![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes | |
|
|
||||
|
|
#1 |
|
Rookie
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
|
I just want to warn members of a dvd fraud I was subject to. I purchased complete DVD sets of the TV shows Twilight Zone (original) and Outer Limits (remake) from a website called Spicydvd.com. They advertised what looked like original packaging and the complete shows. I paid $165.00 which was about 50% or so off. What I received was a terribly compressed DVDR collection of illegal copies. Many of the disks were duplicates, empty, or defective. Be leery. NEVER order from spicydvd.com
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | |||
Advertisement | |||
|
|
#2 | |
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 343
|
I'd have been wary over this, taken from their site.
Quote:
Last edited by 57; 2012-05-25 at 03:18 PM. Reason: Syntax |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | ||
|
Premium Supporter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa (Orleans), ON
Posts: 8,338
|
OP: When a deal's too good to be true...it often is. Still, sorry to hear you got cheated.
You gotta love disclaimers like this one: Quote:
Quote:
__________________
MY HT SET-UP (PICS & GEAR LIST) |
||
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member #1
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,492
|
with all due respect, did you really expect original discs?
None of the product being sold on the site is available in stores and the price is far lower than even what you would find on Amazon and free shipping?? In addition, if you look at the site. Under the Contact Us page of the site, there is no address, no phone number. Under About Us, there is no address, no phone number.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. If you have questions about the operation of the site, please contact VSAdmin. For personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website. |
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 491
|
Hopefully within a couple of days we'll see a "This domain has been seized by DHS" notice up.
Sorry to hear about your troubles. Sometimes when you're not familiar with online ordering it's easy to "be had". Also appears that the registrant information for the domain name is false. A quick Google search of "Johnny Roberts" turns up many links to others asking about scams, etc... Sounds like Johnny Roberts has been doing this for a while. |
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 491
|
OP: Dispute the charge with your credit card company and hold onto the product as proof of what you received.
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Rookie
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
|
I purchased a box set of the Any Griffith show and SpicyDVD appeared on Amazon so I thought they were legit. I notice now however no trace of them on Amazon or Amazon.ca. I posted this review on Amazon however they did not publish it for several reasons.
This is the review: "1.0 out of 5 stars Bad packaging and fraud by a seller possibly now removed from Amazon., June 23, 2012 By MusicalPoet This review is from: The Andy Griffith Show: The Complete Series (DVD) Fraud alert! This is a warning to all who may have seen any advertisements on Amazon for an online retailer called "SpicyDVD.com". They are not a legitimate company and sell mostly pirated DVD box sets. I received this Andy Griffith collection and it looks nothing like the packaging displayed on the Amazon page. Many of the DVDs are unreadable (I have not gone through all of them yet) and when you contact them you get a line saying "we will replace the set" but hear nothing from them again. Doing a search for "SpicyDVD scam" on Google reveals others with the same problem. I have reported them to my credit card company and will be also reporting them to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre. Please beware! I don't know if they are currently advertising on Amazon but Amazon should be removing them from their merchant list. Other than that, I love the Andy Griffith show and Don Knotts who will be remembered in my heart for ever. " Thought I'd publish it here for the benefit of others to save them time, trouble, and money. |
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Rookie
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
|
WARNING!!! this is not an legit company. when i decided to deal with this company there was no negative/positive reports. i ordered the dark shadows series 100 dvd set. 29 were faulty, emailed company and they said they would send replacements. that was in may. here it is november, many emails sent, some with replies, some nothing. filed complaint with the BBB. they tried to contact company and they haven't received response either. many sites now issue warnings. DO NOT USE! similar site with same pic's and offer on DVDMoose now offering same.
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 8,576
|
This must be a record for DHC...... Only 8 posts in this thread and 3 are from posters with only 1 post each....lol
As said at the very beginning, if it sounds too good to be true, it almost certainly is.
__________________
Bell TV - To run a Check Switch go to MENU, 6, 1, 1 or for System Info, MENU 6, 1, 3. |
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|