CLOSED — Shaw Gateway: Code update to iS2 & iS2+ - Page 81 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw Cable HD tuner and HD PVR Discussion > Shaw Gateway

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-03-15, 05:07 PM   #1201
jag17
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 25
Default

I had a bit of a strange occurrence this morning. I turned on the TV to find most of my channels had no signal or gave me that "to subscribe to this channel..." message, and the few that did work, weren't displaying the proper channel -- I would put on Movie Central HD, but instead of displaying that channel, it would display the standard definition of the Discovery channel. After calling shaw, it turned out my gateway's "channel map" somehow became unhinged and had to be reset.
jag17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-03-15, 05:14 PM   #1202
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

Is there any chance you or someone else in the house was in the Installer menu? That is just one of the hazards of going in there. The next code release takes care of this by changing to a 'Dash Board' with several new options that are all user friendly.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-03-15, 05:29 PM   #1203
Zippy69
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Coquitlam, B.C.
Posts: 34
Default

i gues there is no idea of when they are coming out with the new update as they still cant fix DST after the better part of a week. why is one tech says one thing but another tech will say something completle diferent, such as we cant see the gateway because the power must be to low but you talk to another tech a few hours later to find out the reason they cant see the gateway is because it has been disabled from the shaw network as well as my internet. Good workers
Zippy69 is offline  
Old 2012-03-15, 07:05 PM   #1204
Denny23
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Had tech support come today for a gateway swap. Issues with connection errors between portals and gateway.

Anyhow.. He said that they were told at the office that the new firmware update "should" roll out today. He never saw anything official though.

I sure hope so. The existing firmware is glitchy as hell.
Denny23 is offline  
Old 2012-03-15, 07:11 PM   #1205
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

The 'next' update went out to Shaw employees this week. This usually means we should see it in 3 or 4 weeks if there are no surprises.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-03-16, 05:12 AM   #1206
Gord Lacey
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,749
Default

I really hope the next update is magical. They've been working on the thing forever!
Gord Lacey is offline  
Old 2012-03-16, 10:10 AM   #1207
Zippy69
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Coquitlam, B.C.
Posts: 34
Default

i just hope it will fix the day light saving issue as i am still behind an hour
Zippy69 is offline  
Old 2012-03-16, 11:29 PM   #1208
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

Check the DST issue thread for more on that.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 12:02 PM   #1209
Grover
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Victoria
Posts: 34
Default

7.0.1b.9X5R-P.342538
7.0.1b.9G5BR-P.342538
These are the numbers that I've got after the mysterious update that was pushed out to me a couple of weeks ago. I don't have the old numbers in front of me but after Jetranger's post I imagine they might be the same and that an actual update might not have taken place. Sorry to take so long to get this posted, very busy. Going to have to find some time to call Shaw again as this "update" did nothing more than a power cycle would to solve bugginess.

Jetranger, the quotes you've placed around "new" when you describe the next update don't fill me with hope. You feeling underwhelmed by it?

Cheers!
Grover is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 12:47 PM   #1210
sailorickm
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Calgary, AB ShawGateway & 3 Portals, Shaw 1TB Expander, Sony 3D KDL-46HX729, HTSF470, 2 BDPS580
Posts: 165
Default

Quote:
The 'next' update went out to Shaw employees this week.
Jetranger, is that all across Western Canada (Winnipeg in particular) or just Calgary?
sailorickm is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 06:04 PM   #1211
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

Grover, Those numbers are exactly the same ones I have and my system says they were loaded back on 13Dec2011, around the same time as everyone else. 'New' because it has been in the works for so long now that I wouldn't really call it that any more.

sailorickm, I am not sure about other centers but I understand the code was sent out here in Alberta. All I can guess is that should have happened for all centers but I don't know for certain.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-03-17, 06:27 PM   #1212
Grover
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Victoria
Posts: 34
Default

So strange that they'd say I was missing an update as I had the 'b' numbers before and assume those haven't changed since whatever they did a couple weeks back.

Cheers!
Grover is offline  
Old 2012-03-18, 03:40 PM   #1213
Jetranger
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary SonyTVs,ShawGateway&6Portals DCX3400&3200, 5ShawExpanders:3WD,Seagate,iOmega Harmony One
Posts: 3,558
Default

I think they want to be able to say 'something' just to make you feel better and that they are actually able to help you so they make stuff up.

There is another small 'plus' type update in final testing now that is designed to address the most commonly complained about issues, like the FFWD and REW 'cannot connect' issues and some others. It should be out in no more than a month as long as the final trial group don't find any problems with it.

The next several months have been ambitiously slated for 'regular' updates with fixes and new features but I will believe it when it happens. There are just too many variables to realistically set any kind of 'schedule' for the releases but it sure would be nice to get them in a more timely fashion.
__________________
If you want more then ask for it rather than going hungry. If you want more than I have then you should ask. They're going to park their car over there.
Jetranger is offline  
Old 2012-03-19, 02:37 PM   #1214
crawl09
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
The next several months have been ambitiously slated for 'regular' updates with fixes and new features but I will believe it when it happens. There are just too many variables to realistically set any kind of 'schedule' for the releases but it sure would be nice to get them in a more timely fashion.
Sorry, like you, I will believe this when I see it. After ~6 months of this I am starting to wonder if its ever going to be the great system they claim. Let's worry about getting the 'needs list' done before they move on to the 'wants'.

They are quickly starting to lose my interest in the equipment and soon will lose my business too. Tomorrow I will have a tech out for the 4th time; each time having to wait multiple weeks to have them back. Or, if you are like me, the tech gives his number and asks that I call him directly, only to have him ignore my calls or 'forget' to call back.

Don't get me wrong, I understand that we are essentially running beta software here but when is it enough and that we expect a system that is 'Stable'?

Just my thoughts, I am sure there are thousands of others...

Last edited by crawl09; 2012-03-19 at 02:39 PM. Reason: add quote
crawl09 is offline  
Old 2012-03-19, 03:02 PM   #1215
bevster
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 58
Default

Crawl09, I have had more than 6 techs to the house and 1 is coming today to hopefully narrow things down with some type of moca network tester. However they were not sure if the tech would have such a device or not but placed it in the notes to send a tech that has one, if available.

I am experiencing full screen pixelation on watching a recorded show, except if I rewind or skip back the same pixelation will not play. So that tells me there is something going on internally and not from the network feed. I can observe it on live feeds as well, but I generally watch recorded stuff.

Also I have had 1 senior tech and 1 maintenance tech both wanting to stay in touch with me by giving me their cell # and they both fail to call back or answer my calls so then I am forced to start from scratch with a new tech and go through all the same motions all over again.
The latest tech they sent to my house had only been working for shaw for 1 week and had no idea on what he was doing ( he admitted this to me ) and shaw had claimed they were sending me a specialist! ( come on )

Also from gateway support I had the same experience, the specialists there say they will keep in touch with me, but they never call back and its usually because they have transferred out somewhere else.
I think that is the problem I am having with techs and such is that they transfer to other departments and I get left to start all over and make no progress.

They are also close to losing my business because of all of this. Love the idea of the product, just the worst support in the world unfortunately.

Also They will not credit me on any bills until they can fix the problem, but I cant get any tech out that knows what he is doing or will actually follow up like they all claim they will.
* very frustrated *
bevster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.