ON - Barrie, Muskoka, Sault Ste. Marie, Northern Ontario - OTA - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television > OTA Reception Results

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2005-05-17, 09:03 PM   #1
7candan
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Lightbulb ON - Barrie, Muskoka, Sault Ste. Marie, Northern Ontario - OTA

I live in Wiarton Ont,I am 700 ft above the Georgian bay and have tower of 74 ft with clearing of at least 1/2 mile. I found a Delhi 15.6 ft antenna which is vhf.I want to put this on the tower and use a 32 db gain pre amp and a rotor. Some people around the area have picked up Hamiltion on 11,but not real clear with no pre amp. Ideas

I am trying too find out if Toronto can travel this Far. I will soon be inatalling the antennas vhf,uhf. tia
7candan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2005-05-17, 10:31 PM   #2
HDTV101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,050
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7candan
I live in Wiarton Ont,I am 700 ft above the Georgian bay and have tower of 74 ft with clearing of at least 1/2 mile.
If the Delhi is VHF only then what about UHF channels?
HDTV101 is offline  
Old 2005-05-18, 10:54 AM   #3
ryans
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 304
Lightbulb ON - Barrie/Sault Ste. Marie/Northern Ontario - OTA

I was interested in this thread, so I just thought I'd interject some points of note in regards to the whole Wiarton and picking up channels situation.

With All that water, have you tried to point your antenna West towards Alpena, MI?

They have an OTA Digital CBS Station affiliate out of Alpena (WBKB).

WBKB-DT - 20kW - Channel 13
WBKB-TV - 316kW - Channel 11

With all that water, you might be able to pick it up.

They also have an OTA Digital PBS Station affiliate (WCML).

WCML-DT - 200kW - Channel 57
WCML-TV - 100kW - Channel 6

It might be worth a shot. Unfortunately there are no other affiliates that are close enough, the other affiliates are either out of Sault Ste. Marie, MI or Traverse City, MI or Cheboygan, MI...which would have to travel over a large part of land to get to you.

Good luck either way.
ryans is offline  
Old 2005-05-19, 12:10 AM   #4
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7candan
Thanks for the info, Today i opened the antenna up and on a 8 ft pole got as far as hamition(11),not clear and no pre amp.also got barrie(3). Will get it installed on 74 ft tower after i get rotor and pre amp(32 d b). It will be a few more weeks. One of my friends said he got the American feeds here and he is in the woods and antenna just above his house(20 ft).
74 feet is awesome! Are the guy wires any problem to get around? When you get results please post them in the stickied thread. It'll be neat to see what you get after testing for digital and analog stations from other places like Kitchener.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-05-19, 09:53 AM   #5
7candan
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Its a free standing tower, no wires, would be nice to find rotator and amp in canada at a good price but so far no luck.
7candan is offline  
Old 2005-05-19, 01:44 PM   #6
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7candan
Its a free standing tower, no wires, would be nice to find rotator and amp in canada at a good price but so far no luck.
Out of curiosity, is the tower a hand-cranked model that telescopes up? Any chance of a photo?
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-05-20, 02:27 PM   #7
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default Sault Ste Marie and Upper Lake Huron

Its easy to get a variety of U.S. DTV stations OTA in this area. If you're right in The Soo you will not need much for antenna reception from the Soo Michigan side but it looks like this is one of those areas in which DTV will be on VHF from some stations, so either you will need a separate UHF and VHF antenna or a combo model. A local to medium range antenna will do the trick. Outlying areas with fairly even topography to Sault Ste. Marie will need to go with higher gain antennas even up to fringe and deep fringe level as your distance from The Soo increases.

The FCC and Antennaweb databases seem to be falling behind on up-to-date info regarding Soo Michigan DTV channel assignments etc. so I would appreciate if anyone has further info to reply to this post with that info.

This DHC post may offer some possible reception options for upper Lake Huron coastal areas right up to The Soo if Manitoulin Island doesn't block it: http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...9&postcount=42

This link might be of help: http://www.michiguide.com/dials/up.html
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-06-18, 01:13 PM   #8
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default Toronto DTV in Wiarton, ON?

Hi, personally I would not even bother with trying to get Toronto, but skip conditions might make it possible on rare evenings if at all. I could be wrong, so have a look at this Wiarton post in the Canada OTA stickied thread and ask that person your question:

http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...9&postcount=31
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-08-28, 01:38 PM   #9
7candan
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default Wiarton Report

I have the tower up now and all hooked up

74 ft high, rotator, 16 ft delhi vhf, and a uhf antenna , a pre amp lkie 26 db.

ch 2 local
ch 3 "
ch 4 "
ch 8 Wingham
c12 Kit
c20,45
c67
All above are from Canada


c10 Travars city mich fair to good
c 11 Alpena fair to good
c18 tbn fair
ch 6 ?????

I had winsor this morning ch 10 also had Columbus ohio, Toledo,detroit and a few more about 60 percent.

I only have this going since Wednesday . Sometimes Alpena is very good and then next to nothing. This morning was a surprise for Ohio. I will keep testing and post results.

Can not get toronto because ch 20 tower in in the way, can not get North Bay or Perry Sound because ch 2 tower in in the way. For some reason London ont will not come it.(ch10.)
7candan is offline  
Old 2005-12-28, 04:53 AM   #10
Rockin Rog
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default I'm wondering if I'm doing this right near Sault Ontairo.

Hi there, I've been following this post so excuse me if I come across as hijacking as I don't intend to. On boxing day I purchased a Norcent 27" LCD widescreen tv in hopes that I could use it with Expressvu. I've also heard recently about HD programming being broadcast OTA in Sault Michigan and hoped to tap into this signal but didn't know how until I read this thread. Although I gained some knowledge I'm not following through totally due to alot of new jargon being used here.

So here's where I'm at. I live roughly 40km's by road or 25km's as the crow flies from Sault Michigan with a relatively flat distance and a shipping channel separating me from the supposed tower. What do I need to test the HD signal if my LCD tv doesn't come with an HD tuner? I've understood that the signal is likely VHF from a poster in this forum.
Rockin Rog is offline  
Old 2005-12-28, 03:38 PM   #11
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockin Rog
I've also heard recently about HD programming being broadcast OTA in Sault Michigan and hoped to tap into this signal... I live roughly 40km's by road or 25km's as the crow flies from Sault Michigan with a relatively flat distance and a shipping channel separating me from the supposed tower.
Rockin Rog, about your TV purchase questions: I've split your original post and probak118's response so that they are now in the General HDTV Forum: http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...splay.php?f=14 since we don't deal with TV purchase info here. We'll deal with just your OTA reception questions here.

No matter what you purchase, you need an ATSC tuner to get the digital stations. Given your convenient distance to the broadcast tower and that you will also want to get existing analog stations too, I would recommend that you put up a VHF/FM/UHF combo antenna pointed at the Soo and then once its mounted up on your roof aim it to pull in both the Canadian and U.S. broadcast towers.

A Wade Delhi VU935SR combination antenna would do perfectly, and most ATSC tuners have signal strength meters to help you aim for the best signal. If you cannot find a local Wade installer you could get someone to install a similar Channel Master or Winegard VHF/FM/UHF combo antenna, or if you're a do-it-yourselfer maybe one of the DHCer OTA Pros or hobbyists can ship you a Wade.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2005-12-29, 05:44 AM   #12
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default

Actually now that I think about it you could go with a smaller VHF/FM/UHF antenna like the Wade 934, although the 935 I first recommended would always give you lots of signal, especially if you decide to drive several TVs/Stereos from it, and is built a little more sturdier than most antennas to handle snow and cold...

I'm thinking you shouldn't go too small either. Even some of the metro/urban antennas would pull in the Soo stations for you, but I really prefer the conventional combo antennas for their better performance, outdoor durability, and snow load.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2006-01-17, 08:10 PM   #13
stampeder
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Delta, BC (96Av x 116St)
Posts: 23,972
Default Barrie/Northern Ontario - OTA Results

OTA Results for the Barrie, Bruce Peninsula, Georgian Bay, Muskoka, Algonquin Park, and Northern Ontario areas. This is an open discussion forum about Results in those areas, but keep your posts on topic.
stampeder is offline  
Old 2006-02-07, 04:54 PM   #14
alebowgm
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,523
Default Ckvr Dt?

Hey all,

Been a while since I have posted in this thread. Anyways, just wondering what is going to happen with us in the GTA when CKVR begins going -DT, it will shift from NTSC 3 to ATSC 13. For those with UHF only antennas like the CM 4228, will that mean that CKVR-DT will not be available, or will we still get it.

I know it is just guesses for the most part, but wouldnt mind hearing what people think. I know CKVR has years till it has to go -DT but being part of that A-Channel grouping of stations that CHUM has, I could see them sooner than later wanting to have A-Channel HD available on Cable and Satellite if only for movies and some of the US programming A-Channel picks up and figure CKVR will be the station that will get it, with its close proximity to Toronto...
alebowgm is offline  
Old 2006-02-07, 07:30 PM   #15
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default CKVR-dt

CKVR-dt is to be on channel 10 with 30kw.Assuming they install the antenna at the top of the Barrie tower it should just be able to reach Toronto.The range will be less than analog signal is now.They responded my inquiring about HD digital transmission and said 2 to 5 years with SD transmission first.They currently have no hdtv equipment at all.They said that that viewer demands would decide as to when they upgrade.So start contacting them to get HDTV.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 PM.

OTA Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.