X-FTA.CA ?? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Free to Air Satellite Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-15, 10:58 AM   #1
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 554
Default X-FTA.CA ??

Did anyone else notice a banner for X-FTA on DHC? Please correct me, but isn't this product used for non-legit operation?

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-15, 11:34 AM   #2
billpaidJr
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 299
Default

those ads come to the site via google adwords I think.
billpaidJr is offline  
Old 2012-02-15, 12:51 PM   #3
HDTV Junkee
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 196
Default

Good points on the above ad. I think that we all have vested interests in keeping the site clear of that kind of stuff -- but if the adds originate from somewhere else for profit via Google, then what can we do to get them off.

Hopefully the guys at Bell or Dish Network will go after them directly if they are not legit.
HDTV Junkee is offline  
Old 2012-03-31, 12:00 PM   #4
DrSat
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 1,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraven View Post
Did anyone else notice a banner for X-FTA on DHC? Please correct me, but isn't this product used for non-legit operation?

Cheers, K
You are right, it is a device used for satellite piracy and it does come from Google AdSense which places ads on websites based on the keywords found on that site. FTA was probably one of the main keywords the advertiser specified when putting the ad on Google. As of today, the ad is still showing up from time to time.

You may report this ad specifically by clicking on the following link:

http://adwords.google.com/support/aw...=feedback&rd=1

When it asks you about the ad's link location, paste in the following:

Code:
http://googleads.g.doubleclick.net/aclk?sa=L&ai=BszrwGit3T62SI-2EgAL1u9zjDauB3NICk4bu1inAjbcB4LYNEAEYASD12ssYOABQq5u2yAFg_aCZgegDsgESd3d3LmRpZ2l0YWxob21lLmNhugEKMzAweDI1MF9hc8gBAtoBNWh0dHA6Ly93d3cuZGlnaXRhbGhvbWUuY2EvZm9ydW0vZm9ydW1kaXNwbGF5LnBocD9mPTU34AEDyAL7tJgj4AIA6gIKNzAyOTIyNTAwMZAD4AOYA-ADqAMByAMd6AP1A-gD5QHoAw31AwAJAMT1AwAAABDIBAHgBAGgBgI&num=1&sig=AOD64_0xXp7L8IbiAbP-kvmg17XXsp_6JQ&client=ca-pub-7206021554793048&adurl=http://x-fta.ca&nm=2&nx=92&ny=155
With enough people complaining about it, Google should pull the ad.


Regards,

Dr. Sat
__________________
Dr. Sat - Proud sponsor of the FTA satellite forum
Dr. Sat
- Fier commanditaire du forum FTA
DrSat is online now  
Old 2012-03-31, 05:24 PM   #5
HDTV101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,033
Default

X-FTA.CA is just selling a WiFi router... nothing wrong that I can see here.
HDTV101 is offline  
Old 2012-03-31, 08:33 PM   #6
mr shady
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Default

x-fta is a multi purpose router! for fta and wireless
mr shady is offline  
Old 2012-04-01, 12:16 AM   #7
DrSat
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 1,068
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV101 View Post
X-FTA.CA is just selling a WiFi router... nothing wrong that I can see here.
It's basically a router with the ability to work as a wireless bridge similar to most other routers but it includes a built-in serial to ethernet adapter as well. It is designed to enable older receivers which don't have an ethernet port to be connected to the Internet for satellite piracy purposes.



Regards,

Dr. Sat
__________________
Dr. Sat - Proud sponsor of the FTA satellite forum
Dr. Sat
- Fier commanditaire du forum FTA
DrSat is online now  
Old 2012-04-01, 06:57 AM   #8
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

So the product is perfectly legal; only that particular application is illegal. Kind of like a gun used in a robbery. You can't criticize a dealer for that. This product could allow me to wirelessly network the RS-232 port on my Openbox S9 so I can easily upload / download user data from the comfort of my easy chair.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Old 2012-04-01, 11:18 AM   #9
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,118
Default

...which you can already do now, using the S9's existing ethernet port and STBHD_LAN_MM.exe
U can upload satellite / channel config to the box from ur couch.
An ethernet port on an STB is almost a necessity these days given hardly any computers come with RS-232 ports anymore.
Much more convenient than USB too.

Actually, what would be real slick is a Web Interface so ya could configure the STB via ur web browser, much like talking to ur router.
, etc.
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-04-01, 11:34 AM   #10
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

Agree with all. I use the ethernet port myself to do just that now and I'm having a problem giving that up, if I change receivers. This is my major complaint with a new sat receiver about to come out: it has no network capability. Big mistake in 2012. I think any who think capability to transfer data in/out via a router isn't necessary, haven't used that feature before.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 AM.

FTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.