harmony 880 remote & shaw digital box - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-12-13, 03:03 PM   #1
bubba622
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default harmony 880 remote & shaw digital box

Until yesterday things were fine with my, admittedly "not the very latest in technology home theater"...shaw cable, here in edmonton, has deemed it necessary for me to install a digital cable box (DCT700) to my system, which comes with its own behemoth of a remote. Yesterday i was able to DO EVERYTHING from 1 single remote, today, after many hours of trying to get one remote to learn another , i fear that i will be digressing back to having to use 2 remotes for certain tasks. I have made numerous attempts at the learning procedure, check the button to be learned, click on learn, hook up harmony to USB, place orig remote at back of harmony remote, push & hold desired learning button (for various lengths of time, only to be told that there is a weak infrared signal adjust the distance & try again...does anybody have any advice as far as getting this working...much appreciated!!
bubba622 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-12-13, 03:06 PM   #2
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,636
Default

Quote:
place orig remote at back of harmony
The remotes should be "nose to nose" facing each other a couple of inches apart. You should press the buttons a normal amount of time - not too long, not too short. However, there should be no reason for this "learning" since the DCT700 should be somewhere in the Harmony database and you should be able to incorporate it into your activity.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-13, 03:19 PM   #3
bubba622
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default as per the harmony diagram

i will attempt as you suggest, however, the harmony software diagram clearly shows the USB cable at the top of the 880 remote and the "original" remote facing the bottom of the harmony...i will let you know shortly...
bubba622 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-13, 03:28 PM   #4
bubba622
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I tried as suggested nose to nose, no reaction whatsoever...you suggest that the DCT700 should be somewhere in the Harmony database and you should be able to incorporate it into your activity. I would agree however there are only 21 functions appearing on my 880 device menu, i guess there are probably 20 or 30 more that are required. Hence the IR learning mode.
bubba622 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-13, 08:34 PM   #5
Bplayer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 775
Default

The IR reader on the Harmony for learning is at the bottom. Make sure that you have fresh batteries in the both remotes. It is strange that you should have to learn that many additional codes. Have you looked at all pages?
Bplayer is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-12-14, 03:43 PM   #6
jlet
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carleton Place, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 1,744
Default

Also remember, in Device mode, the commands that are pre-mapped to the hard keys will not show up in the device screen (like Rewind, Play, FastForward, Record, Pause, Stop, etc.). The best way to see all the available commands is by looking at the pull-down menu when you map a button using the Device or Activity Customize Buttons.
__________________
SA9865HD; Panasonic TH-50PZ850; Denon AVR-X4000; Tannoy: Arden, S8C, S8LR; SVS 16-46PC+; Oppo 971; Harmony 659/680
jlet is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.