LCD Monitors with HDCP - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Personal Computer (HTPC) and Media Extenders

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-12-02, 05:45 PM   #1
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default LCD Monitors with HDCP

Since its going to become an issue in the next year, I thought it might be a good idea to start a thread listing monitors that include HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection) .

HDCP will be required when trying to play back Blu-Ray or HD DVD discs on your computer.

The first monitor I'm adding to the is one that I want to buy the Gateway FPD2185WH which is great looking 21" widescreen monitor.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2006-10-16, 11:04 AM   #2
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

I'm resurrecting this thread because I think it will be an issue in coming months.

Some related discussions:
Be worried !! Microsoft's OPM for the masses

Apple Cinema Display with Rogers Digital Cable?
hugh is offline  
Old 2006-10-16, 02:41 PM   #3
testikoff
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 785
Default

Samsung 19'' 940BW is 1440x900 HDCP-compliant LCD monitor. It accepts 720p HDTV signal and displays it cropped to 16x10.
testikoff is offline  
Old 2006-10-16, 03:26 PM   #4
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

Here are four more with Canadian prices effective October 16th
  • HP 21" HDTV-Ready LCD Monitor (F2105) - $655
  • NEC 20" HDTV-Ready LCD/TV Monitor (20WMGX2) - $699
  • Dell 2407WFP at $799
  • Dell 3007WFP at $1,899

The Gateway in post #1 is now available for $499.
hugh is offline  
Old 2006-10-23, 03:13 AM   #5
Interceptor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 606
Default

Here are two more HDCP Samsung monitors.
The 22" 225BW - $448.
The 20" 205BW - $348.

Last edited by hugh; 2006-10-23 at 07:39 AM.
Interceptor is offline  
Old 2006-10-23, 02:15 PM   #6
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

Posts moved. This thread is only for listing HDCP monitors. If you wish to discuss a particular model then use an existing thread or start a new one in the appropriate manufacturer forum.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2006-11-03, 11:00 PM   #7
Interceptor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 606
Default

Here's another:
Dell 20.1" E207WFP
$299
Interceptor is offline  
Old 2006-11-17, 07:46 AM   #8
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

Regarding the Dell 2407FPW. It is NOT fully HDCP compliant the following comes from the Dell Support Forum

Does the 2407WFP support 1080i through DVI?
* No.
Does the 2407WFP support 1080p through DVI?
* No.

Does the 2407WFP support 1080p through component?
* No.
Does the 2407WFP support 1080i through component?
* Yes.
Does the 2407WFP support 720p through component?
* Yes.

Thread here
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2006-11-25, 10:18 PM   #9
StaticSurge
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cowansville, QC
Posts: 73
Default

The Samsung 215TW I have has HDCP support, so might as well add that one
StaticSurge is offline  
Old 2006-12-11, 02:16 PM   #10
Bagman
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I believe this one can be added too: BenQ FP241W 24IN
I did not find HDCP stated in the reviews, but considering it is advertized as having "complete HD support", a bunch of inputs including HDMI, I guess it has to be HDCP compliant.... Just waiting for the firmware updated version of it later in January with 1:1 pixel mapping...
Bagman is offline  
Old 2006-12-11, 03:08 PM   #11
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,506
Default

I haven't found any HDTVs/monitors that had HDMI, but were not HDCP compliant. DVI is a "worry" and must say or have HDCP.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2007-01-01, 12:26 PM   #12
Blintok
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 299
Default

There is the new E228WFP from Dell

a 22inch widescreen LCD

"The new display also includes support for HDCP high definition content protection"
Blintok is offline  
Old 2007-01-06, 07:56 PM   #13
tipdrill407
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 53
Default

The Samsung 940Bw is HDCP compliant?? I have a 940 and i was totally unaware it supported HDCP!! :O can someone confirm this??
tipdrill407 is offline  
Old 2007-01-07, 10:15 AM   #14
f1racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12
Default

Can I connect a Scientific Atlanta 3250HD (Rogers) cable box to Dell's E228WFP monitor? I've tried and it looks like the signal from the box is out of the monitor's range.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
f1racer is offline  
Old 2007-01-07, 10:21 AM   #15
Cyclism
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vancouver - OTA, Pioneer KURO Elite Signature PRO-141FD, 27" iMac, WDTV Live.
Posts: 2,781
Default

f1racer:

Yes you can connect the SA3250HD STB to the Dell E228WFP. How have you connected it? Via DVI or Component? What do you mean the signal is out of the monitor's range?
If you are using DVI, if you are not getting a picture the monitor may not be HDCP compliant via DVI even though it claims to be. Try using Component (Red, Green, Blue cable) and see if you get a picture.
Cyclism is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.