Seiki universal remote codes ? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Consumer Electronics and Home Computing > Home Theatre Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-11-30, 09:37 AM   #1
pullar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default Seiki universal remote codes ?

Hey everyone. I Now have 2 Seiki bd660 after purchasing a second on the weekend. I would like to be able to control it with the remote that comes with my digital cable box, but can seem to find the codes to make it work. I've tried to use the search function in the remote but the seiki unit turns off (times out) with lack of use before i can find the correct code. I've managed to scroll through between 2 to 300 codes before timeout occurs with no luck. So if anyone know the codes to input that would help.
Thanks

Last edited by 57; 2010-11-30 at 10:14 AM. Reason: minor.
pullar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-11-30, 10:06 AM   #2
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,730
Default

Each remote control has it's own codes, so you will have to post the make and model of your STB. Since Seiki is an off-brand, it's not likely to be supported by your remote unless it happens to use the same codes as another manufacturer.

If you have a learning remote, the best bet would be to have your STB remote learn the main functions of the Seiki.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2010-11-30, 10:09 AM   #3
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,503
Default

What's the make/model of the cable remote? Cable remotes often don't contain the codes for certain (off-brand) devices, however, the following website may help if it has the remote listed - you can type in the device (Seiki) and see if it gives you a code. You can also e-mail them. If not, then it's probably not available, unless you have one of the learning remotes and then you could teach it the codes (instructions would be in the operating manual for the remote)

http://www.urcsupport.com/#

There may also be a way to defeat the off-timer in the user setup menu of the Seiki?
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Old 2010-11-30, 10:44 AM   #4
pullar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Sorry did not realize that codes were specific to remotes. I thought the codes were specific to each device. I have an atlas 5 or dvr 1055 remote for my cogeco motorola box. I've tried the site listed with no luck. I will see if I can disable the timeout on the seiki so i can search more codes.
Thanks
pullar is offline  
Old 2010-11-30, 11:22 AM   #5
Dr.Dave
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 6,730
Default

The Atlas 5 is a learning remote so you can use that feature if you can't find a code.

If you don't have a manual for the Atlas, you can download the PDF from the Shaw site.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Old 2010-11-30, 07:18 PM   #6
congo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 805
Default

To get by the time out, just start playing a movie. If like most, the remote code search is confirmed when the player shuts off.

Congo
__________________
Panny TC-P60GT50, Bell 9242, Yamaha RX-V730, Paradigm Cinema 70, Harmony One, HTPC
congo is offline  
Old 2010-12-14, 09:24 PM   #7
jeannie
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default remote control code for seiki

I am looking for a remote controle code for my televsion so I can use my universal Directv remote control to turn the tv on and off and control volume.
model of tv Seiki LC 32G82
jeannie is offline  
Old 2010-12-15, 08:01 AM   #8
sleemo
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Scarb
Posts: 2,781
Default

My Rogers (Altlas 5?) remote won't learn the code for my 24" Seiki LED TV. I've gone through the process several times. All that happens is while scanning through codes the TV shuts off for a second and turns itself back on, on it's own, I'm not hitting any buttons at this point. I even tried another Rogers remote, the 4 button model that scans automatically. It scans for over 5 minutes then just stops on it's own. No code found.
sleemo is offline  
Old 2010-12-15, 09:19 AM   #9
blueroomelectro
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 796
Default

The Rogers remotes are "universal (mainstream devices)" not learning remotes. You could buy a Harmony remote or a Sony VL type learning remote.
__________________
Bill
My blog
blueroomelectro is offline  
Old 2010-12-15, 09:37 AM   #10
scotta
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Posts: 701
Default

blueroomelectro,
As Dr.Dave stated in post #5, the newer Atlas remotes provided by Rogers do have learning capabilities.
scotta is offline  
Old 2012-08-19, 11:42 AM   #11
KerriM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Remote Codes for Seiki TV

We recently purchased a 40" LCD Seiki TV and were having troubles finding a remote code for our universal remote. We discovered that Seiki is associated with Hitachi. Try using the Hitachi TV codes to program your universal remote. It worked for me.
KerriM is offline  
Old 2014-05-27, 01:34 PM   #12
Monboss
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Default Cade for Seiki TV

KerriM said use Hitachi and it is working for me. Thank you.
Monboss is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.

Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.