HD quality - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Aliant Home Phone, Internet, IPTV

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-07-02, 09:18 AM   #46
reets
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dieppe, NB
Posts: 67
Default

I'm using coax and my HD is just fine. Using a 4 year old Sharp Aquaos.

I'll try switching it over to Ethernet tonight and see if there's any difference.
reets is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-07-02, 10:21 AM   #47
crazyhawk
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 116
Default

well i am at my uncles rite now were they have fibreOP and basic rogers service. so i grabed my DCX3400 and brought it to play and there is absolutly no comparison rogers blows aliant rite out of the water all we are doing is going from HDMI 1 to HDMI 2 on a Panasonic TC-P55VT30 and have tried coax to connect the box and CAT6 just to make sure the best cables were used to rule out any advantage. you can clearly tell the edges are softer and the colour just seems off on aliant ( this is watching TSN and Sportsnet which for me is one of the main reasons to have tv :P ), i donno but aliant really needs to do something... there is a reason for when you go into sounds fantastic all the equipment on the floor is hooked to Bev and not aliant. how ever there is usually one lowly aliant tv off in a corner some wheres lol
crazyhawk is offline  
Old 2011-07-02, 08:16 PM   #48
dbart
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 42
Unhappy

thanks crazyhawk..there we have it then. It blows my mind that Aliant and other providers are stuffing as much into the these networks as possible..with a disregard for quality...do they not realize that TV picture technology is ever improving? shameful, esspecially with the newest technology to deliver this to the home (i.e. fiber).

Last edited by dbart; 2011-07-02 at 08:16 PM. Reason: spelling
dbart is offline  
Old 2011-07-02, 08:25 PM   #49
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 580
Default

Then why does mine look fine on fibre? I've seen starchoice and rogers on the same tv, and they all look good to me. Can't figure this one out.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is offline  
Old 2011-07-02, 11:06 PM   #50
Tridus
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NO-CRTC View Post
Then why does mine look fine on fibre? I've seen starchoice and rogers on the same tv, and they all look good to me. Can't figure this one out.
Either you're watching shows where it's not as noticable, or you're just not noticing it. My in-laws had a hard time seeing the difference, but my wife and I were repulsed by it. We lasted two days before calling Rogers back.

The story I heard at the time is that the same encoders that serve FibreOp are also serving the few people who still have the older DSL TV and that it's bitrate constrained due to the DSL limitations. I don't know if that's true or not, but the pixelation problems are pretty consistent with insufficient bitrate.

The whole thing is immensely frustrating because Aliant has an infrastructure that should let them beat everybody on this and instead they're doing badly at it.
Tridus is offline  
Old 2011-07-03, 06:42 AM   #51
Bdub
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fredericton
Posts: 722
Default

It would be a great day if Aliant prioritized us FibreOp folks, and upped the bitrate for our HD. Their tech is capable of great things in this area.

I'm wondering how much of their business comes from DSL TV compared to us.

The main problem is that people accept the situation.
Bdub is online now  
Old 2011-07-03, 09:33 AM   #52
Airsculpture
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fredericton NB, Panasonic TC-P50G25 & TC-P42G25, Pioneer 9140TXH, Sony BDPS580, PS3
Posts: 159
Default

For a few days I still had the feed from Bell Sat as the HD PVR is mine ( purchased ) so I was able to compare the two feeds. The Bell Sat HD was clearly the winner.

I am locked in for a year. If things have not improved in that time, and I don't find the additional Fibre Op features deal breaking, I can see myself going back to Bell Sat and just keeping the 30/30 internet ( which I love ).

Picture quality plus support for external hard drives could very well be the deal breakers for my return to Bell Sat.
Airsculpture is offline  
Old 2011-07-03, 10:57 AM   #53
dbart
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 42
Default

I would like to see a reply if one of u guys sent them an email. If they say they know about this then there is hope...if they reply the usual canned response..then u know
dbart is offline  
Old 2011-07-03, 11:35 AM   #54
philster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint John, NB
Posts: 177
Default

I finally bit the bullet about a month ago and upgraded from the DSL TV to the Fiberop Package. (Promos were expiring, so I could now jump onto the Fiberop Promos and save more $$$)

The installer seemed suprised when i told him that people were not impressed with the HD quality when visiting my place, and the non Mediaroom set top box and it was holding them back from switching.

Now that Mediaroom has been launched that checks that off the list and will surely switch some over as a few people have told me that doing the whole home fiberop bundle is cheaper than keeping BEV and they can bite the bullet on the HD Quality.
philster is offline  
Old 2011-07-08, 01:30 PM   #55
maritimer555
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 143
Default

Hi Phil

Can you share the pricing as based on a call I just made for bundle pricing here there's no real deal. the $99 is only for 3 months and does not include HD.
It would cost me alot more money to get anything close to what I currently have with Eastlink.
maritimer555 is offline  
Old 2011-07-08, 03:09 PM   #56
habskilla
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 969
Default

The "better" package gives you HD.

http://productsandservice.bellaliant...lue&curbody=23
habskilla is offline  
Old 2011-07-08, 03:12 PM   #57
Airsculpture
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fredericton NB, Panasonic TC-P50G25 & TC-P42G25, Pioneer 9140TXH, Sony BDPS580, PS3
Posts: 159
Default

HD should read "HD ?" .
Airsculpture is offline  
Old 2011-07-09, 03:05 AM   #58
NotoriousDRG
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 93
Default

I have it on good authority Aliant has hired a research firm to do a study to get objective data on the FibreOP HD quality. They are planning on changing the compression rates on some of the HD signals. They are determined to provide the best tv product available so they are being proactive. Having said that I have 6 friends in HRM that have FibreOP now and I polled them and they all agree the quality is better than Eastlink. The one that used to have Bell TV said he finds it a coin flip. Makes me wonder if the quality issues are isolated to certain areas or maybe people are watching tv from 3 inches from the screen lol.
NotoriousDRG is offline  
Old 2011-07-09, 07:43 AM   #59
Bdub
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fredericton
Posts: 722
Default

That's great news! I really hope they at least fix CBC for hockey, and TSN.

Here are some examples, and not from 3 inches fro m the TV: the snowy static screen on the HBO logo before shows gets all macro blocky on Aliant. It does not on Bell.

The opening animation on American Idol gets blocky on Aliant, and did not on Bell. The opening animation on So You Think You Can Dance is a complete mess on Aliant.

During camera pans in hockey games, the background is blocky on Aliant, it was not on Bell.

Bell HD was not perfect, but Aliant's is softer.

These are compression artifacts. They aren't really an issue if you're watching a drama, but sports programming suffers.
Bdub is online now  
Old 2011-07-09, 10:16 AM   #60
nuke12
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quispamsis, NB
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bdub View Post
These are compression artifacts. They aren't really an issue if you're watching a drama, but sports programming suffers.
I'm not a sports fan but I notice the same thing with HD movies during fast action scenes when the camera is doing a lot of panning.

You are also correct in that Bell's stuff is not perfect but all these guys (providers) must be playing games with bandwidth. Keep in mind, they probably have future things in mind that will require more bandwidth. I know the cable companies would love to see analog gone. Think what they could do with all that free space.
nuke12 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.