How can I stream Hulu to my TV in Canada? Has it worked for anyone? - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Internet Television: Streaming Services including Netflix and Apple TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-11-12, 11:51 PM   #31
andrela
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 251
Default

I just arrived from the US and there is no instant Queue when using the Canadian account. I do have the 'your list' in Canada.
andrela is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-11-13, 01:09 PM   #32
willise
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 293
Default

I set up an unblock-us account, but couldn't get it to work with Netflix at all on my ATV2.

I set up my DD-WRT router as a repeater (I can't use ethernet) and I connect to the internet fine and if I connect my laptop to the DD-WRT router via an ethernet cable, it works. When I try to connect to the router wirelessly, I can get to the internet, but lose the ability to watch Hulu, Netflix US, etc.

For the ATV2, no matter what I tried it would not connect to the US Netflix. I changed the location to US in the settings, tried it wired and wirelessly to the DD-WRT router, and then tried to just input the DNS straight into the ATV2. Nothing worked.

Any ideas?
willise is offline  
Old 2012-01-02, 07:32 PM   #33
lima20
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willise View Post
I set up an unblock-us account, but couldn't get it to work with Netflix at all on my ATV2.

I set up my DD-WRT router as a repeater (I can't use ethernet) and I connect to the internet fine and if I connect my laptop to the DD-WRT router via an ethernet cable, it works. When I try to connect to the router wirelessly, I can get to the internet, but lose the ability to watch Hulu, Netflix US, etc.

For the ATV2, no matter what I tried it would not connect to the US Netflix. I changed the location to US in the settings, tried it wired and wirelessly to the DD-WRT router, and then tried to just input the DNS straight into the ATV2. Nothing worked.

Any ideas?
I was contemplating getting the ATV2 as well, but after reading your post, I am now worried that I might not be able to get it to work with Hulu and Netflix

Perhaps someone with that has one and managed to get it to work, will come along and advise. I have a Linksys router
lima20 is offline  
Old 2012-01-03, 11:14 AM   #34
jshel101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,794
Default

If you go on unblockus website, they have instructions on how to setup your ATV2 to access US Netflix.
jshel101 is offline  
Old 2012-01-10, 05:43 PM   #35
thebone
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 219
Default

If I am understanding this correctly, all that's needed to get Hulu and Netflix is to change the DNS to a US based DNS at the router level and I would get those DNS numbers from unblockus ?

Surely it's more complicated than that ?
thebone is offline  
Old 2012-01-10, 05:48 PM   #36
jshel101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,794
Default

That is it. It won't work on ATV2, but it does on iMac's, PC's, and iPhone/iPad's.
jshel101 is offline  
Old 2012-01-10, 06:34 PM   #37
Keaters
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chatham, ON
Posts: 72
Default

For Netflix to work on any other device beside Apple Devices, PC, or PS3, you need to make sure that you are setting up and Unblock-US account, and then go and buy and Pre-paid Visa Gift Card. Then register the card on the website on the back of the card, but put in a valid US Zip Code. Then use that same information for the Gift Card to create a new Hulu Plus/Netlfix US account so you can access those programmes. All details are on the unblock-us website.
Keaters is offline  
Old 2012-01-24, 09:58 AM   #38
toronto_guy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default

Actually, the U.S. Netflix will accept some Canadian credit cards. My account is linked to a Capital One Mastercard. For a zip code, I just used the 3 digits in my postal code, and appended a "01" to the end. If you're going to try this trick, make sure that the zip code you use is actually a valid one first.

Some people have had success using their AMEX cards as well. I already used mine for my Canadian account, so it didn't work for me.

I'll also note that some users are reporting that their Canadian Netflix accounts are flawlessly streaming US content with unblock-us enabled. I had some issues with my ATV2, even properly configured, when trying to use my Canadian Netflix account. So I just switched to a US account.

I've created quite a few US based accounts for various things, and I have to say that Netflix was probably the easiest one to set up. Very few hoops to jump through.
toronto_guy is offline  
Old 2012-01-24, 11:48 AM   #39
jshel101
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,794
Default

Sorry OT, but I found US iTunes and US Amazon accounts a lot easier to create than a US Netflix account. I can just enter in a fake US address and I am good to go. I can also switch my account to my Canadian address with no problems. iTunes is the easiest for this.
jshel101 is offline  
Old 2012-03-27, 03:16 PM   #40
wetlabk
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 100
Default

I may give this a try, anyone else try this option?
wetlabk is offline  
Old 2012-04-07, 10:05 AM   #41
wetlabk
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 100
Default

got a roku 2 and unblockus and playon, get hulu and netflix and lots of media streaming channels
wetlabk is offline  
Old 2012-04-10, 03:29 PM   #42
thenewdc
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,699
Default

The best part of Unblock-US is that i can watch all the BBC and ITV channels live in HD.
thenewdc is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.