Best non-monster HDMI cable - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Where Can I buy and general buying discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2006-02-01, 08:07 PM   #31
hornjo
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Location: Toronto, SA8300HD , Sony 60A2020, Sony BDP S350
Posts: 15
Question ebay Cables

I ordered a 6 foot HDMI cable from ebay on Jan 20th and received it on Feb. 1st.

I plugged in the cable and I get a picture on the HD channels, the 500's.
When I change to a non-HD channel my screen shows no signal.
I was only able to get a picture by going into the Rogers settings and changng the screen view to fixed.
The problem with this is that all non-HD channels have bars on the side, and they are all shown at 1080i.
I can stretch the picture to fill the screen, but I need to know if I am doing something wrong.
Any help would be appreciated.
I have a Rogers 8300 HDPVR, connected via HDMI to a 50 inch Samsung HLP5063W.

Thanks,

JH.
hornjo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2006-02-01, 10:40 PM   #32
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,410
Default

You need to run the setup wizard on your STB properly to enable the proper formats for your TV. See the Digital Home FAQ "Tips for SA STBs".

You should probably be operating in "Auto-HDMI" after that...
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-02-04, 07:17 PM   #33
hornjo
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Location: Toronto, SA8300HD , Sony 60A2020, Sony BDP S350
Posts: 15
Default HDMI/Component Hook-up

When using component cables, there are no problems.
As soon as I hook up via HDMI, I have the problem.
I tried keeping both component and HDMI hooked up at the same time, but my TV doesn't recognize that the component cables are there, I only have the option of HDMI.
I had already gone into the set-up screen and allowed all formats to be viewed, and had the screen set at pass thru.
When I try this with the HDMI cables, everthing is OK until I get to a specific format, I can't remember which one, the screens shows no signal and I have to unplug the STB and the HDMI cables and go back to component.
If no one has any other suggestions I will call Rogers and see what they suggest.

JH.
hornjo is offline  
Old 2006-02-05, 10:53 AM   #34
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,410
Default

I have the following suggestions to try.

1. Only have one video cable connected - HDMI in your case.

2. Some TVs have "issues" with some formats. Try deleting the format that causes the problem. For example delete them all except for 480i STANDARD and 1080i in the advanced setup wizard. (Or 480P STANDARD and 1080i)

3. Which make/model TV do you have? Does it accept 720P for example and did you have 720P enabled in the wizard?
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-02-05, 11:00 AM   #35
hornjo
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Location: Toronto, SA8300HD , Sony 60A2020, Sony BDP S350
Posts: 15
Default Hdmi

Thanks for the suggestions.
I have been trying a lot of things the last couple of days and I think I am almost there.
I have a Sammy HLP5063W.

JH.
hornjo is offline  
Old 2006-02-05, 11:35 AM   #36
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,410
Default

If I recall, some Sammies had issues with either 480i or 480P over HDMI.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-02-18, 03:15 PM   #37
flyhughes
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Edmonton, AB.
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beppy
how long does shipping usually take on ebay, and on mono
Ordered an HDMI cable from Monoprice on a Thursday morning and it was at my door the next Friday, so just over a week. Can't say how much longer it would take to get to Ontario.

I'm pretty happy with the service, price, and quality with Monoprice. I'll definitely buy from them again.
flyhughes is offline  
Old 2006-02-19, 09:47 AM   #38
Hoser25
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 67
Default

There's a place called CompuNation here in Ottawa (google will find their site) and they carry BAFO, Belkin, and Startech dvi->hdmi cables, which are all priced quite well. Some people are faithful to whatever name they've had good expereinces with in the past...I've heard good things about belkin and startech, but haven't had much experience...yet.


Anyway, here's an article that I found reprinted in a few places online that can help shed some light on the purchase...
http://www.projectorcentral.com/DVI_...onnections.htm

Later
Hoser25 is offline  
Old 2006-02-19, 02:07 PM   #39
lionmonty
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: edmonton
Posts: 111
Default

mnonprice.com is a great place for cables. i have ordered from them before and never had a problem.
lionmonty is offline  
Old 2006-02-19, 03:03 PM   #40
Darth Sound
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default Monster's the best

I imagine, not everybody can afford to spend $200 or more on a cable, however if you have spent $10,000 or more on the home theater of your dreams, trying to shave off some money on the cables is playing silly. Good cables are a vital component of the system, cheap conectors, poor insulation and increasing unnecessary lenght, will, believe me , decrease the quality of sound and video. So do a thorough search before risking your investment at the weakest point: THE CABLES.


Darth Sound
Darth Sound is offline  
Old 2006-02-19, 03:12 PM   #41
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Sound
... believe me...
Sorry, although what you say may be true of dollar store cables, any "good" cable will do the job just fine, especially when discussing digital signals, which this thread is doing. See the first post of the following thread.

http://digitalhomecanada.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=30452

I have never seen a "double blind" test indicating otherwise, even with analogue signals. However, as you say, throrough research will rarely lead you astray.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2006-02-19, 04:04 PM   #42
RNAChemist
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 2,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Sound
...however if you have spent $10,000 or more on the home theater of your dreams, trying to shave off some money on the cables is playing silly.
Spoken like a loyal Futureshop employee.

What is the saying, plan to spend 10% of your total purchase price on connectors? Now that is just plain silly.
RNAChemist is offline  
Old 2006-04-24, 10:37 PM   #43
Ranger22
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default understanding the difference with Monster and other HDMI cables

Hey

I am looking into getting an HDMI cable for my TV which is a Sony 50" Grand WEGA 3LCD Rear Projection Television. Now I have been to http://svideo.com/index.html and they have great prices however I have seen some good deals on ebay ie Monster Cable Ultra 600 HDMI Cable for HDTV 4 FT for $30 I am trying to understand the difference between and monster cable ultra 600 HDMI to a MONSTER CABLE HDMI400-2m HDMI 400 and the HDMI cable from http://svideo.com/index.html. PLEASE HELP ME NOT UNDERSTANDING THE DIFFERENCE.
Ranger22 is offline  
Old 2006-04-24, 11:49 PM   #44
timbo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 845
Default The difference is the price

Ranger22,
The difference may only be in the price. Monster has high (and I do mean HIGH) prices and some other retailers do not.

Buy an inexpensive cable, try it. Buy a Monster cable at a retailer that allows returns, try it. Then decide which you think is the better cable and the better value.

Some things to note about svideo.com; their HDMI is currently at a reduced price, the "free shipping" option will take a long time, other shipping options are available there ( avoid the UPS shipping as they will scalp you).

Monoprice.com has earned my repeat business with great prices and great service. I currently use several of their HDMI cables and their 5X1 HDMI switch. They've got a ton of stuff on an easy to use website: take a look.

Good hunting and good luck.
timbo is offline  
Old 2006-04-25, 12:14 AM   #45
RNAChemist
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 2,106
Default

I just ordered an HDMI M/M cable from tigerdirect. They have great prices fast shipping and good products. Dont hesitate to use them for what you need.
RNAChemist is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.