OTA NETWORK Status: CTV & CTV2 - Page 13 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Over-The-Air (OTA) Digital Television > OTA Station & Network Operational Status

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-06-16, 08:45 PM   #181
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default

OTA Canuck there is ridge North of Toronto just south of HWY 9 providing a barrier to CKVR Barrie signal from reaching most of GTA.No LOS to GTA .That said CKVR Barrie is at only 10kw,They should be at atleast 60kw.Analog CKVR was much better.Chay fm Barrie 93.1 is perfect in my car thru out the GTA same tower 100kw.CTV2 should have lost their simsub rights in the GTA based on real world reception results and not the flawed coverage formula contours.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-06-16, 09:07 PM   #182
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,433
Default

did u guys look at the coverage plots trip has on rabbitears?

ckvr

ckvp

chcj
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-06-16, 09:54 PM   #183
ota_canuck
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,409
Default

Comparing those ckvp & chcj plots and taking into consideration of their mind boggling directional choices,... having CTV-2 reapeater broadcasts coming from Hamilton & Fonthill makes even less sense to me. It was these big monopolies that nixed the CRTC applications for Niagara's own local TVN station several years ago[2008], so why would CTV/Bell need Fonthill at all, other than to tie up the Niagara region's broadcast real-estate? Hamilton would be quite suffucient choice if they have sufficient height and a omni directional broadcast.
__________________
3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital
ota_canuck is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 09:59 PM   #184
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default

majortom the rabbitear plot for the Hamilton repeater is for the CHCH tower at 242m now they are going to a cell tower at 107m so we are all wondering if it will reach us now?The barrie signal on 10 is poor.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 10:05 PM   #185
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default

OTA canuck CTV2 is only interested in simsub rights. Actually providing a good signal to people is not even a consideration.2 weak repeaters must be the cheapest option.I agree the Hamilton repeater would have provided all the required signal.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 10:12 PM   #186
majortom
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,433
Default

Easy now...Fonthill would cover my house quite well
if you know the particulars, you might be able to get an idea what the cell tower would cover by plugging in the various particulars here.
Not sure how well it'll work since it should require Canadian terrain data, but try choosing either NONE or NY for the state and see what happens?
Be patient, takes a while to run and return plot.

http://kb9mwr.dyndns.org/n9zia/longley.main.cgi

?? BTW, are these 3 stations supposed to just be repeaters of CFTO/CTV in Toronto or sumthin else entirely?
__________________
uhf/vhf combo rotor chimney mount FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 4way split lg lcd dtt901 pctuner mythtv
majortom is online now  
Old 2012-06-16, 10:25 PM   #187
ota_canuck
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,409
Default

CTV-2 has alternative programing from the regular programing lineup on CTV. Sometimes I can get CTV-2 London and CTV from Kitchener if I point my antenna directly at that source. So, in fact there will be 3 CTV-2's within the Southwest Ontario regions. Hamilton will/could cover all of those areas,.. and/or Fonthill could cover Niagara/Hamilton/south Toronto areas.

http://www.ctv.ca/two/
http://www.ctv.ca/
__________________
3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital

Last edited by ota_canuck; 2012-06-16 at 11:22 PM. Reason: I've made some clarifications regarding CTV 13-Kitchener/CTV2 10-London
ota_canuck is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 10:38 PM   #188
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,555
Default

^^^
There is no CTV2 originating from Kitchener.

You're likely picking up channel 10 from London, or possibly channel 10 from Barrie.

The Fonthill repeater will be so low in ERP and directional, that it likely won't be picked up by those in Toronto.
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 10:41 PM   #189
rob50312
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,393
Default

OTAcanuck that CTV2 you sometimes get is from London also on 10 but has 45kw.CKCO Kitchener on 13 is CTV.
__________________
CM 4248 at Buffalo,XG43 at Toronto,M4 at Buffalo,CH 11 yagi at Ham.
rob50312 is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 10:43 PM   #190
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom View Post
BTW, are these 3 stations supposed to just be repeaters of CFTO/CTV in Toronto or sumthin else entirely?
They'll be adding two repeaters: Fonthill and Hamilton.

The station they'll be repeating is the CTV2 network station from Barrie, Ontario....about 80km or so north of Toronto. Basically the "sister" network to CTV (carried by CFTO Toronto, among other transmitters).
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 11:20 PM   #191
ota_canuck
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dunnville, Ontario on the Grand River, North shore Lake Erie
Posts: 2,409
Default

Thanks for catching that guys,.. you're right CTV 13RF is from Kitchener and the CTV-2 10RF is from London. I can get both from here if I target my antenna into that corridor. And yes,... CTV-2 10RF-London is a repeater of the 10RF-Barrie CTV-2. I'm not sure if the Barrie CTV-2 is local or just a repeater from somewhere else. So, as I said,.. there are 3 proposed repeaters within the southwest Ontario region 10RF, 35RF, 42RF plus Barrie 10RF for central/south Ontario.
__________________
3D SSH III with ZZ4 refl. http://imageshack.us/user/jmsdigital
ota_canuck is offline  
Old 2012-06-16, 11:35 PM   #192
Jase88
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 4,555
Default

Actually, London CTV2 (CFPL) is it's own station. Local news and the whole bit. Just as Barrie (CKVR) is it's own station. There will only be two repeaters added in the "Golden Horseshoe" region: Fonthill and Hamilton, and both will be repeaters of CTV2 Barrie (CKVR).
__________________
DMX 68' tower, HyGain HAM 5 rotator, Antennas Direct 91-XG & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection
Jase88 is offline  
Old 2012-06-17, 12:29 PM   #193
roger1818
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa (Stittsville), ON, OTA (DB4e & VHF-HI folded dipole, AP-2870 pre-amp in Attic), MythTV HTPC
Posts: 6,111
Default

^^^Correct. Here is a list of OTA stations in the CTV2 network (there are also some cable only stations):

CIVI-DT Victoria/Vancouver
CKVR-DT Barrie/Toronto
CFPL-DT London
CHRO-TV Pembroke/Ottawa
CHWI-DT Wheatley/Windsor

Each shows a limited amount of local programming (news) but mostly network programming.
__________________
Link to my TVFool results is in my profile Homepage URL. I suggest others do the same.
roger1818 is offline  
Old 2012-06-17, 07:02 PM   #194
OTA-London
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 103
Default CTV2

CTV10, already has another repeater as well 8 CKNX which is just a repeater up in Wingham

CTV2 - Barrie, has a interesting antenna setup, which is on RF 10, but Virtual 3.1, I have talked to the people there and they have said, they have set up it in such a way, that it will not cancel each other out, it will automatically pick up the one the signal is closer. I experience that on Saturday, when CITY, went for 31 to 57 back to 31.
OTA-London is offline  
Old 2012-06-18, 02:13 AM   #195
TOTVBuff
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SW Riverdale, Toronto
Posts: 31
Default

CTV2 London would be a better choice over Barrie to increase the presence of this network in Southern Ontario. I doubt if increasing its power would interfere with US Channels.
TOTVBuff is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:54 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.