Aliant TV 2012 New Channels Discussion - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Aliant Home Phone, Internet, IPTV

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-02-22, 02:08 PM   #31
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 583
Default

I couldn't agree with you more, when Hollywood Suite launched not long ago, they had ZERO customers signed up. I would think they would be croaking to sell this package to carriers. FibreOP is superior in many things, but adding channels is something they really are dragging their asses on. The packages do suck, we need more selection. I don't mind paying for it either.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-02-22, 03:50 PM   #32
Tridus
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 885
Default

They move more or less at the same speed as Rogers Atlantic on this, which isn't a high standard... though TBH there's very few new channels that I ever give a damn about. I really do want CBC News Network in HD though.
Tridus is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-22, 09:01 PM   #33
philster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint John, NB
Posts: 186
Default

Like it was said earlier, if Eastlink can get them why can't Bell Aliant. I hope as more areas in Nova Scotia get hooked into Fiber Op they will invest in their channels or else it will be hard to get people to switch from Eastlink. I mean It's easy here in NB as Rogers is also dragging their feet with new Channels.

However all I can do is wish and dream as I'll never go to Rogers.
philster is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-25, 03:54 PM   #34
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 583
Default

I was just looking at the Hollywood suite website, and Bell Satellite and Bell Fibre both carry it already. Now isn't Bell the parent company of Aliant? If Bell can get it, why can't we. This is a policy problem in FibreOP, some manager somewhere should be dismissed, that department isn't pulling it's weight.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-28, 10:52 PM   #35
danmacdonald100
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default Bell Fibe have Hollywood Suite, not Bell Fibre

Bell Fibe (GTA) have Hollywood Suite, NOT Bell Fibre (Maritimes)

http://www.hollywoodsuite.ca/watch-hollywood-suite
danmacdonald100 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-29, 08:08 AM   #36
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 583
Default

I know what Bell Fibre is, I was merely pointing out that Bell satellite and fibre has it, and they are the parent company of Aliant, so what takes Bell Aliant so long?
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-29, 10:31 AM   #37
sgu222e
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 136
Default

Bell Canada only has a 44% management stake in 'Bell Aliant', and they still operate as 2 separate companies for now... This would mean that Bell Canada and Bell Aliant would have to negotiate separately to be able to carry a new channel, with the exception of the stations that Bell Canada owns.

Personally, I just want more HD channels included in the basic HD package... like Discovery and History
sgu222e is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-29, 03:08 PM   #38
McPatrick
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 393
Default

just because the bell is in the name doesn't mean they own it
McPatrick is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-29, 03:13 PM   #39
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 583
Default

They have sizeable shares. At any rate, I still don't understand how eastlink, bell, and a host of others can negotiate with these channels so fast, and it takes aliant forever. The only conclusion I can come up with is lack of will, poor planning and a general disregard for their customers. It doesn't take a year to negotiate something like that while your competitors do it in a month or two.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-29, 03:14 PM   #40
nic78
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 256
Default

It is basically all one company. It is just organized this way for financial reasons.
nic78 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-29, 04:53 PM   #41
Tridus
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 885
Default

I see a couple of possibilities:

1. They're understaffed because FibreOp has been growing pretty quickly and they're just having a hard time keeping up with this stuff.

2. The channels want too much money and to be in the base package to get more subscribers, and Aliant doesn't want to raise the base price.

3. They're looking to Rogers Atlantic for an example.
Tridus is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-02-29, 05:01 PM   #42
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 583
Default

If they are under staffed, they should hire more people, possibly someone with experience in this area. I just checked out bell satellite, and Hollywood Suite is available as a separate package for 8 bucks. Not a bad deal. Looking good for when my Aliant contract is up.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-03-01, 08:08 AM   #43
Tridus
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 885
Default

Personally I'm betting on #2. Their subscriber numbers are growing, but starting from a tiny number doesn't give you much leverage in carriage negotiations. Better to not carry the channel at all then to have to overcharge for it, especially if it's going in the base package.
Tridus is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-03-01, 08:27 AM   #44
habskilla
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,000
Default

My guess is that there is no budget to get new channels. I think their thinking is get FibreOp out there. Get some cash flow coming to in to offset the huge cost of rolling out FibreOp. In time, they'll throw some money and resources into getting more channels.

Then again, I could just ask my VP buddy at BellAliant. But then again, what fun would that be?
habskilla is online now   Quick reply to this message
Old 2012-03-01, 06:16 PM   #45
Danster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 465,123
Posts: 5,816
Default

^^^^^ A sure way of getting to know the truth?
__________________
Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline   Quick reply to this message
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.