New-look Shaw speed test - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 

Go Back   Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums > Canadian Internet, Phone, TV and Wireless Service Providers > Shaw Communications > Shaw High Speed Internet and Home Phone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Old 2010-11-08, 04:04 AM   #1
downbeat
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,690
Default New-look Shaw speed test

Shaw has adopted a new speed test interface for http://speedtest.shaw.ca/
This screenshot shows the final screen you see after going through the test.



In the graph in the middle of the screen, it shows download speed details — with blue dots representing PowerBoost, max speed and min speed, with your plan's usual download speeds highlighted in orange.
downbeat is offline   Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2010-11-10, 06:05 PM   #2
adiabatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 507
Default

I used that last night and was surprised because I was expecting the old one. It seems to work well except it identifies my account wrong. I have Warp but the graphic indicates Nitro.
adiabatic is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-11-11, 08:40 PM   #3
jcj83429
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

I like the graph that shows speed vs time, maximum and minumum. It's a feature I've never seen anywhere else.
jcj83429 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-11-12, 03:10 PM   #4
sctb1
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 72
Default

I ran it with my MTS internet account. Kind of fun to see how it exactly tracked at the top of the High-Speed band. It doesn't jump around like that Shaw sample though.
sctb1 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-11-13, 11:35 AM   #5
Berty
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

I just can't figure why they'd display the results in bits per second and then give real world examples in bytes per second. This leaves the user converting to the much more normal (as in web browser download display) MB/s.

I suppose it's a marketing ploy. Just the opposite of using 30,000 cents to buy a new PVR vs. 300.00 dollars.

bits are for kids.. and consoles.
__________________
Sony KDL-55HX750, (Shaw Gateway,4 portals) , Sony STR-DN1000, Sony BDP-S590, Logitech Harmony 650
Berty is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-11-13, 11:47 AM   #6
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Panasonic TCP65S1, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 8300-eHDD
Posts: 52,647
Default

But download speeds are usually listed on the provider's website/advertizing as Mb/s, not MB. This allows you to directly compare what you're buying with what you're getting, without the 8 conversion.
__________________
57's Optimization Services (Home Theatre Optimization) . . . . 57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-11-13, 12:40 PM   #7
Berty
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

True enough but for those not as aware, it sure looks good to see a provider with 8 times the speed your browser is reporting. Like I said, it's all a marketing ploy to make it look better. How many people are actually aware that MB is different from Mb? Not many I bet.
__________________
Sony KDL-55HX750, (Shaw Gateway,4 portals) , Sony STR-DN1000, Sony BDP-S590, Logitech Harmony 650
Berty is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-11-13, 02:36 PM   #8
downbeat
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,690
Default

Here is a question: The speed test gives you an average download speed for the duration of the test, but most Shaw tiers of services include "SpeedBoost", which accounts for the inflated download speed for most of the test.
Could this also mean the average download speed and the calculations derived from it are skewed upward by "SpeedBoost", meaning that if you're downloading a larger file, the estimated DL times shown in the speed test won't be representative of how long it will actually take?
downbeat is offline   Quick reply to this message
Old 2010-11-15, 10:46 AM   #9
Berty
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 248
Default

I'd say definately squewed. Speedboost is great for small stuff, but runs out when downloading larger files. Not that I'm complaining!!!
__________________
Sony KDL-55HX750, (Shaw Gateway,4 portals) , Sony STR-DN1000, Sony BDP-S590, Logitech Harmony 650
Berty is offline   Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 AM.

Forum Sponsor


Search Digital Home

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.