9200 / 9242 / 9241 Installation 101 - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV Hardware Installation Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-06-26, 05:08 PM   #16
WojtekZ
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oakville
Posts: 141
Default

I currently have 4 receivers connected to a SW44: 2 3100's , 1 5900 and 1 6000.The 5900 and 6000 are connected to the same TV [the 9200 would replace these two]. What are my options for being able to add more receivers to my setup. I seem to recall that there is a new switch that can work in tandem of a SW44 that can be daisy chained.
WojtekZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2005-06-26, 05:32 PM   #17
ken0042
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Default

Joe, my understanding is that the 2 ports that are together are the ones used for us Bell people as outputs. The one that stands alone is the input for the other LNB.

WojtekZ, I have seen examples of daisy chaining as well. However I'm not familiar with exactly how it works so I'll let somebody else comment.
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
Old 2005-06-26, 05:41 PM   #18
rwings01
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 95
Default

Hi Ken0042, great stuff. I have a ? for you, Can I use a Legacy Quad lnb or it has to be a DishPro Quad? Thanks in advance.
rwings01 is offline  
Old 2005-06-26, 07:05 PM   #19
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

Neither rwings01. It needs to be a dish pro plus.

Now........where to find the Dpp lnb and separtor. ebay has only 1 auction running right now.

Any other dish retailers? Preferably in Canada,

Thanks

Joe
Q is offline  
Old 2005-06-26, 07:08 PM   #20
Arthur
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WojtekZ
I seem to recall that there is a new switch that can work in tandem of a SW44 that can be daisy chained.
http://www.canadian-tv.com/forums/sh...7&fpart=2&vc=1

third post down

SW44a stackable switch
Arthur is offline  
Old 2005-06-26, 07:37 PM   #21
bclaringbold
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Barrie
Posts: 202
Default

Here is a picture when using two SW-44a and SW-44. Most people will only need one SW-44a. You only need the Launch Amplifier if you use two SW-44s. If you are using one Sw-44a have the SW-44a connected to the SW-44.



Also, when one uses the Dish Pro Plus 44 (DPP-44) switch the LNB that is used doesnt have to be the Dish Pro Plus LNB. You can use a Dish Pro Twin or Quad.
Legacy LNBs will not work, when using the DPP-44 switch.

Finding these through Canadian retailers will be almost impossible as i belive these are only available to authorized Dish retailers. I could be wrong though.

Brad
__________________
Spread Firefox!!

Last edited by hugh; 2007-11-14 at 01:25 PM.
bclaringbold is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 12:52 AM   #22
Jeffnoone
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver Area
Posts: 251
Default How important is the Launch Amplifier

Potentially I may need to get into a two SW44A and one SW44 situation

How important is the Launch Amplifier at the level of two SW44A's
THe link below gives the impression it wont be needed with (just!) two SW44a's


http://www.microyal.com/dishnet.html

Anyone any actual experience with this option?
Jeffnoone is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 09:43 AM   #23
BD_Present
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 33
Default Legacy or Pro Plus Quad LNB

Ken,
This is a great FQA.

I have a question as I have seen different answers.
I have 2 older (3/4xxx series receivers) and 6200 series. I will most likely replace the 6200 to the 9200 PVR. I have not yest installed the SW44 switch. I have been thinking about replacing the the 2 Dual LNBS to a Quad. In fact, I just purchased a Legacy Quad from eBay last week.

I have seen on different threads that the Legacy is suppose to work with the older equipment and newer ones. Is this true or do I need to purchase a PP Quad LNB?

Thanks.
BD_Present is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 11:58 AM   #24
klystron
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Abbotsford
Posts: 128
Default

Good work Ken. The Dishpro+ solution is probably the best for a 2 cable run setup but I would be a bit concerned about the Evu firmware support. It will be interesting to see if the 9200 can handle the new hardware "out of the box" or whether a future firmware upgrade will be required.
Just hoping for the best...
klystron is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 11:59 AM   #25
ken0042
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Default

BD- the legacy hardware will work fine with the newer receivers as well as the older ones. Just to summarize:

Legacy- works will all recivers; Dish Pro and Lecacy- allows 100 foot cable runs
Dish Pro- works only with Dish Pro receivers- allows 200 foot cable runs
Dish Pro Plus- works with legacy as long as there is also a Dish Pro receiver in the mix- allows for 200 foot cable runs and allows for seperators.
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 12:11 PM   #26
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klystron
....but I would be a bit concerned about the Evu firmware support. It will be interesting to see if the 9200 can handle the new hardware "out of the box" or whether a future firmware upgrade will be required.
Just hoping for the best...

I am wondering the same. Can anyone confirm if the DPP works on the 5200?
Q is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 12:31 PM   #27
Altaman
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,129
Default

Well DP technology works with my 6100, 5900 and later this week I will tell you how the 3100 handles it, also hopefully early next month I will tell you how the 9200 handles it and the DPP Separator . FYI I have a DPP-Twin LNB and the DPP44 switch hooked up and the DPP separator waiting in my desk!

Alt
Altaman is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 12:40 PM   #28
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Altaman
FYI I have a DPP-Twin LNB and the DPP44 switch hooked up and the DPP separator waiting in my desk!

Alt
You have any good places who ship to canada via canada post?
Q is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 01:11 PM   #29
ken0042
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Altaman
Well DP technology works with my 6100, 5900 and later this week I will tell you how the 3100 handles it
I assume you meant to say DPP, right?

(Don't you just love how they couldn't come up with a different sounding name?)
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
Old 2005-06-27, 01:30 PM   #30
Altaman
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedoe
You have any good places who ship to canada via canada post?
Well I ordered my Dpp-Twin and DPP separator from www.dishstore.net and they shipped via Canada Post. You have to put a comment in your order to ship via the post office. I believe there was a couple $ extra charge to do this though. The DPP-Twin is $29.99 USD and the DPP separator is 9.99 USD.

I bought DPP44 switch off Ebay and I believe I paid under $100 USD, they sell at the above mentioned site for $178 USD.

Alt
Altaman is offline  
Reply

Tags
9200, 9242, belltv, dpp33, dpp44, expressvu, installation, sw44

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.