Official: 6120 Thread - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV PVR, HD PVR and HD Receivers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2004-06-28, 12:31 PM   #1
hugh
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Default Official: 6120 Thread

This thread is for 6120 owners only to post observations, questions or notes about the Bell 6120.

The 6120 is the newest HDTV receiver which replaces the ExpressVu 6000.

For more information about this new receiver please read this thread.

This thread is for owners only who'd like to discuss issues with their new receiver or have practical questions about it. Posts asking about where to get it or what's it like will be deleted in order to keep the thread relevant to owners.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2004-06-30, 08:13 PM   #2
BLT
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cayuga,ON
Posts: 156
Default My new 6120

Well I hooked up the new 6120 today and on first observations I,m pleasantly surprised. I have it hooked thru DVI to my Toshiba 57HDX82,and audio is routed thru an Anthem AVM20 pre/pro.

My television has been ISF calibrated (which greatly helps btw.) and first I tuned to the HD channels. The picture to me anyways seemed overall better than previously with component not eyepopping differences but subtle.

Regular digital stations on my set anyways were noticibly clearer.
Than I scanned for my ota stuff and picked up all my Buffalo stations plus Toronto 1 from Hamilton transmitter. Heres where I noticed the biggest difference. Most of these stations almost look Hidef,the only difference was the sidebars.

I was very pleased in that respect,but as of this post none of the stations show any programme info. The guide is obviously better than the 6000 was and you dont lose audio and video in guide mode.

It was very simple to setup, and easy to move around in. All in all I,m very happy with the 6120 so far. The DVI cable I use is a Belkin 10' dual link cable and is working fine so far,purchased at Future Shop.

Well gotta go and play around some more

Cheers:

BLT
BLT is offline  
Old 2004-06-30, 09:15 PM   #3
HydrogenCyanide
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Welland, ON
Posts: 270
Default

Is the 6100 you just recieved cardless?
HydrogenCyanide is offline  
Old 2004-06-30, 11:03 PM   #4
Elvisator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: BC
Posts: 146
Default

Yes the new models are now card less and come with intergrated chips to replace them.
__________________
My Stuff
Toshiba/Sony/Klipsch/Cerwin Vega/Xbox/Bell 6100
Elvisator is offline  
Old 2004-07-02, 08:27 AM   #5
plutoz
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvisator
Yes the new models are now card less and come with intergrated chips to replace them.
Does it still have the slot for a card behind a door on the front panel?
plutoz is offline  
Old 2004-07-03, 08:46 AM   #6
brintdw
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 52
Default Re: My new 6120

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLT
Well I hooked up the new 6120 today ... I scanned for my ota stuff and picked up all my Buffalo stations plus Toronto 1 from Hamilton transmitter. Heres where I noticed the biggest difference. Most of these stations almost look Hidef,the only difference was the sidebars.

BLT
Can you ellaborate further on your OTA HD reception please. You say that most of the stations look almost HiDef - how are the hidef ones?

Are you still not seeing any of their programming info in the guide?
brintdw is offline  
Old 2004-07-03, 08:52 PM   #7
BLT
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cayuga,ON
Posts: 156
Default

All the Buffalo stations are hd with UPN and WNLO supposedly going later
this year. Yes the hd stations look very good.

There is no info in the guide yet for locals. It is supposed to be rectified in the next firmware upgrade,but do not know a date as of yet.
BLT is offline  
Old 2004-07-03, 10:53 PM   #8
brintdw
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLT
All the Buffalo stations are hd with UPN and WNLO supposedly going later this year. Yes the hd stations look very good.

There is no info in the guide yet for locals. It is supposed to be rectified in the next firmware upgrade,but do not know a date as of yet.
As a certain MR Burns might say. "Excellenttttt"
brintdw is offline  
Old 2004-07-04, 06:21 PM   #9
Elvisator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: BC
Posts: 146
Default

"Does it still have the slot for a card behind a door on the front panel?"

No slot anywhere on the unit for a Data Card.
__________________
My Stuff
Toshiba/Sony/Klipsch/Cerwin Vega/Xbox/Bell 6100
Elvisator is offline  
Old 2004-07-04, 10:20 PM   #10
SatGuru
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 130
Default

All ExpressVU and Dishnetwork receivers are now cardless for the exception of the 921/9100 HD DVR.

They are now utilizing an "embedded smartcard" technology where the smartcard info is stored on a chip on the mainboard.

SatGuru
SatGuru is offline  
Old 2004-07-05, 01:22 PM   #11
rogerduvernay
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laval, quebec
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvisator
"Does it still have the slot for a card behind a door on the front panel?"

No slot anywhere on the unit for a Data Card.
Just received my 6100! and it does have a slot for a card. Perhaps not used, but it is there!
rogerduvernay is offline  
Old 2004-07-06, 08:33 PM   #12
SatGuru
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 130
Default

Well,

Received my 6100 today from ExpressVU direct. In my opinion the quality is superior to the 6000 right off of the bat.

The ability to view SD and HD at the same time with the SD upconversion over component cables is unbeatable. Simply use the +* button to adjust your aspect as you move to channels with sidebars and vice versa; no need to hook up a S-Video cable in my opinion.

The included component video cables are identical to those shipped with the 6000 and are more than adequate in case any people are interested. I tried Monster Premium cables and could notice absolutely no difference.

Like others have noted the receiever does have a door and a card slot but that is not used. The "CAM" revision of the imbedded smartcard is 2C0 and is a Rom 102 which is supposedly the new encription system "nagra 2".

I did a quick scan of local channels using my Silver Sensor antenna without any amplification and right off it pulled in WNED and it's sub channels the HD sub channel was crystal clear.

So far my only beef is the BS that ExpressVU expects us pioneering early adapters of HD to foot the bill for the future and will not allow the HD them pack to be included in any Super 7 or Ultimate 7 package.

My next move I think is to purchase a Winegard "Square Shooter" and see what I can pull in OTA. Anyone have any experience or know of anyone with any experience with this antenna.
http://www.winegard.com/offair/squareshooter.htm

SatGuru
SatGuru is offline  
Old 2004-07-06, 09:50 PM   #13
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SatGuru
The ability to view SD and HD at the same time with the SD upconversion over component cables is unbeatable. Simply use the +* button to adjust your aspect as you move to channels with sidebars and vice versa; no need to hook up a S-Video cable in my opinion.

SatGuru
I only use component for SD and HD with my 6000. It automatically adjusts the SD channels to Partial Zoom when in HD mode.
peano is offline  
Old 2004-07-06, 10:29 PM   #14
SatGuru
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 130
Default

peano,

I only use component for SD and HD with my 6000. It automatically adjusts the SD channels to Partial Zoom when in HD mode.

I found the SD quality unacceptable through component on the 6000. i am pretty sre the SD upconversion is much better in the 6100 than in the 6000.

SatGuru
SatGuru is offline  
Old 2004-07-07, 08:18 AM   #15
peano
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,719
Default

I'll have to check out the S-Video and do a comparison. Enjoy your new 6100!
peano is offline  
Reply

Tags
6120, expressvu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.