Louisiana PBS Symbol rate change - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Free to Air Satellite Television

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-17, 09:26 AM   #16
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraven View Post
Ever consider cutting down the trees?
Never have...never will...consider or cut.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-17, 09:53 AM   #17
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberham View Post
http://beta.lpb.org/index.php/site/satellite/
If you have a strong enough signal, it should blind scan in.
now it does.
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 11:50 AM   #18
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default A Plan

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilspin View Post
I am getting the same issues with shorter RG 6 and no trees. 90 and 10-25%
Next sunny warm day, I'll take my Canadian Tire car battery booster, inverter, S9, slingbox, wifi adapter down to the dish, connect directly to the LNB output with a short jumper, then transmit the video back to my house router. I can use my wifi PC to catch the video from my router while standing beside the dish. Or...I could get one of the many free 13" TVs advertised on kijiji and just hook it to my S9 that's connected to the LNB. I have a plan; I need nice weather.

This will settle for zero cost whether reducing cable length will help the received signal strength of LPB.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 06:33 PM   #19
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilspin View Post
How do you find this out?
Wilspin,
You mean how to determine all of the parameters?
By using the PC Based Tuner, Prof 7500, a Windows PC (Laptop), and Crazyscan.
Basically ya wind up with a poor man's spectrum analyser, with Blindscan capability.
The program reports all the parameters from the frontend for you.
You can also send the entire Transport Stream to TSReader for further analysis, and from there stream a particular channel to VLC for Playback.
Very Cool, highly recommended!
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-02-17, 06:51 PM   #20
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,123
Default

cyberham,
the setup I just described above would be very handy in a case like yours,
Because the program actually does an RF sweep of the entire IF spectrum, you'll get a visual indication of the RF Signal strength across the band.
You could compare a sweep as is down the entire length of your feedline,
then sweep again with the tuner closer to the antenna, and compare the overall levels, and ability to lock known transponders.
After a while you get a feel for what it takes, SNR wise to lock different types of feeds.

If you really want to know what it takes, download this spreadsheet which is useful to compare the measured C/N versus the known parameters a certain feed is using, you can then determine exactly how much margin you have in your system for that feed.

http://www.32apsk.org/wordpress/?p=240

Personally I think something was wrong with that transponder the other nite. I'll try and check it out again later tonite, see if it still acts up on me here.
If it does there may not be anything really wrong on ur end.
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-02-17, 10:38 PM   #21
Kraven
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Shore, QC
Posts: 554
Default

@MT--> It seems you recommend the Prof7500, where did you get it? I cant find it anywhere, including *bay.

Cheers, K
Kraven is offline  
Old 2012-02-17, 11:18 PM   #22
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,123
Default

ur right I don't see them at DRsat's site. I wonder if they might sell them but just don't advertise it?

http://proftuners.com/prof7500.html

It's PCI cousin is the 7301.

PS - Just because I have one doesn't mean it's the best card out there. Honestly, I wouldn't really know
because it's the only one I've ever had. But I have been happy with it.
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-02-18, 09:28 AM   #23
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraven View Post
@MT--> It seems you recommend the Prof7500, where did you get it? I cant find it anywhere, including *bay.
Check *bay listing 320845806837

If I could get at this price, I would grab it. Are we going to bid against each other?
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Old 2012-02-18, 02:40 PM   #24
Yagi
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montréal (Rosemont)
Posts: 274
Default

I am able to receive LPB on my Pansat 9200HD (with the S2 extension) and a 1-meter antenna. Thanks for the info.
Yagi is offline  
Old 2012-02-19, 07:37 AM   #25
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberham View Post
Check *bay listing 320845806837...
It sold for US$50. I feel guilty in letting it pass without trying for it, but the guy wouldn't confirm he would ship to Canada.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 10:01 AM   #26
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default poor signal LPBS

This TP is weak. How can i improve it?
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 10:40 AM   #27
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

1. Reduce losses in system: shorten dish-to-receiver cable length; change cable to lower loss type, eliminate any diseqc switches between LNB and receiver, confirm cable connectors are good quality and installed well.

2. Increase received signal level: orient dish precisely both azimuth and elevation; change LNB for a model with lower noise figure, higher gain; increase dish size.

3. Give up and try for 125W Ku PBS where there is a good assortment of PBS stations also.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 11:21 AM   #28
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default

Tried 1, 2 to no avail. 3 is not an option as 119 and up are too low on the horizon here.
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 11:40 AM   #29
cyberham
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 788
Default

PBS North Carolina is currently ITC and available from 61.5W Ku. That local could disappear any time, but it's easy to get and strong right now with a circular LNB. Any chance to get OTA PBS from Rochester or Buffalo? You've got a nice tall tower for a high gain TV antenna. Ever thought of going to C-band? I'll bet drsat could fix you up with necessary hardware. I presume PBS is available on C-band.
__________________
Openbox S9, Digiwave 36x39", Avenger PLL321S-2, SG-2100 motor, 8' mini-tower, StarChoice 40x44", DGL900D LNB, microHD
cyberham is offline  
Old 2012-02-20, 03:34 PM   #30
wilspin
Corporate Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rice Lake near Bewdley
Posts: 637
Default

U got some details on PBS @61.5? Rochester PBS is not reliable this time of year, Buffalo is rock solid always. I just like multiple choices. Spoke with DR Sat last week about large dish. we will see.
__________________
60' Delhi tower,91XG,Y13-10,DB8,Tin Lee Traps,CM9521A,CM7777,CM7000,Winegard RC-1010 & HDA200,Samsung 32 LCD,2 WTV950Q

Twinntech supports Digital Home
wilspin is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 AM.

FTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.