Does anybody really receive Dolby 5.1?? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Aliant Home Phone, Internet, IPTV

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-04-01, 06:42 PM   #31
Greenbay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Not all HD channels yet. Try TSN 2, NBC, CBS, ABC, SCORE, HBO, MFUN, OASIS.
There are some others as well.
Greenbay is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-04-01, 07:20 PM   #32
underpar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Default

No true DD 5.1 for me either.
underpar is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-02, 10:17 AM   #33
chr67
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 147
Default

@ Greenbay are you sure that you are getting sound from all 5 speakers? My system shows that 5.1 is active on some channels (which is a little different than a month or so ago as all HD channels used to show 5.1) but sound is not coming from all 5 speakers, its a simulated 5.1 as far as I can tell. Play a blueray (such as the latest Transformers) and hear the difference
chr67 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-02, 11:59 AM   #34
underpar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Default

I get the same sound through all 5 speakers. However, last night I was getting a simulated DD 5.1 on certain channels (different sounds from the rear speakers than from the front speakers but NOT different sounds from each of the 5 speakers). I know that Aliant is working on this and they said that the conversion to DD 5.1 would be on a station-by-station basis.
underpar is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-02, 12:57 PM   #35
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 258
Default

No true DD 5.1?? This isn't good. My Rogers contract is up in May and based on this info along w/the compression levels I am reading about, so far FibreOp doesn't seem to be a viable choice yet. I don't know what I'd do without these forums. They come through yet again with excellent info to make decisions.
woodsie is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-02, 06:39 PM   #36
Greenbay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Just turned on Harry Potter on ch 487 MXSHD. sounds like separate channels to me. Am I missing something ?
Greenbay is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-02, 06:48 PM   #37
Danster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 465,123
Posts: 5,824
Default

A little bird told me that they are slowly adding true 5.1 surround to certain channels. More will be added in the coming weeks.

@ Woodsie: Do yourself a favor and do jump ship. I did and even with the little booboos here and there with Aliant, I don't regret one bit. Imagine downloading all you want with no caps....
__________________
Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-02, 10:05 PM   #38
woodsie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 258
Default

Thanks Dan. I still have a month to decide. Hopefully things continue to evolve with the sound issues. I have a feeling they will. I already have FibreOP Internet bundled w/phone and cell and really do like it. I will make my "calls" when it comes up on the end of the 11th month of contract w/Rogers and see what both can offer. Glad you are happy with your choice.
woodsie is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-04-03, 10:31 AM   #39
chr67
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 147
Default

I guess I will check into it further, maybe its just the show / channel I am watching. There is little consistency between shows/networks anyway. I am sure it will be better as time moves on.
chr67 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-08-15, 01:34 AM   #40
Freddypop
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 20
Default 5.1 Sound?

Any idea when FibreOp will upgrade to full 5.1? Really miss this after my switch from Rogers...

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2012-08-15 at 03:22 AM. Reason: Moved to existing thread
Freddypop is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.