Telus High Speed Turbo - Acceptable? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Telus > Telus High Speed Internet and Home Phone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-02-06, 02:05 AM   #1
peemoeller
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 16
Default Telus High Speed Turbo - Acceptable?

I have limited knowledge on internet download speeds and many out there seem quite knowledgeable about this.

Wondering if someone can shed some light on what might be acceptable download speeds with the Telus packages?

I live in Kelowna and have been on Telus High Speed Enhanced (V5) internet for many months... maybe even years. My concern is I have the Siemens Gigaset SE567 Modem/router and rarely get download speeds over 2Mbps (checking with Speedtest.net). Even my Telus iPhone gets faster speeds! And the Telus website advertises High Speed Download speeds of between 1.5 to 6.0 Mbps. Why am I nearly always getting speeds from 1.5 to 2.0 Mbps?

http://www.telus.com/content/interne...ed/compare.jsp

With many websites now streaming HD video and live TV it seems 2Mbps isn't quite enough to get the job done. So I've ordered Telus High Speed Turbo because their website (above) advertises speeds between 10.0 to 15.0 Mbps.

This upgrade should be connected monday but I am wondering, are others with the 'Turbo' package getting speeds under 10.0 Mbps? and if so, why? and can a Telus tech do something to increase it? What would be acceptable especially when they advertise a minimum of 10.0 Mbps?

Just throwing my thoughts out there because I am worried it will be less than 10.0 Mbps when I am paying more and hearing stories of 6.0 with Telus Turbo etc.

I appeciate any feedback
peemoeller is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-02-06, 09:52 AM   #2
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 7,098
Default

There are a number of technical reasons why your line speed may be as low as it is. The main one is probably distance from the Central Office since a DSL signal degrades over long distances.

Telus has laid fibre-optic cable to nodes (FTTN) in each neighbourhood for Optik TV and higher speed internet. If the installer can connect the copper wire from your home to the fibre-optic node, then the distance will be short enough to give you good line speed.

If that's not the case, the installer may be able to do other things to improve the line speed.

Since Telus advertises High Speed Turbo as 10 - 15 Mbps, you should check that you can at least reach 10 Mbps. If you can't then you may decide to stay on "High Speed" which will be capped at 6 Mbps. BTW, Telus doesn't guarantee a minimum speed since network conditions can vary, but the installer should be able to demonstrate that the line can at least reach 10 Mbps.
Dr.Dave is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-02-06, 12:52 PM   #3
Cockroach
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 595
Default

Can you give a general idea where you live in Kelowna? There is HS service to my parents-in-law place (road full of farms in the lower Mission area) and when we use it, we get 6Mbps DL speeds (which is what we had them signed up for). We're using an old Siemens modem we had lying around so I doubt if it's your modem.

Their area is good for 1HD/2SD Telus TV service.

Haven't followed the phone lines to see how far they are away from a box.
Cockroach is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-02-06, 04:07 PM   #4
Wiremonkey
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TELUS tech in the Fraser Valley, B.C.
Posts: 548
Default

High speed turbo is advertised as having a 10.0 - 15.0 mbps speed. This varience is due to the way ADSL/VDSL work. The further you are from the DSLAM (the equipment that actually gives you your internet access, the port and related gear) the more the signal is attenuated by cable length. This attenuation causes the speed to be decreased in response.

If you qualify for Highspeed turbo, then you are within the range that is required to get those speeds (10.0 - 15.0 mbps). The qual tool makes the calculation based on your total distance from port to modem and gives the OK or NO GO depending on the theoretical calculation it makes. If TELUS will give you the service it is because you qualify. This means the service should work, if it doesn't it will only be a matter of cleaning up your circuit and then things will work as they should. Cleaning up is doing things like removing bridged taps, clear capping your FX pair, dedicating your internet jack in the residence and separating the data from voice services using a POTS splitter. These are all things that may well be abit geek speak to you, but they are the type of routine measures required to get an otherwise qualified line to perform properly when it won't.

In the end, what matters to you is, if you qualify, TELUS will make it work correctly in the cases where it doesn't right away. You will get between 10.0 - 15.0 if you get highspeed turbo, thats a certainty. If you don't, and it can't be resolved, you will be notified and moved to a slower less expensive service.

If someone is getting 6.0 and is paying for turbo, its because they haven't made a service call. That or they are quoting download speeds from specific websites. The speed at which you can download from any specific website is not a realistic or accurate way to measure your internet connection speed, as this has many factors unrelated to connection speed, such as the number of clients using the server at that momnent, the route required to reach the server, packet loss on that route that can be caused by faulty internet routers, the servers actual connection speed. There is no way to get 10mbps from a webserver that is only willing to grant 3mbps access. Thats not a failure or weakness of your internet connection, thats a result of the connection to that particular server or how it is configured. There is no way any provider can guarentee a download speed from any particular website or server, since that is beyond their control. If you can achieve the correct numbers on a speed test, or using a meter such as a dynatel or other test gear, then your connection is verified as being correct, regardless of how fast you can connect to someone elses website or server.

Hope this makes it clearer. Rest assured if you qualify, you will get the rates quoted (at all hours of the day or night) or you can call in and have it fixed.


- another TELUS tech
Wiremonkey is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-02-07, 04:27 PM   #5
peemoeller
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 16
Default

Well, today I woke up after a night shift and checked my speed upgrade and am pleasantly surprised. (I live near Costco)



I will check it again at different times but if it holds steady above 10 Mbps, I think this will work great! Thanks for the great responses ~ they helped me understand this better!
peemoeller is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-02-08, 04:29 PM   #6
Flamingoguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default Have Both Telus & Shaw

Just had Shaw installed and have my Telus still connected and did the online tests on both and Shaw download was averaging 24.5 and Telus was 2.5 yet most Internet pages loaded exactly the same with Telus occassionally seeming faster page loading at times?
Anyone explain how there could be such a supposed difference in the download tests yet little if any difference in page loading?
Flamingoguy is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-02-08, 06:41 PM   #7
DIGITALEight
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 392
Default

Shaw's 24.5 mbps is due to Powerboost, that's not the real speed. Webpages are fairly "light" in size, therefore you probably won't notice any difference if the speed is 5 mbps or 100 mbps. Where you would notice the difference is when downloading large files.
__________________
In HD, even the commercials are enjoyable!
DIGITALEight is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2011-02-09, 11:52 AM   #8
x katt x
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Telus csr
Posts: 104
Default

Enhanced tops out at 3.0 Mbps, so it's no surprise you were hitting a ceiling of 2Mbps. The pricing is the same for 3.0 as it is for 6.0, which one you get depends on the fastest they can get to your residence/ports available. Sounds like they gave you the fastest they had when you signed up but faster tiers became available afterward.
__________________
My opinions and time are all my own.
x katt x is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.