C Band on 1m dish - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Free to Air Satellite Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-17, 09:28 AM   #1
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default C Band on 1m dish

I have decided to test C band reception on S10 with motorized 1 meter dish. I have read it can be done and I want to find out before ordering big dish. Stay tuned for the play by play. Pics will be in my profile.
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-17, 10:21 AM   #2
billpaidJr
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 299
Default

Get ready for a lot of headaches and frustration. Enjoy
billpaidJr is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 10:23 AM   #3
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 558
Default

Good luck! I tried it too on a 1m (39") dish and the results were quite frustrating.
IIRC, the only 4 channels which were stable were 4 Warner feeds off 99. The little channels which did come in would disappear as fast as I changed the channel.

What type of LNB are you using?

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 10:55 AM   #4
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default

Should be fun as I have no idea what I am doing. Only Sat experience is with subscribers. Will be using BSC621 C and Ku Band LNBF.
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 12:27 PM   #5
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 558
Default

On your LNB, there a box w/ an output. When you connect the lnb to your dish, this box has to be at the 4 o'clock position otherwise the polarity will be off.

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Old 2012-02-18, 07:38 AM   #6
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default First attempt

I took the dish down of my shed roof and set it up where I could work on it. Mounted the new LNB and searched, adjusted, searched nothing. Surrendered about 5pm put the original LNB on and scanned 800 channels. Try again tomorrow.
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Old 2012-02-18, 07:40 AM   #7
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraven View Post
On your LNB, there a box w/ an output. When you connect the lnb to your dish, this box has to be at the 4 o'clock position otherwise the polarity will be off.

Cheers, K
Hmm, I had it at 10 o'clock
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 09:58 AM   #8
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default update

I spent the last 2 days working with this c band LNB. KU worked file but all I could get was DMX radio on galaxy 17, 41 of them. No channels at all. I actually took the sat down and mounted it at ground level with TV and STB beside it.
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 06:22 PM   #9
billpaidJr
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 299
Default

That is actually what I expected. The big dish is big for a reason.
billpaidJr is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 06:44 PM   #10
HDTV Junkee
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 213
Default

Actually, I have a shared interest in what you were trying to do. I figured I would do the same type of trial and error this spring with a 100 cm dish that I found laying at the side of the road. NB: I already have enough Ku sats between my two 90 cm dishes.

I wonder if you put some sort of metal bracket straight out from the normal dish arm (say it added another 4 inches -- then placed the c-band LNB on it, whether one would have more success. My thought is that if the focal point to the dish is further away, it would be less likely to have interference from other c-band signals.

I think that it is great that you found Galaxy 17 (C-Band), because it gives others something to shoot for.
HDTV Junkee is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 07:53 PM   #11
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,306
Default

the focal point is determined by the shape / dimensions of the dish reflector.
I don't think you can just arbitrarily change it and expect better results.
I think if your going to have any chance of success, you have to start out with proven feeds.

Do some searching on other sites where users have reported some CBAND success and see what hardware they're using. Suspect it's not gonna be with a 30 dollar feedhorn. Also I'd be wary of success reported on European Sites as they may not be up against the same tight satellite footprints as we are here in North America on CBAND. Just because a particular setup may have worked for someone on the other side of the pond, doesn't mean the same setup would work here.
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-02-20, 09:14 PM   #12
HDTV Junkee
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 213
Default

Thank you. Sounds like great advice. As it turns out, I was looking at some of the reported results from other sites. I will take them with a grain of salt.

I will report back with my attempts later this spring.
HDTV Junkee is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 09:38 PM   #13
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,306
Default

Not sayin it's not useful information, cause it probably is. Just have to consider where they are operating. If they are in North America reporting success, now that's a different story altogether and deserves more weight.

Heck, I have trouble pulling signals from Galaxy 28 89 W CBAND, with so many strong Transponders active 24/7 on Galaxy 17 91 W right next to it.
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-02-21, 01:08 PM   #14
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 558
Default

In one of our older threads, I posted some 1m mini-BUD results. The only constant, now that IRC, were some music stations. The other few would come in the evening but gone by the morning.

Its been said that 1.2m is the minimum, but can an extra 20cm (8inches) realistically make a difference ?

I gave up and bought a 6footer (still NIB in the garage).

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Old 2012-02-21, 08:26 PM   #15
Greenish Apple
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 6
Default

In TELE-Satellite magazine they featured a man from Toronto who used a 4 ft/120cm dish to get C-band stations.

Issue 0603, pages 58 & 59, the PDF of the issue is available from their site for free.

David
Greenish Apple is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.