8vsb module for my 6000

Bought it off of ebay and should have it in a day or two.

Any suggestions on antenna's for west end Toronto. Any advice on setup? Anybody have an updated list of what Digital Channels I might expect to get?

Inquiring minds need to know!
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 01:57 PM   #9
james99
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,793
Default

If this was posted by somebody else, i would say: use the search button :lol:

I picked up the Channel Master 4228 from a certain someone who posts here.

From Buffalo, you should be able to get 39-1,39-2,39-3 (CBS HD, a nice dopler radar map and UPN). NBC is a 33-1. PBS is at 43-1.

ABC should be alive and kicking soon.

CITY HD is at 53-1.
james99 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 02:28 PM   #10
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

I agree on the channel lineup I should have searched. It was a follow-up to my 8vsb question.

I'm just so excited about getting the damn thing, I lost my head!

I know we had several members install the 8vsb four or five months ago and I'm interested in follow-ups from them, now that they've been using it awhile.

As far as the Antenna, I was wondering if there was a DISH add-on that I could buy as opposed to a stand alone.

I'm also wondering where do I place the antenna for best reception?

ahh, so many questions so little time.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 04:08 PM   #11
HDTVOakville
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oakville, Ont.
Posts: 144
Default

Human,
I can offer a few follow-up comments about the 6000/8VSB setup. I have the same 4228 as James99 and I am using a Channelmaster 0264 pre-amp. My source was the same esteemed member of this forum. As I posted once before, I am on my second 8VSB module - the first died after about 6 months (noisy, inoperable fan and overheating). The second module is OK so far. The 8VSB tuner always makes some noise. As to antennas, I found height to be critical. I believe that there are outdoor antennas that clip on to your satellite dish, but I would expect that they would be less effective than a dedicated UHF antenna. My antenna is in the garage roof about 10-12 feet off the ground. I may go to a dedicated outdoor mast with rotor next summer. I have been watching for WKBW to test on Channel 38 - nothing yet. WGRZ seems to have added "grey bars" recently to all 4x3 material. Keep us advised of your progress. Finally, I will probably to go a stand-alone ATSC tuner before too long, as they are independant of your Expressvu subscription (i.e. no Expressvu subscription, the 8VSB tuner won't work.)
HDTVOakville is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 05:19 PM   #12
Splash
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North York
Posts: 1,067
Default

here you go!!

http://cgi.*********/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=15064
Splash is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 09:53 PM   #13
jurassicjockey
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 218
Default

From what I've heard on the performance of the Terks, a coat hanger would work better. Much better than the Terk is this http://cgi.*********/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=15064 and it's even in Ontario.
jurassicjockey is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 10:45 PM   #14
Plugplay
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassicjockey
From what I've heard on the performance of the Terks, a coat hanger would work better. Much better than the Terk is this http://cgi.*********/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=15064 and it's even in Ontario.
I picked one of these up before I got my 8VSB upgrade for my 6000 also. I get CBS in the high 90's and NBC in the high 80s. However, I cannot get CITY. I think this antenna is just great.

Keep in mind however, I'm on the 21st floor of a condo!
Plugplay is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2004-01-13, 11:41 PM   #15
jurassicjockey
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ayr, Ontario
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plugplay
Keep in mind however, I'm on the 21st floor of a condo!
Yesss, a couple of hundred of feet in the air is a wonderful thing. :lol: :lol:
jurassicjockey is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 PM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.