Nimiq 1 lifetime to end soon? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) > Bell Satellite TV

Digital Home Helpful Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2011-01-26, 05:36 AM   #1
Paskal1991
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Québec city
Posts: 42
Default Nimiq 1 lifetime to end soon?

I found on wikipedia web site that nimiq 1 (sat 91) that the expected life time of the satellite is 12 years and it was launch in 1999. What will happen when nimiq 1 will shut down? Do they have a spare satellite?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nimiq_4
Paskal1991 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2011-01-26, 07:45 AM   #2
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,151
Default

Fear not Nimiq6 will replace it next year:

http://spacefellowship.com/news/art1...6-in-2012.html
QCK is offline  
Old 2011-01-26, 09:48 AM   #3
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

The lifetime of Nimiq 1 was extended by placing a second satellite to share the slot for the past several years. IIRC, Nimiq 2 is currently at 91 with 16 TPs operating and Nimiq 1 has another 16 TPs. In theory, Nimiq 1 could operate much longer at half load but a new satellite will provide a stronger signal and more capabilities.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2011-01-29, 08:24 PM   #4
DEV666
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 239
Default

The life of the satellite will depend on how much liquid fuel it has left that is used to operate its' rocket engines.
DEV666 is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 08:57 AM   #5
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

That is one factor. There are others, such as deterioration of transponders and solar panels. There are many satellites in orbit that still have fuel but are out of service for other reasons. Barring other failures, usable lifetime is usually determined by the transponders, which gradually lose power over time.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 10:03 AM   #6
MCIBUS
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScaryBob View Post
The lifetime of Nimiq 1 was extended by placing a second satellite to share the slot for the past several years. IIRC, Nimiq 2 is currently at 91 with 16 TPs operating and Nimiq 1 has another 16 TPs. In theory, Nimiq 1 could operate much longer at half load but a new satellite will provide a stronger signal and more capabilities.
One catch?

Back when N2 was launched and it was placed at 91. N1 theen moved to 82, Then with N2 having a problem(don't recall what it was) N1 was once again moved back to 91 and N2 was moved to 82.


Now with all that moving and the age, and even though N1 & 2 are now at 91 each having 16TRS working all that moving around and with the age of N1 has that caused "premature" aging of not only N1 as welll as N2(with its orginal problems) has that effected the life expectence of both N1 & N2?
MCIBUS is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 10:17 AM   #7
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

IIRC, N1 was never moved. N2 was moved to 82 and back to 91. That probably depleted its fuel somewhat but it hasn't been deployed that long either. Moving satellites is not like driving a car. There is no friction in geosynchronous orbit so it just takes a little fuel to get it moving, a long wait with no fuel used and then a little fuel to stop.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 11:51 AM   #8
MCIBUS
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,877
Question

^ Are you sure about that? I could of sworn N2 went @91 and N1 was moved to 82? Then switched back again after N2 develop problems?
MCIBUS is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 11:58 AM   #9
DEV666
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 239
Default

MCIBUS is correct. Nimiq 1 and 2 swapped postitions after a partial power failure with the power supply on Nimiq 2. And if I recall correctly the satellite was moved back rather quickly to 91 degrees. The faster a satellite moves the more fuel will be spent to start and stop it.
DEV666 is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 11:59 AM   #10
ScaryBob
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,133
Default

You could be right. I thought N1 was scheduled to be moved but never was due to the partial failure of N2. At any rate, moving them has an impact on fuel the fuel supply bit it's not as great as it seems at first glance.
__________________
At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 02:22 PM   #11
MCIBUS
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,877
Question

Well in either case by a year or so this won't be a problem as N6 Hopefully will be up and operating baring any problems

And if a problem does accur before N6(in operation) I'm asuming another sat(used Dish or Direct)could be used temp until then. Not sure if its possible to use 3 sats in one spot though?
MCIBUS is offline  
Old 2011-01-30, 06:36 PM   #12
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,877
Default

Sure they can. In Europe they have several in one orbital slot, using more than 32 transponders per slot too.
Pinza is offline  
Old 2011-02-08, 09:36 PM   #13
BEVinBOS
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: below the 49th
Posts: 117
Default footprint?

Does anyone know anything more about Nimiq 6?

As a "southern province" subscriber, I remember well the problems down here when N4 took over the 82W slot a year or two back. I'm close enough to Canada that I still get 82W signal (tho down a little cf 91W), but most people down here lost their 82W signals because the footprint was designed only to hit Canada, not CONUS plus some of Canada.

Will N6 also have its footprint focused only on Canada?

I think the vast majority of southern subs switched to Shaw because they lost the HD channels from 82W - but I don't want to lose my 91W channels!
BEVinBOS is offline  
Old 2011-02-09, 08:08 PM   #14
JCM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 161
Default

You probably will.
JCM is offline  
Old 2011-02-09, 08:11 PM   #15
Pinza
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 9,877
Default

I also believe that the new Nimiq 6 will focus the beam on Canada and the 91 signals south of the border will disappear.
Pinza is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.