HD quality - Page 13 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Aliant Home Phone, Internet, IPTV

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2012-01-10, 08:24 PM   #181
anav_ds
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 99
Default

I wonder how much quality loss the crAPtiontech router may be responsible for???? Has anyone with issues tried the ASUS RT N56U replacement. Apparently it seriously improves IPTV performance.
anav_ds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2012-01-10, 08:26 PM   #182
habskilla
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 974
Default

Improves performance, but not picture quality.
habskilla is offline  
Old 2012-01-10, 08:28 PM   #183
underpar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Default

Transprt- have you been able to get Dolby 5.1 sound to work? Regarding internet, my download speed is 31meg per second but uploads are only @ 19. Upload speeds are slightly faster when wired to the router rather than using a wireless connection.
underpar is offline  
Old 2012-01-10, 08:30 PM   #184
file
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverview, NB
Posts: 858
Default

As habskilla mentioned the Asus can move data around faster and more efficiently but it can't make the data any better.
file is offline  
Old 2012-01-10, 08:42 PM   #185
McPatrick
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 362
Default

i actually like the actiontec router. it has been the most stable one i had and i have had and i have been using all the brands over the years.

and it doesn't matter how good the data is. you could have 1000m/sec connection but its up to aliant to make use off all that bandwidth which they currently are not. we are stuck with the same IPTV bandwidth they have been using with its DSL customers
McPatrick is offline  
Old 2012-03-26, 09:52 PM   #186
rfin16
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default

What is the latest on SD and HD picture quality? Is it comparable to cable or satellite or are there still quality issues because of the bandwidth used? Thinking of getting this service installed soon. Thanks for your advice.
rfin16 is offline  
Old 2012-03-27, 06:07 AM   #187
FuzzFace
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Maryland, NB
Posts: 305
Default

IMO the HD quality is comparable to rogers cable, but I think Bell satellite still has better HD quality. sd is sd and i don't notice any difference between the three
FuzzFace is offline  
Old 2012-03-28, 08:38 AM   #188
underpar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Default

I agree that the HD picture of Bell Satellite is better than Fibre. The PVR is also faster as is channel switching. Fibre (in NS) is still not being brodcast in Dolby 5.1 so if sound is important to you, I'd avoid Aliant Fibre for a while yet.
underpar is offline  
Old 2012-03-28, 12:09 PM   #189
habskilla
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 974
Default

I purchased a new Samsung UN46D6500 T.V. on the weekend. The HD quality is MUCH better now than with my old 42" Toshiba plasma. The quality I see now, is much better than satellite every was.

As for channel changing, the RT-N56U runs circles around any other digital service out there. It's almost as fast as analog cable channel changing. The RT-N56U brings back true channel surfing again.

But, Bell TV (satellite) PVR is still miles ahead of our PVR. Not complaining, just stating my opinion.
habskilla is offline  
Old 2012-03-28, 04:36 PM   #190
Greenbay
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Underpar

Did you check 5.1 lately? before you do, make sure your setting for audio digital output on your receiver is optioned for surround sound and not stereo.
Greenbay is offline  
Old 2012-03-29, 01:26 PM   #191
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 580
Default

What does Fibreop transmitt in, 720p or 1080i or 1080p ?? Thank you.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is offline  
Old 2012-03-29, 09:17 PM   #192
sgu222e
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 136
Default

based on the bandwidth requirement (and factoring in compression), I'd go with 720p, but they may bump it up with the soon to be added support for HDMI
sgu222e is offline  
Old 2012-03-30, 09:09 AM   #193
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 580
Default

Well their twitter feed told me that they receive their content in both 720p and 1080i, but they did not tell me if they use both formats on their broadcast, or if they convert them all to one format and then send it out. So some of them may actually be on 1080i.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is offline  
Old 2012-03-30, 09:30 AM   #194
doscott
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 47
Default

probably related to

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76129
doscott is online now  
Old 2012-03-30, 09:45 AM   #195
NO-CRTC
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fredericton, N.B.
Posts: 580
Default

Thank you. Interesting post.
__________________
Owner of Panasonic TC-P60ZT60
NO-CRTC is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.