X-FTA.CA ?? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Free to Air Satellite Television

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-15, 11:58 AM   #1
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 562
Default X-FTA.CA ??

Did anyone else notice a banner for X-FTA on DHC? Please correct me, but isn't this product used for non-legit operation?

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-15, 12:34 PM   #2
billpaidJr
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 299
Default

those ads come to the site via google adwords I think.
billpaidJr is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-15, 01:51 PM   #3
HDTV Junkee
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 223
Default

Good points on the above ad. I think that we all have vested interests in keeping the site clear of that kind of stuff -- but if the adds originate from somewhere else for profit via Google, then what can we do to get them off.

Hopefully the guys at Bell or Dish Network will go after them directly if they are not legit.
HDTV Junkee is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-03-31, 06:24 PM   #4
HDTV101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,050
Default

X-FTA.CA is just selling a WiFi router... nothing wrong that I can see here.
HDTV101 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-03-31, 09:33 PM   #5
mr shady
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Default

x-fta is a multi purpose router! for fta and wireless
mr shady is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-01, 07:57 AM   #6
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
Default

So the product is perfectly legal; only that particular application is illegal. Kind of like a gun used in a robbery. You can't criticize a dealer for that. This product could allow me to wirelessly network the RS-232 port on my Openbox S9 so I can easily upload / download user data from the comfort of my easy chair.
__________________
Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-01, 12:18 PM   #7
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,459
Default

...which you can already do now, using the S9's existing ethernet port and STBHD_LAN_MM.exe
U can upload satellite / channel config to the box from ur couch.
An ethernet port on an STB is almost a necessity these days given hardly any computers come with RS-232 ports anymore.
Much more convenient than USB too.

Actually, what would be real slick is a Web Interface so ya could configure the STB via ur web browser, much like talking to ur router.
, etc.
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-01, 12:34 PM   #8
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia & Toronto
Posts: 807
Default

Agree with all. I use the ethernet port myself to do just that now and I'm having a problem giving that up, if I change receivers. This is my major complaint with a new sat receiver about to come out: it has no network capability. Big mistake in 2012. I think any who think capability to transfer data in/out via a router isn't necessary, haven't used that feature before.
__________________
Strictly a "paper" FTA enthusiast nowadays: all equipment in storage waiting for a new home.
cyberham is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.