ON - City of Toronto Metro Area <INDOOR Antennas Only> - OTA - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television > OTA Reception Results

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2003-03-01, 09:44 PM   #1
digitalcable
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 499
Lightbulb ON - City of Toronto Metro Area <INDOOR Antennas Only> - OTA

OTA Results for the Metro Toronto and Central GTA south of Highway 407 using INDOOR OTA gear only.
digitalcable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2005-06-13, 10:17 PM   #2
agover
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario - Rogers - SA8300HD,S1 Tivo,S2 Tivo
Posts: 201
Default WNYO & WNLO Buffalo station reception from Toronto

Hi All,

I just picked up my HDTV on the weekend along with a new Rogers PVR, but im still trying to decide if I should also pickup a OTA receiver.

I get almost all the channels I want (*cough* well maybe not all but the ones available to Canada anyways) via Rogers excluding The WB and UPN - but I havent heard anything as to when they will be available via HD.

Ive read on remotecentral (http://www.remotecentral.com/hdtv/) that there are issues with both of these channels and I was wondering if someone could fill me in a bit.

1) WNYO(The WB): I understand this channel is broadcasting at really low power, does anyone know when they will increase it to a more usable level?

2) WNLO(UPN): From remote centrals comments this channel seems to air CBS programs only. Does anyone know if they air UPN shows when the actual network seasons begin (ie will UPN shows be on this channel come September / October)?

3) Im about 17 stories up in a southwest facing apartment in downtown Toronto, I cant put up a major antenna outside (they hate it when you stick metal 15 feet out a 17th story balcony) so im stuck with indoor only. Would I be able to pick up most of the channels (US - dont care about the Canadian ones at present)?

Thanks for the info

Adam
agover is offline  
Old 2005-06-13, 11:41 PM   #3
Crispy
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 529
Default

Hi,

I get the WB and UPN in Niagara region. YOu will be unsuccessful in Toronto I am afraid.

Crispy
Crispy is offline  
Old 2005-06-14, 07:09 PM   #4
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default Getting Buffalo WNLO (UPN) & WNYO (WB) in GTA

I heard a response from wnlo engineer that they would be receiving an hd satellite receiver in fall and then they would be able to transmit upn programs in hd.Wnyo has made a application to move transmitter to wutv site and increase power.Hopefully it will get approved but crtc may object as they want channel 34 in Peterboro for chex-dt.I can sometimes receive wnyo-hd in Mississauga .Otherwise wnyo will use their 49 frequency for digital when the analogs are turned off and be able to go high power at that time.

EDIT by Stampeder: lprice99 informs that Rogers added WNYO to its CATV channel lineup awhile ago and has applied to the CRTC to carry WNLO.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2005-06-15, 10:15 AM   #5
jeneral
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob50312
Wnyo has made a application to move transmitter to wutv site and increase power.Hopefully it will get approved but crtc may object as they want channel 34 in Peterboro for chex-dt.
I noticed this application a few months ago but there is a catch. The application uses a directional antenna mounted on Grand Island pointing towards Buffalo. From the looks of the radiating pattern, we should get a stronger signal over here, but some areas will get nothing at all. If it gets approved at a decent power range, we may have better luck than the current 650w in the GTA.

I've included a link to the proposed service contour:

http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/FMTV-serv...DT1047259.html

My personal hope is that that bump on the end of the radiating pattern will have enough signal to reach me in Mississauga.
jeneral is offline  
Old 2005-06-20, 04:46 PM   #6
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default omni-tv tower location

Tom F.1 the omni 2 analog transmits from First Canadian Place downtown{white building].When they were on 44 they were up on Steeles.Their digital will also be from white building.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2005-06-20, 09:31 PM   #7
GeorgeMx
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom.F.1
...and i think OMNI is going to go DTV from the north end of T.O. where thier ch.69 analog transmitter is.
Channel 69 analog is on First Canadian Place. The original low power transmitter on channel 44 was in the north end of the city.
GeorgeMx is offline  
Old 2005-06-20, 09:38 PM   #8
Tom.F.1
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,978
Default Omni

Rob & George, Thank you for pointing me in the right direction...
Tom.F.1 is offline  
Old 2005-06-28, 06:17 PM   #9
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default Tor 1 -dt

Tor 1-dt does use CN tower.Their analog is on 1st canadian place.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2005-06-28, 07:26 PM   #10
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV101
...66 for some reason is stronger when I turn my antenna about 5 degrees to the left of where the CN tower is. This makes me think that T1’s 66 is on another building like First Canadian Place.
I just checked and Industry Canada has 66 located on the CN Tower:

ON Toronto 66 CKXT-DT INDE 433833 792315 458.0 3000
ON Toronto 20 CBLT-DT CBCE 433833 792315 491.0 38000
ON Toronto 9 CFTO-TV CTV 433833 792315 467.0 280000
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-06-28, 10:16 PM   #11
HDTV101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stampeder
I just checked and Industry Canada has 66 located on the CN Tower:

ON Toronto 66 CKXT-DT INDE 433833 792315 458.0 3000
ON Toronto 20 CBLT-DT CBCE 433833 792315 491.0 38000
ON Toronto 9 CFTO-TV CTV 433833 792315 467.0 280000
That was last summer when I check that when I first put up the antenna... maybe since then it was moved to the CN Tower?
HDTV101 is offline  
Old 2005-07-06, 08:54 PM   #12
agover
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario - Rogers - SA8300HD,S1 Tivo,S2 Tivo
Posts: 201
Default Downtown Toronto

Well I just received my new Dvico Fusion 5 ATSC card and set it up.

So here are my results:

Using a 4 year old $20.00 pair of rabbit ears (indoors) from 17 stories up in downtown Toronto I can pick up the following (no tinkering, no adjusting):
1) WGRZ (D2) - 100% - 29.6db
2) WNLO-SD(D4) - 100% - 31.1db
WIVB-HD(D4.2)
3) CBLT(D5) - 100% - 29.5db
4) WKBW(D7) - 100% - 31.1db
5) CFTO(D9) - 100% - 29.6db
6) ??WUTV(D14) - 22% - 5.6db
7) WNLO-SD(D23) -72% - 18.6db
WIVB-HD(D23.2)
8) CBLFT-DT(D24) - 93% - 25.3db
9) WNED-HD(D43) - 86% - 23.2db
WNED-SD(D43.2)
ThinkBrite(D43.3)
10) CityHD (D53) - 100% - 29.6db
11) CKXTHD (aka Toronto1) (D66) - 100% - 27.9db
12) WUTV(D14) - 65% - 17.5db


So after a little bit of tinkering (basically trying to tune WB49) I managed to pick up WUTV. Which basically means only WB49 in hd remains... I was going to try and pick up a better antenna but im starting to think its not necessary. My only issue now is that the current antenna gets slightly offset when I move away or closer to the tv which is kind of annoying.

I think im going to get an extended cable and put the current rabbit ears on my balcony - I figure I should be able to get a little bit better reception that way, and actually be able to walk by my TV.

Thus far the only hiccup is WGRZ (D2) which is constantly breaking up although I dont know why as the signal strength is great. I think im seeing the issue folks were mentioning on remotecentrals hdtv page about this channel.

Just a note the Fusion5 card is the new card from dvico using the gen 5 lg tuner. Aparently its supposed to be good for fringe areas... It seems fine thus far.


Have fun,

Adam
agover is offline  
Old 2005-10-24, 06:46 PM   #13
peter m. wilson
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 95
Default Not hopeful about Etobicoke OTA reception - Opinions?

Hi,

After reading some of the OTA adventures and seeing pics of some pretty impressive antennas I have a feeling that my OTA adventure might be short lived.

I'ved just ordered the ATI HDTV Wonder PCI computer card which comes with a pretty bare bones antenna.

I live on the second floor of a condo at Lakeshore and Brownsline (extreme southwest Etobicoke Ontario) with an east facing window and north facing balcony (which I'm not supposed to install any visible antennas on).

My hope was to grab Toronto based signals and enlarge the recording capacity provided by my Rogers PVR.

I'll let you know if I get a usable signal. Theres alot of concrete between me and the CN Tower.

Peter M.
__________________
Dyslexia,"for a cure found"
peter m. wilson is offline  
Old 2005-10-25, 03:09 AM   #14
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,966
Default

Sometimes the deck is just stacked against you. Anyone familiar with the area able to make some predictions about reception with a Silver Sensor clone that ATI gives with their cards?

Also Peter please check this thread for more detailed information on the ATI products from fellow DHCers: http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...splay.php?f=31
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-10-25, 09:06 AM   #15
Yaamon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Default

From where you are located you should be able to get most if not all of the Toronto stations.

With your east facing window.

Not sure about the Buffalo stations, maybe if the antenna is outside the east facing windows you might get the strong ones 23-1, 23-3, 43-1 etc, plus a few more

The silver sensor seems to have a wide coverage.
__________________
CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
Reply

Tags
antenna problem, vhf

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 AM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.