Gateway pre-purchase questions - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw Cable HD tuner and HD PVR Discussion > Shaw Gateway

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-12-27, 06:14 PM   #61
stanl
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 60
Default

JetRanger has explained pretty well what I mean. Technically all pictures should be equal but of course, in reality, they seldom are. For instance, two different televisions will give two different pictures of the same feed. Why should it be so difficult to imagine two different receivers giving different results.

If I compare the picture (same station, same time) between the Gateway and the 3400, to me (and several other people I have blind tested) the picture does seem to be richer and deeper in color with better detail. The latter is especially apparent in fast action sports which for me, is important.

Will this be the same for everyone. No. Each unique configuration of equipment will produce different results. But of the people that I know that have had both, most have commented (unsolicited) on the perceived better quality of the Gateway vs. the 3400. In fairness, one, said they thought the 3400 was better which in their case is entirely possible.

This does not mean that the picture on the 3400 is noticeably bad. It isn't. I was very satisfied with the picture on my 3400's so I was quite surprised when I noticed the difference on the Gateway. For me, with my setup, the Gateway produces a noticeably better picture. YMMV.
stanl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-12-27, 10:24 PM   #62
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

I have been informed that the reason behind the better picture quality from the Gateway system is due to the newer chipset.

Better chipset = Better picture.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2011-12-28, 04:46 AM   #63
MetroVan
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 142
Default

I and a family member also noticed the better PQ after the Moto DCX3400 was replaced by a Portal. We couldn't really explain why it was better at the time. If I had noticed it by myself, perhaps I would have dismissed it as just seeing what I wanted to see to justify my purchase.
MetroVan is offline  
Old 2011-12-28, 01:28 PM   #64
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

It really is that subtle a difference, isn't it? If I couldn't do a side by side immediate comparison, I would be hard pressed to say there was a difference other than a 'perceived' one.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-02-15, 01:53 PM   #65
banff2010
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 21
Default

After browsing a few post, I can't find answers to my two specific question.
1) The 6 programs recorded will be encrypted (i.e. you can't attach the Hard disk to your computer and watch it)?
2) Can I watch content in another hard disk (with proper samba server) through this?

I am just wondering close to $500 investment would be better than my current set up (torrents since no megaupload) to watch a few TV shows.
banff2010 is offline  
Old 2012-02-15, 05:23 PM   #66
CowtownBiomed
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary (Just Call me Cow..its easier)
Posts: 104
Default

Hi Banff...

1) Yes it would be encrypted so that only the Gateway with the HD could play the content.
2) Yes you could theoretically watch content saved on your PC's HD on your TV through the Gateway- Portals..(proper format specific)

HTH
Cow
CowtownBiomed is offline  
Old 2012-03-10, 06:05 AM   #67
Mark B
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default A terrible (and expensive) PVR

I could never recommend the Digital Gateway. I tell this to as many people as will listen, realizing that most people who want a new per don't have much of a choice.

I've had one since they were first available (my installer had never installed one before).

The user interface is terrible. Most tasks take way too many clicks. The remote is lacking a "source" button, to even change TV sources! I haven't even been able to get a real manual for it, only on the the "shaw" guides.

Even the guide is a step backwards from my old PVR's (7 year old Panasonic, which used TV Guide, my old 5 year old Tivo and even the motorola (Shaw box) I had most recently.

Who can blame Shaw (or any carrier) when the regulator lets them do it? In the US cable providers have to allow any cable card capable PVR to connect and work with their systems. You can actually take your PVR from one carrier to the other --- how novel!.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CableCARD

I'd switch INSTANTLY to any cable provider that supported CableCard, and allowed me to actually CHOOSE my own pvr -- even if it meant junking this expensive digital gateway.

The Tivo Premier Elite (with desktop software and iPad remote) look pretty sweet. Too bad none of the Canadian carrier will allow me to use it.

We should be able to choose our hardware and our carrier separately. In a market where people actually had a choice in PVR's (such as the US), I can't imagine anyone buying these Digital Gateways. Probably why they were available to Shaw.

I suppose we should just be thankful that we don't have to have a shaw approved television as well.
Mark B is offline  
Old 2012-03-16, 09:50 PM   #68
merve04
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 972
Default Shaw Home Portal

Ok someone I know has shaw and for his situation I recomended the guy to look into the shaw portal thingy. Now to my knowledge I'm guessing it works quite similar to my Telus optick setup, so please clarify this for me..

Shaw's system requires a gateway box and then you can have 6 portal receivers?

Can the gateway be used on a tv, or its just a controler box and every tv needs a portal?

Second, does the portal box allow you to watch live tv, or does it only allow you to watch whats recorded on the gateway?

I ask this as I want to have a proper answer for the guy, he's been told things about this system by a best buy rep and I found it hard to believe what he was told.

Thanks
__________________
Panasonic PT-AE4000|Pioneer VSX-1021K|Energy Connoisseur CF-50, CC-10, CB-10, Velodyne VDR-12|Sony BDP-S350|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS430|Harmony One
LG 55LE5500|H\K AVR 347|Yamaha NS-8390|Polk Audio PSW-10|Samsung BD-P1600|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS330|Harmony 600
LG 42LC7D|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS330|Harmony 600
LG 32LS3400|Telus CIS330
merve04 is offline  
Old 2012-03-16, 10:15 PM   #69
michelkenny
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Gateway cannot connect to a TV.

Portals can watch live tv.
michelkenny is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 12:41 AM   #70
merve04
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 972
Default

I figured, thank you
__________________
Panasonic PT-AE4000|Pioneer VSX-1021K|Energy Connoisseur CF-50, CC-10, CB-10, Velodyne VDR-12|Sony BDP-S350|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS430|Harmony One
LG 55LE5500|H\K AVR 347|Yamaha NS-8390|Polk Audio PSW-10|Samsung BD-P1600|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS330|Harmony 600
LG 42LC7D|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS330|Harmony 600
LG 32LS3400|Telus CIS330
merve04 is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 12:49 AM   #71
Shaw Champ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB. LG47"LE5500/Toshiba 32E200U /BDC6500/ Shaw Gateway
Posts: 931
Default

Merve can I ask what the Best Buy rep had said?
__________________
Shaw Employee, Opinions are my own unless otherwise stated.
Shaw Champ is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 01:44 PM   #72
merve04
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 972
Default

This is what my friend told me he was told;

You have the one box that is your main pvr that is used for your primary tv and the additional boxes are just "satellite boxes" that stream strictly whats being stored on the gateway.

Now when he mentioned this to me I was in dis belief as a system of this type wouldn't be attractive to any consumer on the market, why would you want to limit yourself to one live tv. this is what my friend told the sales rep more or less, he got an answer that the system is still new and doesn't support the ability to have independent tv viewing on each tv but only access on demand stuff and your recordings, basically just a streaming box.

one more question, does it use cat5\6 or coax to feed the portal boxes from the gateway, im wiring up his house, ill end up running couple cat6 and coax regardless but just want to know how these boxes link with the gateway..
__________________
Panasonic PT-AE4000|Pioneer VSX-1021K|Energy Connoisseur CF-50, CC-10, CB-10, Velodyne VDR-12|Sony BDP-S350|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS430|Harmony One
LG 55LE5500|H\K AVR 347|Yamaha NS-8390|Polk Audio PSW-10|Samsung BD-P1600|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS330|Harmony 600
LG 42LC7D|Roku 2 XS|Telus CIS330|Harmony 600
LG 32LS3400|Telus CIS330
merve04 is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 03:31 PM   #73
michelkenny
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default

They are connected via Coax
michelkenny is offline  
Old 2012-03-18, 01:23 PM   #74
Flash604
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Abbotsford, BC
Posts: 162
Default

Some of the confusion might be from the fact that the Gateway is usually sold as a package that includes one portal, so it comes ready to hook up to one TV and you need more portals to hook up more TVs.

Technically all the portals are watching streamed TV; but you can stream it live. But on any of them you can rewind at any time because they are always recording; the recording is just not saved unless you specify. This differs from say the Microsoft Media Centre, for which you must press record if you want the ability to rewind your live TV.

The connection is a MOCA network through coax, but the Gateway does have network jacks on it to hook up computers once the DNLA is live, then your buddy can watch/listen to things on his computers. There is also a wireless modem in the Gateway that may or may not be activated in the future; it is likely as the network functionality needs to be turned on to allow the DNLA so adding the wireless wouldn't be much more trouble; it just depends on whether Shaw wants to have another network configuration that their internet people will have to support. Finally there is a network port on the back of each portal that might (small might) be activated in the future so that you could plug items into it to get network connectivity.

All of this makes it sound like the best place to put the Gateway would be in the computer area; but be warned that it is loud by today's standards; sort of like a computer from 10 years ago (fan and hard drive noise). For that reason it's better to put it where the coax enters the house, and then have Cat5 or 6 in place to run from there to the computer area for the future DNLA functionality.

Since Best Buy has steered him wrong, perhaps he should buy direct from Shaw? You can finance it over 3 years for what is almost 0%.
Flash604 is offline  
Old 2012-03-18, 04:06 PM   #75
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

The RJ45 jack on the Portals is just another way to connect back to the Gateway, via Ethernet cabling instead of coax, or at least it will be once DLNA is enabled. There will be no ability to connect other equipment to it or access content from it if that is what anyone is hoping for. Everything here, so far, has been discussed in the other Gateway threads.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.