MPEG4 Receiver swap starts October 23rd 2011, Read Post 1. - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV PVR, HD PVR and HD Receivers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-10-06, 06:50 PM   #16
jumpy27
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,258
Default

The 9241 does have a dual tuner, but it does not do PIP or split picture. You can't even swap tuners like you can with the 9200 to watch two things at once. The only way to watch two things at once with the 9241 is to record both channels and go back and forth from the PVR list.

The 9241 is similar to the Shaw Cable boxes that are dual tuner, and don't do PIP even though there is a PIP button on the Shaw remote. You can swap tuners with the Shaw boxes, but you cannot with the 9241.
jumpy27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-10-06, 06:56 PM   #17
jdevlin
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 770
Default

OTA is THE reason I bought my 9200. You can actually record three programs at the same time, two satellite and one OTA. I record ALL my US programs OTA. I hate sim subs where you often miss portions of the beginning or end of shows. I will wait and see what they offer but if it does not include OTA I will not accept it.
jdevlin is online now  
Old 2011-10-06, 06:56 PM   #18
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taxtwit View Post
Pinza, do 6131s have UHF remotes? If not, that's going to be an issue - all of my 6100s are nicely hidden away.
Nope. I can only hope that they provide a UHF Extender, like they did with the 6000 swap a few years ago.

I know of hundreds of Commercial locations, with 6100's hidden above the suspended ceilings.....lol
Pinza is online now  
Old 2011-10-06, 07:06 PM   #19
newsjunkie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria
Posts: 99
Default

so if I have a 3100, will i need a new one?
newsjunkie is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 07:10 PM   #20
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

No. please read post #1 this is for 6100 and 9200 HD Receivers
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 07:33 PM   #21
Gino Cerullo
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 583
Default

Sorry Jumpy27 and Pinza. I did some more research and you are both correct, the 9241 does not do PIP. What a shame and waste of dual tuners.
Gino Cerullo is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 09:19 PM   #22
AFF
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 802
Default

So if someone is at there receiver limit(5?) already are Bell going add a 9241 and a 5900 to the account? I guess they would have no choice.
AFF is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 09:52 PM   #23
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,719
Default

Indeed. What about people with four or five 9200s on their acount? Will they end up with 10 receivers?

I would accept a 9241 and 6141 for a 9200.
peano is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 10:16 PM   #24
ExRobotGuy
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingston, ON - Bell ES 9241, Onkyo NR808, Oppo93, AppleTV3, Vizio 55", PSB & Yamaha speakers for 7:1
Posts: 57
Default 9242 or 9241 ??

I'm a recent Bell sat customer. While checking other things tonight I happened on the 'specs' page of the receiver. My '9242' [on the front of box] says it's a 9241 as per model number in specs.

Anyone??
ExRobotGuy is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 10:26 PM   #25
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,719
Default

System Info will tell you what it is.
peano is offline  
Old 2011-10-06, 11:00 PM   #26
Interceptor
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 611
Default

Are they going to put these 43 SD channels on the 82 satellite and make them MPEG 4? I'm having a problem making sense of their thinking here.

I still say they should stop selling the SD receivers, so they can eventually make everything MPEG 4.
Interceptor is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 07:57 AM   #27
mikec
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 333
Default

I have 6 receivers on my account already, including 1 9242. I imagine they will try and give the replacement 9242s to the custumers who already have 6 on their account.


UPDATE: I just got off the phone with Bell.. I have two receivers to be replaced, a 9242 and a 6100. He said that since we already have 6 receivers on our account, if we didn't end up getting a 9242 in the swap they would most likely make an exception and allow a 7th (this isn't official, just what he told me). I actually don't mind if we don't get a 9242. We do use the 2nd tuner out, but I could make it work with the free 5900..
mikec is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 09:58 AM   #28
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,883
Default

@ AFF The limit is 6 Receivers NOT 5.
@ Peano I agree, a 9241 & 6131, would also be acceptable to me.
@ Interceptor No they will NOT be MPEG4, if they were no-one with a 3100,4100,5900 would be able to see them. They may well go onto 82 but I doubt it. Who knows.
Pinza is online now  
Old 2011-10-07, 10:00 AM   #29
mikec
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 333
Default

I also agree about the 9241 & 6131 instead. Then you can make a PVR yourself.
mikec is offline  
Old 2011-10-07, 10:26 AM   #30
cascarbob
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newcastle, ON
Posts: 116
Default

Right now with my 9200 when I use the 2nd output I can access and record the HD channels.
If I was to get a 9241 and a 5900, would the 5900 even see the HD channels?
cascarbob is offline  
Reply

Tags
9200, mpeg2, mpeg4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.