Eastlink 2012 Programming and Packages Discussion - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > EastLink

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-01-01, 12:32 PM   #1
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,560
Default Eastlink 2012 Programming and Packages Discussion

This thread is to discuss programming and packages available from Eastlink in 2012.

Use this thread if you are investigating changing your programming on Eastlink or investigating what is available on Eastlink.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-01-16, 01:40 PM   #2
maritimer555
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 145
Default

Hi Folks

Happy new year.

I recently noticed that Eastlink did not renew its $2 discount on the French bundle. Yet the reason for giving the promotion in the first place has not changed- they still don't offer TSN alternate Montreal.

I also noticed that for customers getting "resolve" credits that more and more they are not extending them. I recently had 2 diff sets of discounts not renewed and more to come.

This is all happening at a time when Aliant FibreOp is picking at their subscriber base.

I wonder if there are many other subscribers noticing a similar trend ?
maritimer555 is offline  
Old 2012-03-20, 02:02 AM   #3
Ellery
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 49
Default Price Increase

Got this notice on my bill: They just raised the price not more than a year ago by $3.00 so they have risen the price by $4 in less than a year.

Internet usage continues to grow, driven by online entertainment services and social media. We have enhanced our fibre optic network so that you receive the very best on-line experience. Due to the costs of these improvements, effective on your next statement there will be a $1.00 price increase.
Ellery is offline  
Old 2012-03-20, 11:06 AM   #4
jimbo42
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Halifax (Motorola HD DVR DCX3400-M/DCX700M 50" Plasma)
Posts: 683
Default

Actually their have been quite a few price increases within the last 12 months. They have raised rates on just about everything.
__________________
Once you go Plasma you will never go back.
jimbo42 is offline  
Old 2012-03-24, 02:35 PM   #5
denben73
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eastlink - Timmins, ON; Maestro DVR w/ 4 terminals, Xbox360, Wii, SiriusXM, iPad2 & Galaxy S4
Posts: 992
Default

And we now know why internet rates went up...

I'm happy to pay that buck a more so others can get better access.

Meanwhile, the $7 million rebuild that EastLink completed in this city 15 months ago, while jacking up our rates in the process, is now a full capacity network...What the
denben73 is offline  
Old 2012-04-18, 02:07 PM   #6
maritimer555
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 145
Default Another increase

My April 3 statement arrived. In it was a notice for another $ price increase as costs for TV programming have increased.
maritimer555 is offline  
Old 2012-04-26, 09:51 AM   #7
jeffsmith
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

I noticed that my monthly bundle has gone up $2 as well. Every price increase pushes me that much closer to cutting the cord (for cable TV at least).
jeffsmith is offline  
Old 2012-04-28, 01:29 PM   #8
denben73
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eastlink - Timmins, ON; Maestro DVR w/ 4 terminals, Xbox360, Wii, SiriusXM, iPad2 & Galaxy S4
Posts: 992
Default

No news of another $1 per month here. We got the $1/month for internet though. We still pay more for certain things here. $5 a month more for a DVR, 3 bucks more for HD too.
denben73 is offline  
Old 2012-04-29, 11:04 AM   #9
denben73
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eastlink - Timmins, ON; Maestro DVR w/ 4 terminals, Xbox360, Wii, SiriusXM, iPad2 & Galaxy S4
Posts: 992
Default

I think this would go here since it involves a change in the internet packages...

The usage cap has been increased for EastLink customers in Ontario for "Internet 40" and "Internet 100" to 250 GB/month from the previous 100GB.

I checked my usage yesterday and noticed my percentage dropped for the month then I saw the change. I tweeted them about it and they confirmed it. I would suspect that this is probably a good sign that the 11 or so missing HD channels may be coming online for us very soon too.
denben73 is offline  
Old 2012-04-30, 09:18 AM   #10
Terra Nivium
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by denben73 View Post
I think this would go here since it involves a change in the internet packages...

The usage cap has been increased for EastLink customers in Ontario for "Internet 40" and "Internet 100" to 250 GB/month from the previous 100GB.

I checked my usage yesterday and noticed my percentage dropped for the month then I saw the change. I tweeted them about it and they confirmed it. I would suspect that this is probably a good sign that the 11 or so missing HD channels may be coming online for us very soon too.
I know this might be a "how long is a piece of string question" but do you find the 250GB/month enough? I use Netflix probably every other day, always on the HD setting, and use the internet mainly for surfing everynight. Sync a couple of smartphones in etc when I am home. Do you think I am going to have cap issues? Do you get close to the 250GB/month?
Terra Nivium is offline  
Old 2012-04-30, 11:35 AM   #11
denben73
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eastlink - Timmins, ON; Maestro DVR w/ 4 terminals, Xbox360, Wii, SiriusXM, iPad2 & Galaxy S4
Posts: 992
Default

I found the 100GB enough for us. We don't do Netflix anymore. Maybe the odd torrent or two, surfing and some file downloads for peronsal and work use. I've had EastLink for internet since March 2011 and the most usage I've done is 74GB in one month.

It's been 250GB in NS for a long time. If you haven't reached it yet, you're probably OK, I think.
denben73 is offline  
Old 2012-05-02, 08:25 PM   #12
NewsyL
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Delta, BC
Posts: 68
Default

250GB is also enough for our house.

If you're on Delta Cable you can access your usage via...

http://www.deltacable.com/Internet/myusage.aspx

I'm sure the various local Eastlink subsidiaries have a similar link.

For the last 5 months we've never gone higher than 65GB and are usually between 40 and 45. Started using Netflix at Xmas and Pay for Play movies since February. No big jump.
NewsyL is offline  
Old 2012-05-03, 11:41 AM   #13
Terra Nivium
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia
Posts: 75
Default Data Usage

Thanks for the feedback on data usage. I made the change the other day and so far have barely used anything. I am going to use everything as normal and just keep an eye on it - can always switch back if I am a heavy user. I must admit I'm a little disappointed with the download speeds as I have not even broken 30Mbps on speed tests.
Terra Nivium is offline  
Old 2012-05-03, 08:15 PM   #14
Testo
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 44
Default

Are you on the 40/6 package?
Testo is offline  
Old 2012-05-03, 08:36 PM   #15
denben73
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eastlink - Timmins, ON; Maestro DVR w/ 4 terminals, Xbox360, Wii, SiriusXM, iPad2 & Galaxy S4
Posts: 992
Default



40/6? I have 40/2.
denben73 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.