new hdtv sets: do they all have atsc tuners? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > HDTV: High Definition Television including LCD and Plasma

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-09-09, 08:07 PM   #1
sstef
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: hamilton
Posts: 3
Default new hdtv sets: do they all have atsc tuners?

Haven't looked into this in about 4 years.
Considering buying an HD TV and I don't see anything about ATSC in the specs for (LG new LEDs for example).
Do TVs all have tuners these days for OTA?
sstef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-09-09, 09:28 PM   #2
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

yes indeed
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Old 2011-09-09, 11:25 PM   #3
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 308
Default

It is best to check the manufacturing date on the back. Anything older than 2008 you should dig a little deeper to find out if it indeed have a ATSC tuner, Canadian law does not limit sales of older TVs with just an analog tuner so merchants in the US shipped all these older analog only units to Canada where the law is lax. The newer models coming out will only have an ATSC tuner as now both the US and Canada has switched over to digital.
__________________
OTA CM4228HD CM3410 CM4040
EdT is offline  
Old 2011-09-10, 07:36 AM   #4
JamesK
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 6,179
Default

^^^^
There are still some NTSC transmitters in both countries, so sets should still have NTSC tuners, in addition to ATSC.
__________________
But what is the speed of dark?
JamesK is online now  
Old 2011-09-10, 09:34 AM   #5
classicsat
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,273
Default

The major brands should be all ATSC by now.

The "import" brands sold by discount/big box retailers should be scrutinized.
classicsat is offline  
Old 2011-09-14, 06:47 PM   #6
ChannelMaster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Longueuil
Posts: 701
Default

Surprisingly enough, I bought a VERY, VERY CHEAP AVEIS 2010 42-inch LCD TV for spare with all the connectivity you'd expect from late models but... with no ATSC discovery during channel scan!
ChannelMaster is offline  
Old 2011-09-15, 08:38 AM   #7
classicsat
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,273
Default

Ergo, "import" brand. I think Aevis is related to Daenyx, which is the Daewoo low end brand.
classicsat is offline  
Old 2011-09-15, 08:43 AM   #8
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default

OP has not come back so closing.
__________________
As of January 2012, I am no longer the owner of the Digital Home website. My comments and opinions are my own and not those of the current site owners.
I have disabled private messaging so for personal inquiries contact me at the Hugh Thompson website or via twitter.
hugh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.